We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location steps from the Mezquita” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Azahar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Azahar to your Saves list
Hostal Azahar
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Corregidor Luis de la Cerda, 68, 14003 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“wonderful location steps from the Mezquita”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

spotless room on 2nd floor overlooking interior courtyard - it was quiet during the day and early evening but the real 'action' started about 1am when the couple next door returned. THIN walls and after the thumping finished, the bathroom washing started. Sigh. No breakfast facilities on site but several are located steps outside the front door. Would I stay here again? yes, with jumbo ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    59
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
73
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The location of this hotel cannot be beat, the Mezquita is literally across the street! The owners were very friendly, an we appreciated the strong wifi as we had a bit of work to do on our travels. Directly outside the front door are countless tapas bars, restaurants and places to take in the views. I have never stayed so close to the main attraction before, and at such a reasonable price!

Only drawbacks were the lack of parking (but being so close to the sites this should be expected), and that the room we had was a bit small (though totally adequate for our short stay).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This hostal was fantastic. It has a great location, is clean, and is well priced. The staff was really nice (although foreign languages are not their strength, which is typical in Spain), and very helpful. Follow their advice about tourist tips! (You can visit the mezquita for FREE from 8-10am. This is not advertised anywhere. Thanks for the tip!)

We asked for a balcony view which was great, but didn´t realize that it would be so noisy because it is literally above the street (our fault). If you are a light sleeper ask for a room near the patio (which is lovely).

Overall a great experience and highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, don´t ask for the rooms with a street view. The cobblestone streets caus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Couple in late 30's
We arrived from Grenada via train (2h30) 35 euros if you do not book early
Taxi from train station was around 10 euros

The hotel is very well located, bang in front of the mezquita, in the corner of two cobbled streets.

the reception was fine and friendly however the room (number 1) was directly above the street and we had it all: people from bars, cars/lorries, rubbish collectors, so the room was really noisy.

the style is a bit outdated but seen worse. the bed was a bit small and def dated but i am 6f2 so would not be the same for all
the bathroom is fine with power shower
The room has a small old fashion tv with a password

So looking at others reviews we may have had the wrong room

otherwise, the hotel is next to quite a few restaurants and very near to the spa.
the pick was the argentinian restaurant La tranquera which has really good food/wines
for good prices and the place is really cute.
the hotel is also very close to the hammam which is a good break if you are on a heavy schedule but the massages were a little light

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Right across the street from the Mesquita! Beautiful, simple patio, kind managers, always ready to help, numerous tapas bars across the street. Clean room, clean bathrooms, lovely hotel, low price. We'll be back someday! My son loved the patio de los naranjos in the mesquita. He was jumping across the irrigation channels and thought he was in the game "temple run."

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

the biggest plus of this hotel is its superb location - directly in the city center, just next to Mezquita.
The reception area was really tine, but nice. The hotel and room decor was typically Andalusian and especially the patio was really pretty. Everything was clean and neat.
We had just two problems - we booked for 3 adults and the room with three beds was impossible to move around, not talking about non-existing space to put your luggage. The other minus was the window, which was leading to "nowhere", as there was some overgrown vegetation behind it and you couldn't see anything and didn't feel like leaving it open either.
Anyway, even with these problems, I found it to be a good deal, especially for its location, style and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you can, go for the room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed two nights at this Hostal, and I was delighted with it. I opted for the room with the terrace, which overlooks the Mezquita, and even in winter it was lovely to sit out in the sun! The staff don't speak english, but we muddled through and they could not have been more helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, well decorated and bright. The location could not be bettered. I would definitely recommend this place. Driving into Cordoba is a nightmare though. The Hostal sorted a private parking place for us, but if I was going again, I'd ditch the car at the public parking on the opposite side of the river, just outside the old town, and walk to where I was staying. Cordoba is a magical place and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Opt for the terrace. It's a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Azahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Azahar

Address: Corregidor Luis de la Cerda, 68, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Azahar 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Azahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Azahar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.