We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The apex of Salmorejo in the land of salmorejo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salmorejeria Umami - CLOSED

Salmorejeria Umami
Calle Blanco Belmonte, 6,, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
+34 957 48 23 47
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cocina Tradicional con un toque Moderno.
Austin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The apex of Salmorejo in the land of salmorejo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

While Cordoba is known for te Salmorejo, and we have had some good ones while here, Umami makes it really fun to try different non traditional salmorejas and a slight twist on the traditional. The avocado and salmon and the mushroom and truffle were superb and true umami experiences! Te ravioli with the Parmesan foam was small but packed with flavor! The dessert left us a bit disappointed and may be best kept out of Salmorejo form. Great little place in this cute city!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    61
    23
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Tapas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Brilliant tapas, we had the best croquettes ever! The best Salmorejo! and some wonderful rice dishes. A great modern take on Cordoba's classic cusine. Definately recommend booking a table otherwise you will have a long wait!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“To be recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were recommended to try this restaurant by complete strangers we met in a restaurant in Seville. Thus its reputation travels far and wide. Contrary to our first thoughts it wasn't expensive and the food was delicious. The extensive wine list was very impressive. The service was slow but not irritatingly so, but get there early! The place opens at 8.30 pm and already there were people waiting outside to go in. By 8.45 every table was occupied.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Salmojero”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Definitely come here to try the salmojero. There are many variations on offer, but we tried the traditional version, it was delicious, thick and full of flavour. Serving sizes were good and everything was reasonably priced. Only complaint, the service was very slow!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Travelling through Andalusia, we discovered the traditional cold soup salmojero to be a real treat. Thicker, and thus more of a meal then gazpacho, and equelly refreshing. Umami offers several versions, traditional and modern ones. After we decides to have a full portion of the traditional one each, the waitress recommended us to change our choice and try several half servings with different flavours. And right she was! By far the best meal we had in Andalusia. Well-presented restaurant with pleasant staff, and a lot cheaper then it appears.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salmorejeria Umami also viewed

Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmorejeria Umami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.