We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Selu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Selu to your Saves list
Hotel Selu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Eduardo Dato, 7, 14003 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Woodhall Spa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Only 10 minutes walk from the railway station.
Staff very welcoming - first room smelt of smoke - moved us to Room 106 - large room, comfortable beds - clean and bath/shower worked well.
Breakfast a little disappointing - hot food was hardly lukewarm - but otherwise ok
Quite noisy at night

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    106
    90
    38
    7
See reviews for
48
126
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

we stayed here on a coach trip to Spain at the end of December - and thank heavens it was only one night. The hotel was noisy, I think the walls outside and in must be made of cardboard, and the bed (we were warned by the tour rep.) was made for Spanish people, i.e.. small and narrow and very hard. I was sharing with my niece and we were given a double bed, so a really uncomfortable night was had as I am 5ft 9inches and my feet fell out of the end of the bed - couldn't scrunch up as there was not enough room. The evening meal we were served was horrible - some kind of thin soup with a few veggies floating in it and the fish and pudding were dreadful. Breakfast was very mean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Hotel Selu was well-situated in the heart of Cordoba. We found parking on the street for 1 Euro, at a location the front desk suggested when we arrived (if you park in the same area at night, when there are no attendants, you can park for free). Left the car there for three days with no problem. We could easily walk to all the must-see sights in the city. Room was clean. Staff was helpful, and spoke decent enough English to help us with our needs, which was good, since our Spanish is less than optimal. Shower/sinks were separated from the toilet by a door, which was nice.

One of our few complaints was that if the lock on the door was not undone properly before leaving the room, the door would not actually lock upon leaving. After we learned to check it, we had no further problems. The second was that the heat/air circulation in the room would consistently stop working, and it would get humid and the temperature would drop a few degrees. We could call the front desk and get it operating again, but it became a constant annoyance as time went by. Lastly, all the doors seemed to slam as people arrived back to the hotel, and the sound echoed through the halls quite loudly. Of course, the drunk idiot coming in at 6 a.m. to the room above us didn't help matters :-)

Room Tip: Get a higher room, if available. We were at the end of a hall, but that didn't really help much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Selu hotel is a stunningly clean and sparkling hotel in the heart of Cordoba. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was well appointed with very good bathroom facilities. The price was reasonable for the setting and time of year 30th December till 2nd Jan. (Note for people staying at this time of year. Cordoba is a ghost town during this period. we were hoping for a big night out and were lucky to get a dinner in a restaurant as there was only the one open as far as we could find. Not even Burger King was open! Thank God for the China Town restaurant which was average food but it was open).

The only problem with the Selu hotel was the fact that while it states it has air conditioning in every room this is not entirely correct. The hotel was kept very warm and we wanted to cool our room down a bit but were unable as the cooling function is off during the witnter months. We had to sit in our room for hours with the window and door open just to cope. Overall though it was a good stay.

Room Tip: check to see the air conditioning is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights.
Decent rooms.
Had to pay for the wifi, and for the safety box.
Good location, close to the sights and the train station.
We had a small fridge in the room, which was nice as we could save some money by purchasing our needs and keep them in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Good value hotel, nice and clean throughout although the rooms are slightly small. As with lots of hotels in hot countries the food could be warmer but the choice is good. The hotel is tucked away in a narrow road and is not easy to find if using a car but overall the location is very central to the main town and square, we are talking 5 minutes or so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhaurin de la Torre, Spain
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just spent 2 nights in this hotel. Spotlessly clean. Small rooms, but not a problem. Staff all pleasant and friendly. Buffet breakfast, lots of choice but the English option (fried bacon and eggs) were cold. Paid 11€ per night to park in their garage, but well worth it, no parking in Cordoba, even in November Location is perfect, right in the centre of Cordoba.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Selu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selu

Address: C/Eduardo Dato, 7, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Selu 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Selu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selu Hotel córdoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Selu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.