We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, good value hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Patagonia Sur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Patagonia Sur to your Saves list
Hotel Patagonia Sur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Cobos, 11, 11005 Cadiz, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Cadiz
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Well located, good value hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011 via mobile

Hotel Patagonia is great place to stay. My wife and I spent 3 nights there and were most impressed. It is well located in the old city and is a couple of minutes stroll from the cathedral and the main town square, everything is within easy walking distance. The hotel has been recently renovated, the staff are friendly and very helpful and the inclusive breakfast is more than enough to fuel you for the day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    65
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
105
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This was a great find. This is the classic boutique hotel, situated within 100 metres of the Cathedral. It is in a new building, with all the facilities you could require, and spotlessly clean. The rooms are compact, but perfectly adequate. The bathroom was very impressive, spacious and well equipped. The breakfast room/cafeteria near the entrance was bright and welcoming. All the staff were courteous and helpful. Interestingly, the owner (an Argentian) was about a lot of the time, which we found impressive. We would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: Check on the 'penthouse' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

My wife and I had an exceptional stay at the Hotel Patagonia Sur, right at the "root" of old town Cadiz. Parking was easy at a spacious underground facility on the "loop" road, and the hotel was a minute or two walk from there (we travel lightly, with backpacks), and from there you have ready access to everything the old part of town has to offer. Our room was splendid, described as (I believe) a "small double room with terrace". The room was superbly tidy, clean, modern, quiet and comfortable, and the balcony absolutely sealed the deal! Our interaction with hoteliers tends to be pretty sparse (i.e. we eat breakfast off-site, and generally do our own thing), but staff was impeccably friendly and efficient upon check-in and check-out. We wish we'd had another night, and clearly would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galicia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed at this small hotel in downtown Cadiz with a baby. Although the location is excellent, very close to the cathedral square, the bedroom was tiny and cluttered with the baby cot and spare furniture that din't do any service to the guest. The price we paid was excessive for a bed and breakfast type place. The breakfast, by the way, was just average. It was buffet-style but the offer was very limited: bread, sponge cake, butter, jam, oil, salami, ham and little else. The property is very clean and the furniture is new but the problem is that it tries to sell as a boutique hotel and it is certainly not.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatagoniaSur, Propietario at Hotel Patagonia Sur, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
For us it is very important to have our customers comments and suggestions, and through them act and improve our service.
Our Hotel is a three star city hotel.
We do not think there is “spare furniture that didn't do any service to the guest”. Maybe you feel the desk with minibar was not useful to you, but it is standard furniture expected to be for the rest of customers.
In reference to the breakfast we offer a buffet breakfast with: Serrano Jam, York jam, salami, cheese, several different types of bread (toasted or not), cereals(muesli, all brand , chocokrispies, special K) milk (cold or hot) , yoghourt (different flavors) , several taste of pate, individual marmalades of different fruits, honey, caramel spread, butter, Spanish omelet, fresh fruits, natural orange juice , olive oil, smashed tomatoes, croissants, different types of pastries, several types of infusions, Illy coffee served in the moment.
You do not tell us in your comments what to add/replace in the breakfast, so we cannot take any corrective action.
We have not seen a comment like yours done at the Hotel during the stay or at checkout time. The communication is something very important and helps to solve situations or achieve customer whishes on the spot, increasing subsequently your comfort at the hotel.
As you do not use your name or the date you have been at the hotel we cannot make more precisions.
As a general comment I would like to recommend entering in the Hotel WEB before place a reserve. In our case we have a lot of pictures of all rooms and common places, plus a 360 view.
This is done with the intention the customers can see with more details our hotel and the description of the services (including breakfast details) we offer before any reservation is done.
We know dissatisfaction is the result of unachieved expectative. For that reason we try with our web to define what we offer, and consequently set up the correct expectative.
We are very sorry this process do not worked with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Excellent value in this city centre hotel. Friendly, obliging staff contribute towards it being a welcoming place. I have no reservations in recommending it

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Receptionist was brilliant she efficiently booked us in and identified a selection of good Tapas restaurants in the local area. The rooms although on the small side with some street noise were totally adequate and very clean, with air conditioning, flat screen wall mounted TV and mini bar, plus a bed of course. Breakfast was provided in Hotel's cafe, a limited choice but an adequate one for a light breakfast, (good Coffee). Patagonia Sur is ideally positioned for exploring Cadiz and all within walking distance among the small narrow cobbled lanes.
A great evening out is to visit La Cava Taberna Flamenca for good music and Flamenca dancing show, free drink and show 22 euro per person. Overall fantastic stay, all hotel staff friendly and obliging.
One issue, Be Aware local car park now charge 14.5 Euro for 24 hour stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogers222
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Pros: a great location in the old city of Cadiz, newly remodeled rooms, great breakfast, and an especially helpful and friendly staff
Cons: the rooms are a bit small --understandable given space limitations in the old city, and the hotel is in a pedestrian zone so parking is about 150m away.

We loved the hotel. If you need a swimming pool and large rooms, you'd be happier at one of the larger hotels outside the walls of the old city. But if you want to be in the pedestrian zone of the old city, just two blocks from the cathedral and lots of shops and restaurants, then this hotel is a great bargain. The staff was super-friendly (the hotel owner actually jumped in my car to help guide me to the public parking lot 150m from the hotel, thanks!), and they offered good suggestions on sites and restaurants. The rooms are modern and efficient, with nice fixtures and furniture. They are a bit small, not surprising in the congested pedestrian zone of the city, and the noises from the street do rise to the rooms, but the a/c works great and we had a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Patagonia Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patagonia Sur

Address: Calle Cobos, 11, 11005 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patagonia Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened recently in the historical centre of Cadiz, the modern Hotel Patagonia Sur Cadiz can be characterized for its exceptional location in the heart of the historical city centre of Cadiz, among the business, administrative and touristic districts of the city. In addition to its incredible location, the 3 star hotel prides itself on its friendly staff and close, personal relationship with its clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Patagonia Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Patagonia Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.