We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Spanish Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Ventorrillo Del Chato

El Ventorrillo Del Chato
Via Augusta, Ctra Cadiz a San Frenando s/n, 11011 Cadiz, Spain
+34 956257116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 332 Restaurants in Cadiz
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Scottsdale,AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Spanish Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on our way back to Sevilla. We were not disappointed. This could have been one of the best all around meals our first week in Spain. My wife and I shared a sole that was wonderful. Our friends had a soupy paella that was terrific. The waiter brought out two deserts to try that were unbelievable. Would highly recommend

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    52
    20
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Truly nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a business lunch with about 15 people here. Our host ordered various starters and each and every one them was a delight, the best was definitely the (raw) tune - absolutely delicious. All in our group had fish as a main course and each and everyone of the meals looked lovely and really tasteful. I'm told this is the best place in Cadiz for a meal and I can only support it from what I have tasted and seen. This restaurant is a winner and I will certainly come back next time I visit Cadiz!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostroma
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good quality and ambience :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were here this summer in July. The advice to visit this restaurant which is out of town on the road between Cadiz and San Fernando and almost in the beach- the one of those wild nice beaches of Cadiz - was given to us by our Spanish friend . That was the second restaurant from El Faro Group we visited- when you go inside you get into the atmosphere of a typical Spanish restaurant, well trained , extremely polite personnel , nice and well served food - we tried gazpacho , pate de cabraccio, almejas - everything was tasty and fresh. No remarks, only gratitude. Keep in mind- you'd better not unite visiting the beach and after that the restaurant - there's a dress code- no short pants and the whole atmosphere inside demands itself that you should be dressed in a more or less proper way. We were there at lunch time - the only 2 tourists investigating the country, the rest of people were business man discussing their
Matters, families and some couples. Like El Faro in El Puerto de Santa Maria belonging to this group it offers you nice food service and state of your mind and taste ! Visit it! Enjoy!
After that you may wander along the ocean , it will add to your impressions and let you not to put on some weight after eating - just joking!
Our great sincere respect to El Faro
Group!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortes de la Frontera, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good Andalusian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Nice place in front of the sea. Very good food. Impeccable treatment of the waiters. Not very expansive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great food in wonderful setting. On the beach between Cadiz and San Fernando. this family owns and runs 3 of the best restaurantes in the Cadiz area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ventorrillo Del Chato also viewed

Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to El Ventorrillo Del Chato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ventorrillo Del Chato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.