We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Puertatierra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Puertatierra to your Saves list
Monte Puertatierra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Andalucia 34, 11008 Cadiz, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice and reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a nice hotel at a reasonable cost. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a garage for parking. Centrally located, friendly and helpful staff...what more could you ask? I was very pleased with this choice of hotel especially considering the service, cost, location and quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
What our customers say when they leave they are happy is something that we are happy because we feel we have been part of their enjoyment and relaxation.
Hope to see in Cadiz or any other establishment of our chain in Malaga, Huelva and Seville, where we will be happy to assist you.
Best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    197
    57
    16
    3
See reviews for
81
233
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Check in was quick and efficient. Was given a room that overlooked a derelict rooftop sports court- not very pretty, However, the room had a very comfortable double bed.
The sleeping area was small and cramped & even though it was unseasonably cold in Cadiz, the room was hot. The air conditioning was inadequate. The only way to sleep at night, was with the windows open.
Room 615 was cramped & the fire escape plan showed it as actually room 616- so at some point the room numbers have been altered.
The hotel has free hotel wide wifi, but the service & signal strength was patchy.
Breakfast was adequate, but like the Monte Triana in Seville, they seem to run out of cups or spoons etc & this hotel's breakfast room wasn't busy. It's like the Monte chain don't have enough cutlery & crockery, so you have to wait for it to be washed. Very odd.
Again like the other Monte hotel I stayed at, The Puertatierra has a bar / cafe that is closed all afternoon. It also has a menu that is very limited if you are staying any length of time.
However, it is a pleasant tourist hotel situated a few minutes from the beach & 15 minutes walk into the old town. Buses are frequent & have a flat rate of one euro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Sir:

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments.
If you allow us we also would like to make some remarks about your appreciations.
The air conditioning is working during the time of the day we think is most needed in our hotel. Not all our guests normally sleep with the air conditioning running. For us this is a way to gain a significant savings in energy and emissions, we can contribute to create a sustainable environment.
On the other hand, we take note about the mistake of the room number on the fire escape plan, due to a printing error that is going to be corrected immediately.
About the Wi-Fi service, it is free connection every where in the hotel, however the hotel configuration makes some Shadow areas and also it depends on the number of customers using the service at the same time.
We are willing to make a trace of the cutlery and crockery, even though we think we have enough stock, so we can avoid any more situations as the one you comment.
It is true that our cafeteria is close the afternoon, due to the low flow of clients on that period of time. Our menu has a variety of plates suitable for short and medium stays.
Finally, we review to be at just 2 minutes away from the beautiful beach of Santa Maria del Mar, in wich we hope you have enjoyed our Sun and coasts.
We would like to thank you for considering us ”a pleasant tourist hotel”.
We hope to have you in any of our hotel in Málaga, Huelva or Seville. Until then, best regards.

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moldova
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff was very helpful. They had a desk set up in the lobby with a computer, laptop dock and printer that could be used for free which was very convenient for printing out details of things we wanted to see or directions to get to certain places. The breakfast was pretty good and the location is great. Less than 5 minute walk to a beautiful beach and just a few minutes longer into the old city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
The location of our hotel is something to stand out, like you, many of our customers. We are pleased that the facilities and services were to your liking and they enjoyed their stay.
Hope to see you again for Malaga or any other of our properties in Cádiz, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel was easy to find and we were able to leave our car in the hotel garage (11.5 € per day) which was essential as parking spaces were hard to find. The location was good and it was just a short walk to the old town, which was fascinating. Our room was enormous, very modern, clean and very comfortable. We were on the first floor at the back so were not disturbed but it is worth asking for a room on a higher floor. We were disappointed with the breakfast which was below the standards of other Hotel Monte’s and for the cost of 11€ should be better. Overall reasonably good value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a high room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your comments and for staying at our hotel in Cadiz.
Unfortunately you will not find to their liking breakfast, although his words believe that your stay with us was to your liking.
Hope to see you again in Cadiz or any of our hotels in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
Until then, accept my best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a few nights here in early March. Hotel location is perfect! 2 min from the beach (too cold to enjoy at that time of year unfortunately!) and only a 20 min walk from the centre of town. Hotel rooms were very big and spacious and the bathroom was huge! Our room appeared to have been renovated quite recently and was nice, had comfy beds and a really nice bathroom as well. One negative I found though was that the furniture in the room, although seemingly quite new, looked a little cheap but was fully functional though.

The hotel staff was very friendly and service-minded and were very attentive to our needs which was a great touch! We decided to go for the hotel breakfast buffet located in the basement of the hotel which cost approx 8 eur per person. Ok breakfast with a pretty good assortment of things to eat. The freshly squeezed orange juice was outstanding!

All in all a very enjoyable stay and good value for money option.

A tip for those of you driving to Cadiz; the hotel offers parking (I believe we paid 8 eur per night or thereabouts). Just park the car in front of the hotel and drop off the keys at the reception. When you need the car, just let the front desk know ahead of time, and they will have it ready for you in a matter of minutes.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sir:

Thank you for your reviews.

Knowing that your stay with us was to your liking and you found our facilities and services to their rest, is the best reward we can receive our daily work.

Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a couple of days staying in the Hotel Monte Puertatierra in Cadiz. The hotel in fairly modern and located on the main road towards Cadiz old town and a two minute walk from the wonderful beach. The hotel rooms are very spacious and clean but could do with a little modernisation and I believe some of the rooms have already been updated. The area around the hotel is a mix of commercial and residential but it's location to the beach could not be better. There are no sea views from any of the rooms but as we found the majority of the hotels in the area were not located in front of the beach. The hotel is approx 5 minutes in a taxi to the beautiful old town or around a 20 minute walk either along the promanarde or the main road. The old town itself is beautiful with lots of lovely cafe bars, restaurants and shops. Overall the hotel is very good value for money and would highly recommend to anyone to visit and spend a couple of days exploring this delightful city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madame,
We truly appreciate your review and your recommendation to others. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay very much; this type of feedback is a great source of motivation to continue in our ongoing effort to become one of the best (value for money) hotels in Cadiz.
We look forward to seeing you again at our Hotel or at any of our sister Hotels located in Sevilla, Cádiz, Huelva or Málaga.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

An excellent place to stay in Cadiz.
In walking distance of all the key attractions and only a short walk to the beach.
Nice spacious rooms, clean, really nice breakfast, pleasant staff. No complaints at all.
Parking an added bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks for the review of our hotel.

Thanks also to treat us as "excellent". His words are the best reward for our daily work.

Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Puertatierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Puertatierra

Address: Avenida de Andalucia 34, 11008 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Family Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
#4 Business Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Puertatierra 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Puertatierra hotel, our hotel in Cadiz, is just a few metres from the beach (in southern Spain).It is a 4-star establishment, set in the historic, artistic and commercial centre of the city. It has 98 large rooms, free WiFi, rooms for meetings and wedding receptions, parking facilities and a wide offer of services to make your stay in Cadiz as comfortable as possible.Hotel Puertatierra is situated in the commercial and business centre of the city of Cadiz, very near the Convention Centre, which is the venue for a multitude of conferences and events of all kinds. It is less than 100m from the Santa María del Mar beach.Our hotel is just 10 minutes away on foot from the historic quarter of the city and its monuments such as the Cathedral, the Roman Theatre, the Falla Theatre, the monument to the Cortes, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Monte Puertatierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Puertatierra Hotel cádiz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Puertatierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.