We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt like a Conquistador.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Save Saved
You added Hospes Palacio del Bailio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramirez de las Casas Deza 10 - 12, 14001 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 71 hotels in Cordoba
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“I felt like a Conquistador.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It's a 16th Century palace in the heart of Cordoba. It's about as good as it gets. Welcoming, charming, opulent and cuts quite a dash. Our room was over the gateway and spacious. We wandered off into the streets of Cordoba and found the Mezquita - more elsewhere. We dined downtown at El Churrasco - also more elsewhere - at the hotel's helpful suggestion. They naturally said the best place to eat was right here, but were most generous in their advice.

The bed was so soft it was an effort to rise out of it in the morning and the breakfast in the old courtyard was a real pleasure.

I felt like a Conquistador.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    134
    38
    10
    10
See reviews for
95
457
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vinkeveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

At the edge of the center, all attractions within walking distance. Quiet hotel with incredibly beautiful decor. Zen, Arabic, give it a name, everything exudes calm. Nice spa, plunge pool. Tastefully decorated room with all there should be. Separate shower. Excellent tapas bar, with small but attractive menu. Lovely courtyard to chill. WiFi free. Valet parking. More than excellent breakfast. Nice hotel. Unfortunately, our room on the first floor next to the elevator, on a busy street where traffic drives on a loose manhole cover. Not exactly a "Dreamer" as the hotel typifies it.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel occupies a unique and historical building in a quiet area of downtown Cordoba. Physically, it has the "bones" of a luxury property - a unique building, modern rooms, a pleasant patio, an attractive dining room, pool, etc.

My guest experience, though, was very "average" - not luxury at all, more like what one would expect from a typical Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn.

It appears to me that there is a shortage of staff here, and that no effort has been made to train staff to deliver a "luxury" experience to the guests - as opposed to simply a "satisfactory, but unremarkable" experience.

There are no flowers in the rooms, no complimentary mineral water provided in the rooms, and no evening turn-down service. My room had a desk, but no desk-light for working. There are no reading lights by the bed. Wi-fi service was very slow - the connection was strong, the hotel is simply not purchasing sufficient bandwidth to meet guest needs.

The continental breakfast, which cost €20, was equally unremarkable. Service was marginal - about what is the norm at a sidewalk cafe - and no hot breakfast items were visible or were offered. The second cup of coffee, taken on the patio outside, came with a charge of €3.40.

This hotel has potential, but the potential is not being realized. Considerable additional management attention - in particular, training the young staff in the savoir faire of providing a luxury hotel experience - will be needed before this can be considered a luxury property.

No parking is available, and it is difficult to find this hotel if you are not familiar with the narrow back lanes of the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We really appreciate your time to share your comments. It let us improve our service everyday more.
We could review our procedures for arrivals with and without reservation to arrange all those details you mentioned that are so important for us.
We would like to inform that our hotel offers a private garage to our guests where the valet can park the car for you and this service is available 24 hours.
Everyday our restaurant offers the gastronomic buffet breakfast with fresh high-quality products and hot dishes cooked at the moment.
We keep available to manage you next stay with us in a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

sometimes you go to sunny spain in may and it rains and is very cold...as it was last week in May...I hope my review does not reflect this as it was not t he fault of the hotel or of the very helpful and friendly staff. The breakfast was wonderful, very attractive! (and should have been for 20 euros) Orange marmalade was specially made for me since only violet, rose, fig and green tomato marmalades were available. Funny that though; in a city full of marmalade oranges!... who really wants roses for breakfast?
Do go to the Saturday evening dinner and live concert if you can. The hotel was the only place!!?? where we could find either classical Spanish guitar or flamenco and the performance was a great pleasure...the taster menu was OK though would have liked more veg (which is the case all over Andalucia).
The standard room we were given on the ground floor overlooked a busy internal courtyard by the entrance ...people shouting late at night; people checking out and wheeling bags over cobbles...it was a nice "designer" room with a good bed pillows and linen, but very expensive and nothing extra special.
The underground "roman baths" look great in the promotional pictures but after one experience in the gloom and in the luke warm water, I found that there are better places to swim! and more rigorous water jets in your average spa jacuzzi and more invigorating types of the hot and cold effect in any hamman, The spa itself is extremely expensive (and this compared with London prices.)
The big courtyard garden with pool is beautiful and would be a lovely place to sit after a day of sightseeing in the town because.....
....Cordoba is jam packed with tourists...in places it is hard to move and the queue to get into the mesquita was an hour long. The shops around about are, quite frankly, extremely tacky and full of tat...the nearby restaurants over priced and not very good. We chose to go for the week when the patios are open...which in hindsight was a mistake. Just too many people in the town and the courtyards to enjoy them. But off the tourist trail Cordoba is a lovely city and there are plenty of interesting local places to find some peace. The gardens in the Alcazar palace are extraordinarily beautiful as are the buildings and interiors.
We are already looking forward to going back to Cordoba (hoping for some sun next time)...we found the bar (with the atmosphere and authenticity) that we will go to ...near to the hotel (and called Montilla I think) where the staff were fun and the prices sensible and we look forward to finding more places to explore to sit and relax and possibly somewhere different ?smaller cheaper and less "chic" to sleep?

Room Tip: If you are getting a standard room ask for one on the first floor...102 looked nice as it has light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank your stay with us during your visit to Córdoba.
In truth, this month of May our city has been specially visited for the Patios Festival, this year declared World Intangible Heritage by UNESCO.
Our hotel is a Palace original of the 16th century, Monument of Córdoba, and located in the city center close to the historical Patios area.
We always appreciate our guests remarks and we would like to let you know that we have added the homemade orange marmalade to our buffet breakfast.
Probably the Tapas Bar you mentioned is 'La Montillana' close to the hotel with a nice service.
We look forward to welcoming you in a future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is enchanting. Absolute luxury and so romantic. We are so glad we stopped in this wonderful, interesting town and stayed at this magnificent hotel. The patio by the pool was a wonderful lunch spot. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. We had a nice little patio and a large modern bathroom. The hotel has beautiful little "parlors" to meet or read in. Expensive but quite a treat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel feels as though is is set in a quiet residential district but in fact it is a 10 minute walk (down hill) past wonderful small bars to the busy tourist area by the river and near the Mesquite. Everything is beautiful about this hotel, from the staff who could not be more helpful, to the lovely calming rooms, the beautiful gardens and the amazing architecture.
We enjoyed drinks in the bar before dining on the Saturday night in the restaurant where we were entertained by 2 flamenco guitarists and a very sweet flamenco dancer. The food was excellent as was the service. If the weather is nice, the staff will bring you drinks or coffee in the garden and the oranges picked straight from the tree were to best ever tasted.
Cordoba is a wonderful city, we stayed only two nights and wish we had stayed at least one more night. I will definitely try and get back and of course would stay no where else than the Hospes Palacio del Bailio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is utterly charming, chic and elegant. An interesting feature is remnants of a 1st century villa located beneath the dining room glass floor. The staff go out of their way to be of assistance and provided good advice on what to see. The hotel is superbly located at the top of the hill, there are may excellent tavernas within easy walking distance and the Cordoba Cathedral is an easy 15 minute walk. The narrow streets are challenging but on arrival the staff whisk away your car to a local car park, extra charges apply but worth the convenience.

Room Tip: All rooms seem well appointed. Our "Dreamer" room was comfortable and had one of the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hospes Palacio del Bailio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Address: Ramirez de las Casas Deza 10 - 12, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#2 Business Hotel in Cordoba
#3 Family Hotel in Cordoba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palacio del Bailio 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, TravelClick, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hospes Palacio del Bailio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio Hotel Cordoba
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio córdoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospes Palacio del Bailio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.