We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water torture” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Hotel Boston
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malaga 2 | Pza de las Tendillas, 14003 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Water torture”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We arrived in the room hearing the toilet running. It would not stop, so we called the desk. The man who arrived heard the rush of water from the toilet and told us it wasn't so bad. He then proceeded to try to fix the toilet while breaking it, making the sound worse and the toilet unflushable. And he turned off the water to the tank. He then instructed us to flush the toilet by turning on the water, removing the tank top, reaching in to pull the flusher and then turn the water off again at its source. We said this is unacceptable and we want a different room. He said there were no other rooms and left. My husband decided to try and fix the plumbing himself, which he did. This hotel has an uncaring staff that seems to think that indoor plumbing is just a step above an outhouse.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    62
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
21
53
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Positive:
really downtown, close to major touristic attractions (less than 1km to the Mezquita -- not 300m as advertized by the hotel)

Negative:
very small room
A/C very very noisy
parking far away and expensive
extremely basic breakfast
no WiFi (even though advertized by the hotel)
elevator to street level only upon special request

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

I didn't find this hotel to be very memorable, but the location was great. The Plaza de Tendillas is lively and did not feel touristy at all. We were an easy walk to the Mezquita and the charming Jewish quarter.

Our room had no view other than a tiny, dingy interior courtyard. There was plenty of hot water and the bed was fine for sleeping. The electricity went off twice during our stay. There is an computer available in the lobby for customer use, but they will charge you by the half hour.

At 76.00 € / night, this place was more expensive than I would have wanted. (The cheaper places in town were already booked). I don't like the feeling that I'm paying for a tv and a fancy lobby I don't need.

Overall this is not a bad place to stay. It was quite helpful to have a grocery store right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights during Easter. The location was perfect! From our room we had view over the Plaza de Tendillas. Importants sights are easy to walk, Mezquita in 10 minutes! We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, because there are enough pasteleria's nearby.
The room was small, and also the bathroom was very small and not quiet up to today's standards, but we managed.
The car parking was hard to reach because of one way streets and was also a bit poor...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

only 35 euro per night just perfect,even better from other 3 stars hotels i've been.
good location 10' walk to historic center

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

This hotel is located in front on the Plaza de Tendillas , a semi-pedestrian area. The bulidings surrounding the plaza are old, so is this hotel. Reception is located in 2nd. floor.
Rooms are clean and decently sized for European standards, however the shower area is VERY small. We had a room with a beautiful view of the Plaza. The building has a clock unique in the world. It strikes the hour with a Flamenco style guitar chime.There are free wifi and an Internet PC for guests use at the lounge. Location is unbeatable, within walking distance to lots of restaurants and main attractions, including a Corte Ingles Outlet store. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Hotel has no elevator to the reception. Rooms were quit small and the bathroom was little outdated. There was a great view to the plaza but otherwise not really worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Address: Malaga 2 | Pza de las Tendillas, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Boston 1*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel córdoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.