We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hospes Palacio del Bailio to your Saves list
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramirez de las Casas Deza 10 - 12, 14001 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

From all the photos and previous reviews, we expected the hotel to be really nice, small and cozy. Which it is. It is an elegant blend of old, really old and new, with all the modern comfort you require. We had a groundfloor room which was beautiful and had a stunning bathroom, but was located on top of the Roman baths, so it was really humid. We announced the staff and we were promptly moved upstairs, where we enjoyed a perfect view of the inner patio with roses, orange trees and the pool. I have rarely seen such a great team of people as those working for Palacio del Bailio. From the guys at the reception, Spanish and French, who were always nice and helpful, to the head of the restaurant, who offered us a wonderful breakfast although we were horribly late once, to the guy managing the tapas restaurant, who recommended us a wonderful Pedro Ximenez, all of them were just great. This, again, is tough to find in many five-star places. The hotel is, indeed, hard to find without a GPS and the streets where it is located are really narrow, but it's the perfect address for Cordoba and we really loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic and detailed comment about our service !

Indeed, the food quality is our priority; fresh and homemade. And when it is possible, we always choose organic product from the region.

The hotel is located in the historical center, close by the Roman Temple and the city hall. If you travel with GPS, we recommend you to drive to Plaza de Colón, and once you are there, follow the instructions and the map given on our web site.

For your convenience, please find on the main page of our web site, the directions on how to reach Hospes Palacio del Bailio.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a Hospes Hotel.

Kind regards,

V. Timsonet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    167
    48
    12
    12
See reviews for
111
549
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked the hotel to extend our stay to a week. It didn't occur to us that pools in Córdoba are for cooling off from the 40 to 50° August weather. Cordova is a Museum city, not a resort city. I like to swim 1000 m a day, but with an 8 m pool it would take me 500 laps. The pool was only three strokes long. The longest pool at the hotel is actually the warm pool in the Roman bath. Other than that, the hotel exceeded our expectations. The breakfasts were the best meals we had all week.
The hotel is a 16th century palace that has been converted. Few rooms have any view at all but the halls are wide and light and lined with very comfortable sofas. The bathrooms are state-of-the-art. The staff is outstanding. It is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the old town or a 10 to 15 minute taxi ride for seven euros. All in all a good experience all the prices for our stay. From €270-€430 per day – – which is a little pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very nicely appointed, quiet, nice pool, good size rooms yet there are some incongruities. There seems to be a lack of personnel in the hotel. No one around to bring you drinks by the pool, no one at the bar..neither patrons nor bartender.
its about a 10 minute walk to livelier areas and about 20 from the Mezquita.
I woud recommend this hotel based on the fact that Its the only 5 star - really.

Room Tip: Get a room on the pool side. Quiet and nice garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director de Recepción at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay.

Normally, the pool season starts in June, but in this nice city the weather gives us some good surprise…

I am happy to inform you that the pool service will begin this week, with the 2013 New Menu and our smoothies and cocktails selection.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our Hospes Hotels in Spain.

Thank you very much for your time and your visit.

Cristina Mejías
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here three nights in April and thoroughly enjoyed it. The grounds are beautiful, it is quiet and very conveniently located, service is perfect and the rooms are very luxurious. They even put rose petals on the bed on arrival. The restaurant is excellent. We cancelled one of our dinner reservations at another restaurant just so we could enjoy the hotel restaurant one more time. I would highly recommend choosing this hotel for a wonderful Cordoba experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAVILLE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is really hard to find ! We couldn't find it on the GPS system but I called the hotel and for twenty minutes they stayed on the phone with me helping us to find our way in the complicated streets of Cordoba.

The hotel is set on Roman ruins and you can see it through beautiful glass panels.

The restaurant of the hotel is small but gorgeous living a true luxury experience. We had a waiter who was wonderful, a young French-speaking trainee who really enjoyed serving at the restaurant with a true passion.

A place I would definitly return next time I go to Cordobà

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Tucked away in the backstreets of Cordoba, but just ten minutes walk from the centre, is this absolutely stunning hotel. The place just oozes class. We stayed for two nights in May after staying in Barcelona, Seville and Granada and it was clearly the best. Our welcome and check in was very friendly and professional. We arrived before lunch time and our room was not ready so the receptionist gave us a tour of the hotel while it was being prepared. It is an old Palacio that has been sympathetically modernised with tasteful touches of the new among the old. The patio and pool area is a peaceful little oasis. Our room, on the first floor overlooking the courtyard, was bright, airy and cool. The Egyptian cotton bedding was luxurious and comfortable and the bathroom well equipped.
Breakfast was first class. The restaurant has a glass floor through which you can see the Roman remains. An extensive buffet with everything you could think of and some things you wouldn't. All carefully prepared and beautifully presented. The only slight let down was the ubiquitous Yellow Label tea bags. On our last day, we had to leave at 7 am, before the restaurant opened for breakfast but we did not go hungry as the staff brought us an enormous tray of fruit, rolls, croissants, jams, yoghurt, tea and coffee at 6.30 am. Excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
446 helpful votes 446 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were only there for 2 nights but felt very at home. The staff at reception were lovely, very friendly and helpful. The room was great, a big comfortable bed and a very spacious bathroom. Only downside was the poor view from the room of a wall.

The hotel was a short walk to the old town which was good and very direct. The pool had limited access to sun loungers as people seemed to put towels down then wander off. No drink service. The pool is very nice and refreshing once you have got used to the cold from first getting in it.

Breakfast was in the wonderful dining room and plentiful with lots of choice. Dinner was very tasty and the Head Waitress was very attentive, knowledgable and helpful. We had the set menu and there were 2 choices for each course. We ate on the patio which was very pretty.

All in all a lovely hotel which I would happily recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospes Palacio del Bailio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Address: Ramirez de las Casas Deza 10 - 12, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cordoba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
#8 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palacio del Bailio 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hospes Palacio del Bailio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio Hotel Cordoba
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio córdoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospes Palacio del Bailio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.