We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of 4 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Cordoba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Cordoba to your Saves list
Parador de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Arruzafa S/N, 14012 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not worthy of 4 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

A very disappointing Parador, with little or no charm other than the view from the terrace. It also lacks proper customer service and attention to detail, no one helps with luggage, take long to answer calls at reception and take up to 30min to provide a charger. Slippers have to be requested, only one toothbrush in a double room and no kettle nor complimentary water, which should be a standard in 4* hotels.
Breakfast is excellent and well charged for. Would not recommend with the choice of hotels in the old city.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    118
    60
    13
    6
See reviews for
49
155
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a disappointing parador beng neither ultra modern nor of architectural interest. The service was good at reception but the restaurant staff were not very friendly or helpful. The breakfast however is magnificent and people with special dietary problems are catered for.
The location is good because it is within a 10 minute bus ride of the centre a nightmare to park in. The bus stop is a few yards from the hotel ( bus number13) get off at the El Corte Ingles department store and walk the 150-200 metres to the Mesquita, river etc. Fare in May 2013 1 euro 20. The pool was not in operation while we were there and the grounds hardly worth mentioning. There is a supermarket nearby for picnic fare.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We´ve stayed for 1 night only in Parador de Cordoba.
Its located near the city, by car its less than 10 minutes, by taxi, expect to pay around 8-10€.
The city its tricky to park your car, so consider getting around by taxi, and then by walk.
The hotel itself its not such a great deal as it might seems. The building its not that beautiful, but the rooms are large and confortable. Anyway, a refresh on the furniture would be a good idea.
Beware if you´re counting on a dive in the pool, as its closed by now, and that was a bit of a dissapointment for us, even knowing that the weather was not that great.
The staff was polite and professional, and gave us a map with the locations we needed to know, and also a few good restaurants in the area.
Now, just a little math... I believe that the prices are a bit hard for what the hotel has to offer... 165€/night its just a little too much for what you get... Its not exactly a bad deal, but you might find better options in the area...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our final hotel on the Parador Andalucia Legacy ll route. Parador is on a hillside in a smart area of Cordoba and the views over the city are beautiful.
Room large with twin double beds a sofa and chairs, balcony with table and chairs and an awesome view of Cordoba although only a standard booked.
Rooms both private and public spotlessly clean.
Dinner and breakfast very very good.
I would stay here again, and again.
The Mezquita in the city is a must to visit but don't bother driving down as there is little public parking, very narrow streets and the taxi ordered by the hotel was only 8 euro each way.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a balcony. Floor 3 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights during Easter week. Like the other reviewer, I had expected an old building and was disappointed to find it was modern and not particularly attractive from the outside. Our rooms were really spacious and of a high standard. The staff were pleasant and spoke very good English.
The hotel is quite a way out of the town centre. It takes about 3/4 hour to walk to the Mezquita and the rest of the old quarter. Fortunately there is a regular bus service that stops right out side the hotel (every half hour) - otherwise it would be uphill all the way back.
We didn't eat here - breakfast would have been very expensive for 4 of us, and it was too cold and wet to sit outside. However the terrace looked very pleasant with a great view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked for three nights and had intended to explore Cordoba more thoroughly but the unfriendly service and the awful food made us decide not to spend any more time in the hotel than necessary. The restaurant food was so poor I refused to pay for my main course and as this trip was to celebrate my birthday I didn't want to have my birthday dinner in such a place so we checked out and went back to the coast.
The temperature was in the high 20s but the pool was closed - although the pool is advertised on the website as seasonal, there is no mention that the season is only June to September, very disappointing to find we couldn't take a dip on such a warm day.
The room was good (superior room) but the air conditioning didn't cool the room and Internet access was so hit and miss it wasn't worth using.
We have stayed Paradores all over Spain and this was not what we have come to expect. I wouldn't recommend the Parador but I would recommend Cordoba, the Mesquita was breathtaking and much more impressive than I had expected.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. We had read about Paradors in a guide book and really wanted to stay in one during our trip. Unfortunately, we either got caught up in the excitement of staying in a castle or didn't pay much attention to the website (probably a mixture of both), but we were a bit disappointed to find out it was not a castle and in fact an old monastery. The building from the outside looks like an apartment complex. However, once you get past the exterior, the hotel is quite nice. The rooms are large and the lobby is very classy. The breakfast in the morning was the largest I have seen at any hotel and very delicious. I would not recommend this as the once in a lifetime Parador visit. As a hotel it is very nice, even if it is farther from the highlights of Cordoba.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cordoba

Address: Avenida de la Arruzafa S/N, 14012 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cordoba 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Parador de Cordoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cordoba Hotel Cordoba
Parador De Cordoba córdoba
Parador De Cordoba Hotel córdoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Cordoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.