We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Puertatierra

Save Saved
You added Monte Puertatierra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monte Puertatierra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Andalucia 34, 11008 Cadiz, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 32 hotels in Cadiz
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just returned from a couple of days staying in the Hotel Monte Puertatierra in Cadiz. The hotel in fairly modern and located on the main road towards Cadiz old town and a two minute walk from the wonderful beach. The hotel rooms are very spacious and clean but could do with a little modernisation and I believe some of the rooms have already been updated. The area around the hotel is a mix of commercial and residential but it's location to the beach could not be better. There are no sea views from any of the rooms but as we found the majority of the hotels in the area were not located in front of the beach. The hotel is approx 5 minutes in a taxi to the beautiful old town or around a 20 minute walk either along the promanarde or the main road. The old town itself is beautiful with lots of lovely cafe bars, restaurants and shops. Overall the hotel is very good value for money and would highly recommend to anyone to visit and spend a couple of days exploring this delightful city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madame,
We truly appreciate your review and your recommendation to others. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay very much; this type of feedback is a great source of motivation to continue in our ongoing effort to become one of the best (value for money) hotels in Cadiz.
We look forward to seeing you again at our Hotel or at any of our sister Hotels located in Sevilla, Cádiz, Huelva or Málaga.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    163
    43
    11
    4
See reviews for
58
183
11
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

An excellent place to stay in Cadiz.
In walking distance of all the key attractions and only a short walk to the beach.
Nice spacious rooms, clean, really nice breakfast, pleasant staff. No complaints at all.
Parking an added bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks for the review of our hotel.

Thanks also to treat us as "excellent". His words are the best reward for our daily work.

Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We emailed the Monte Puntatierra hotel in advance to alert them we were celebrating an upcoming birthday. When we checked in, they said they assigned us a special room on the top floor (7th) with a private terrace.

The room was huge and should be considered a suite. The terrace measured roughly 30' x 15' and had 2 loungers for sunbathing. Too bad we were staying only 1 night.

The Front Desk concierge recommended a restaurant on the beach for lunch and gave us other tips for getting into the Old Town. Close to both beach and town, would recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Sir:

Thanks for the review of our hotel.

We are glad that we chose to spend a birthday. And they liked the room assigned: is the best for a special occasion.

Thank you for your recommendation in this TripAdvisor Traveller Community.

Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very cozy and chic city hotel just 10min out of the center of beautiful Cadiz. We had a wonderful stay. Luxurious room with kingsize bed and modern and spacious bathroom. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam:
Thanks for the review of our hotel and for your recommendation in this travel community TripAdvisor.
We look poderles be with us again in the near future.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Fabulous hotel for the price on an absolutely gorgeous beach. Great for families, young couples and singles.

Just a short walk along the beach promenade to the old city for some incredible tapas and very fine local wines that you can't find here.

Room Tip: Regrettably there are no oceanfront rooms anywhere near the old city, but the hotel is literally acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
Thanks also to define us as a "fabulous hotel," which makes us think that was pleasant and enjoyable stay with us.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is an excellent choice when staying in Cadiz. There are probably cheaper options (it is still fairly reasonable, especially for what you get) but in terms of quality, friendliness of staff and location I would imagine this place is hard to beat. First and foremost, be clear that this hotel is not in the old town, rather a ten minute walk from the city gates and about a fifteen minute walk from the heart of the old town. This is fine though, Cadiz is perfectly safe and this is a nice leisurely walk to take at any time of the day. The benefit of being a little outside of the old town is that the hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk from Playa Victoria, the nicest beach in and around Cadiz town. Alternatively, it is right beside another beach (name escapes me), which is also nice if you don’t fancy the walk to Playa Victoria.

The rooms are lovely, also the bathrooms, bed was really comfortable. We had a car and they parked it for us whenever we took it out of the hotel. Staff gave us great eating recommendations on check-in. Absolutely outstanding, both hotel and city, and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir:

Thanks for the review of our hotel.

We are glad that your stay with us enjoyable. The location of our hotel is one of the characteristics they value our customers and the care provided.

We are happy to have you with us again. I hope soon to Cadiz or any other of our hotels in Malaga, Huelva and Seville.

With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a return visit and I am pleased to say that the quality of service and attitude of the staff is still calm and professional.
The hotel is ideally suited for visiting the old town as well as the beaches. I tend not to take breakfast in the hotel but prefer to use the many street bars and restaurants, which are ideal for watching the world go by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir:

Thanks for the review of our hotel.

We are glad that is not the first time you stay with us and that your experience at our hotel is still positive.

While waiting to see him again for Cádiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Huelva and Sevilla, sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monte Puertatierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Puertatierra

Address: Avenida de Andalucia 34, 11008 Cadiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cadiz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Business Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Puertatierra 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Puertatierra hotel, our hotel in Cadiz, is just a few metres from the beach (in southern Spain).It is a 4-star establishment, set in the historic, artistic and commercial centre of the city. It has 98 large rooms, free WiFi, rooms for meetings and wedding receptions, parking facilities and a wide offer of services to make your stay in Cadiz as comfortable as possible.Hotel Puertatierra is situated in the commercial and business centre of the city of Cadiz, very near the Convention Centre, which is the venue for a multitude of conferences and events of all kinds. It is less than 100m from the Santa María del Mar beach.Our hotel is just 10 minutes away on foot from the historic quarter of the city and its monuments such as the Cathedral, the Roman Theatre, the Falla Theatre, the monument to the Cortes, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Monte Puertatierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Puertatierra Hotel cádiz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Puertatierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.