We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Azahar

Save Saved
You added Hostal Azahar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Azahar
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Corregidor Luis de la Cerda, 68, 14003 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The most desirable aspect of this hotel is its good location, which makes it very easy to walk to all the major attractions as well as to the bus stop to the train and bus stations (line 3, I believe.) Otherwise, its charms are limited. It was extremely hot inside when we were there (even when the air outside had somewhat cooled down) and that made it very difficult to sleep. We are European and as a rule prefer not to use air conditioning, but some ventilation (possibly with mosquito protection) would have been highly appreciated. In addition, even on a Monday night it was somewhat noisy with presumably drunk people shouting on the street well into the night, and one guest had a constantly barking dog.

We paid more for the "roof" terrace, which was disappointing as we had to use a door on the side of the room (so the light didn't enter the room and we didn't have any view from the sleeping area - in fact the window was blinded with pieces of fabric) and it only oversaw a wall of the Mezquita anyway. Overall, I would say it is not worth it to pay more for the terrace. Breakfast is not included, so we had breakfast at the nearby bar suggested by the landlord. There, instead of mashed tomatoes for the tostada, we got something obviously made with tomato puree out of a tin. We haven't encountered this anywhere else in Spain - fresh tomatoes are always used.

Room Tip: The room with the terrace is not worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    51
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
60
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Its not the cleanest place. I can see hairs from past guests on the edges of room. Air conditioning didn't work well. It was cooler outside than inside. Its 97 f outside. Tv didn't work at all. There is wifi . Lots of car noise because it's right on the corner and room 1 is right smack on it. Service is the best thing, but wouldn't recommend regardless. Location is good but with all the cons becomes undesirable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This tiny posada is in a historical home, on a corner with the most famous of all Cordoba landmarks, the mesquite/cathedral. It is very charming and beautifully decorated. The mature front desk staff is very kind and very accomodating. The only drawback is the noise. My room no.1 was on the first floor with windows on two sides that gave onto two very busy streets with a bar and restaurant. The motorcycles and delivery trucks started at 7:30am and the noise from people walking and talking, stopped after 2am. I had read the reviews and brought earplugs. I enjoyed staying there for the staff, the cleanliness, and the prime location. Ask for a room in the back. There were none available when I booked.

Room Tip: Ask for inner court
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

What a great find!! Directly across from la mesquita, restaurants close by, wifi included, big room, clean, good shower, big, fluffy towels. Little more than WE tend to pay but VERY good price for what u get!!! (WE are very thrifty. Often stay in hostels w/ shared bathroom).

Front desk so friendly and very helpful - very little English . Quaint little spot across the street for simple breakfast. If you like horses, the show at the royal stables is impressive (they will book for you - was 40E for 3 of us). Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

spotless room on 2nd floor overlooking interior courtyard - it was quiet during the day and early evening but the real 'action' started about 1am when the couple next door returned. THIN walls and after the thumping finished, the bathroom washing started. Sigh. No breakfast facilities on site but several are located steps outside the front door. Would I stay here again? yes, with jumbo ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The location of this hotel cannot be beat, the Mezquita is literally across the street! The owners were very friendly, an we appreciated the strong wifi as we had a bit of work to do on our travels. Directly outside the front door are countless tapas bars, restaurants and places to take in the views. I have never stayed so close to the main attraction before, and at such a reasonable price!

Only drawbacks were the lack of parking (but being so close to the sites this should be expected), and that the room we had was a bit small (though totally adequate for our short stay).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This hostal was fantastic. It has a great location, is clean, and is well priced. The staff was really nice (although foreign languages are not their strength, which is typical in Spain), and very helpful. Follow their advice about tourist tips! (You can visit the mezquita for FREE from 8-10am. This is not advertised anywhere. Thanks for the tip!)

We asked for a balcony view which was great, but didn´t realize that it would be so noisy because it is literally above the street (our fault). If you are a light sleeper ask for a room near the patio (which is lovely).

Overall a great experience and highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, don´t ask for the rooms with a street view. The cobblestone streets caus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Azahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Azahar

Address: Corregidor Luis de la Cerda, 68, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Azahar 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Azahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Azahar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.