We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel full of charm and well situated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hospes Palacio del Bailio to your Saves list
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramirez de las Casas Deza 10 - 12, 14001 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel full of charm and well situated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Absolutely lovely stay. The hotel is very well situated (within walking distance of the historical center), very quiet (I had a room with a view on the internal patio) and full of charm (impressive renovation of an historical location - i;e. a Roman villa then an aristocrat Palace).
The staff is friendly and always willing to assist. Breakfast is a treat.
I definitely recommand this place for a city trip in Cordoba.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view on the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, General Manager at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read such a nice comment! We really appreciate you take the time to share you experience with other travellers, and give us the opportunity to thank you again for having chosen Hospes Palacio del Bailio during your stay in Cordoba.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    169
    48
    12
    12
See reviews for
111
551
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siena, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a pleasure. Amazing old building, a kind of maze of rooms but in a very nice way. The room was good size but had very high (12') ceiling which made it seem more spacious, and the bathroom was well done. Great design/artwork/amenities. The staff here were all very helpful, spoke several languages, and just pleasant. I did not eat here, so cannot comment on the restaurant. The location is very good, so close to the old center of town. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially couples, it is gorgeous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, General Manager at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate you take the time to share you experience at the Palacio del Bailio with other travellers.

Hospes Palacio del Bailio, built between the XV and XVI century, is located right in the historical heart of the Caliphate’s city (declared a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage), close by the Mosque, masterpiece of the Occidental Islamic Art.
The Palace has a courtyard with a glass floor that reveals the impressive remains of a Roman villa ( I century B.C.), valuable original paintings and surrounded by a lush rare-plants garden.
Hospes Palacio del Bailio has been awarded Best Boutique Hotel Europe, 2008 (Prix Villégiature, Paris).

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a Hospes Hotel.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel just for one night and we rather wish it had been more. The highlights? The staff were excellent - very friendly and attentive, particuarly Antonio, the Restaurant Manager, and the young people on reception, and the lovely man who showed us round the roman remains on which the hotel is built - and that's another highlight, as it is rather special to eat in a restaurant with a glass floor, so you can see the roman remains lit up while you eat. And the restaurant was another highlight for us, as we had the 7 course tasting menu which, by the time you had had a series of delicious amuse-bouches before your first course arrived, turned out to be more like an 11-course menu. And every dish was delicious, none more so than the fois gras with sensational apple foam with croustillants and pedro ximenez cariare - fantastic! And very good value at 60 euros each. Another highlight - the complimentary cava poured over an edible hibiscus flower; I was doubtful about this but it turned out to be delicious. On our second morning, we went down to the spa and enjoyed the modern version of a roman bath which nestles in the basement next to the old roman remains and is apparently where the old baths would have been. My wife had a massage too which she thoroughly enjoyed. Our room was decorated in a minimalist style and we were in two minds as to the appropriateness of this in an old palace. But our bed was huge and comfortable, the bathroom was beautifully done with deep bath and torrential shower, and there were lovely fluffy bathrobes to wear too. This mix of styles was evident throughout the hotel, and didn't always work - the antique-style, velour covered chairs next to the plain, wooden square tables in the restaurant looked weird, for example. The location of the hotel is great, though I recommend a sat nav if you are driving there. It is right in the middle of the old part of town so it is easy to access the mezquita, the jewish quarter with the rather sweet Casa Andalusi, and other historic sites. Overall, a great base from which to see a lovely city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, General Manager at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to read that you appreciated so much your stay at the Palacio del Bailio and specially the restaurant service. We shall pass on your compliments to Antonio Alonso and his team! Our Senzone Restaurant offers a varied culinary specialties based on the most natural, genuine and healthful products of Córdoba and its surrounding province, prepared by with the most modern culinary techniques.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Hospes, for an unique relaxing experience...

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here as the staff were friendly and welcoming. However there could be more reception staff on the day that we checked out.. Possibly because there was a meeting that morning?
The room itself was impressive, spacious although a little bit dark and unfortunately there was a sofa which had stains on which we were a bit surprised to see.
However, otherwise the hotel was lovely and clean with gorgeous decor. Most of all, we enjoyed the roman baths- just beautiful... and would come back to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, General Manager at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to read that you appreciated so much your stay and the service at the Palacio del Bailio! We took into account your comment about the sofa, and be sure it has been resolved immediately.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a Hospes Hotel.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Location in the middle of Cordoba so ideal to explore the city. Lovely staff especially Joe the porter, concierge and reservation consultant! A hotel not especially good for families due to its layout and focus on couples. However, Joe made up for it and was so nice with our kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, General Manager at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate you take the time to share you experience at the Palacio del Bailio with other travellers, and I shall be delighted to pass on your compliments to Joey.

Indeed, the Palace is located in Cordoba's historical heart, close by the Jewish Quarter, the Beautiful Mosque and the commercial area.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a Hospes Hotel.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My partner and I have stayed in this beautiful stylish hotel for a two day romantic escape and we had the most wonderful experience! The hotel is conveniently located in Cordoba's historic center, like a hidden jem at the end of a romantic cobblestoned path. We stayed in a double Dreamers room that was decorated with great attention to detail. The stay in the hotel feels like an encounter with arts and history and is a great location to start exploring the history of Cordoba. As architects we enjoyed the design and decoration of the hotel with its beautiful frescoes and hand painted stucco walls. We particularly liked the delicious traditional tapas that were offered in the tapas bar. Overall, the calm atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff who always went an extra mile to make us feel welcome have made our trip an unforgettable experience. We will definitely come back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Booked two rooms without a discount (no expedia or hotels.com) with a travel agency, hoping to have a better chance at a perfect respite from busy Madrid and other destinations. No chance.

Arrived at 2 pm and the room wasn't ready. Sat at the lovely pool with spa music and comfortable lounge chairs for two hours. The rooms were not ready even then, and then the key system didn't work and the check- in staff claimed our reservation was for two singles and not two doubles ( although I had confirmation of the later.) Joe, the manager, was very nice but no one offered a drink or anything complimentary as we waited. Finally got into our rooms at. 5:30. -- and we had one of the smallest in the hotel because "they were sorry they were completely booked" over the weekend. We had to ask for a plumber because the faucet sprayed everywhere, the robes were missing, the locks on the doors didn't work, blah, blah, blah. Joey, the manager was nice but didn't offer any apologies. The bright light in this storm was Marta, who wanted to give us the historical tour and show some care the others lacked.

This is a wonderful - really special facility but the staff just cannot keep up. It seems they are still trying to grow into their surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, General Manager at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your time at the moment of writing your comment, and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities.

I would like to take the opportunity to clarify that the initial problem with your reservation is that it was made for two single rooms and you were assigned two rooms according to the reservation request.

At the moment of check-in and despite the fact that the hotel was totally sold out, we did everything possible to change one of the room, in order to give you a double room with a king size bed.

I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations, we take into account all the requirements and preferences of our customers, as long as we are previously informed.

I would like to apologize for the incident with the tap, as per our record, it was repaired immediately by our maintenance department.

Your commentaries are very valuable to us and help us to improve our service every day.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospes Palacio del Bailio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Address: Ramirez de las Casas Deza 10 - 12, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#2 Business Hotel in Cordoba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
#7 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palacio del Bailio 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Escapio, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hospes Palacio del Bailio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio Hotel Cordoba
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio córdoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospes Palacio del Bailio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.