We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice staff, enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Macia Alfaros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Macia Alfaros to your Saves list
Hotel Macia Alfaros
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alfaros 18, 14001 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Cordoba
London, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good location, nice staff, enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here during this year's Patio Festival in May when understandably the city was very busy. Hotel seemed pretty full but able to cope. Did not have a problem getting a space by the pool or at breakfast. Yes, as some people have said, the sound proofing in bedrooms is not perfect but this is a trade-off that you have to accept when you are staying in a traditional building which this is. It is not a corporate hotel but that brings other benefits. I found the staff very helpful and friendly and they even let me practice my Spanish at check-in (when doing it in English probably would have been far easier for them).

Not particularly luxurious but comfortable. Gratis WiFi extremely reliable. Breakfast selection good. Once you get to know the city this is only 10 minutes walk away from the main sites and five from one of the main squares the Plaza de las Tendillas where the main tourist office is situated along with some surprisingly cheap bars. One evening in one of the bars here we paid just over seven euros for three glasses of wine and a beer - remarkable when you live in London! Hotel not much more than five euros in a cab from the train station if you are coming from that direction.

It might not be to everyone's taste if you want lots of glamour but it suited us and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    229
    110
    34
    18
See reviews for
104
220
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forlimpopoli, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel for just one night. I was on a business trip. I must say the hotel is clean, nice and comfortable. A bit old-fashioned but above the average standard you usually find in southern Spain.
I enjoyed the gym also. A tiny cozy room with a beautiful sight on downtown's roofs! Especially early in the morning with the sun rising before you!
Good breakfast too.
Price is affordable. Free Wi-Fi in the room was also something I enjoyed.
Location is perfect if you want to visit the city centre on foot since it is very close.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel, there is a sort of inner court which is pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Having stayed at many hotels from the very basic to the sublime, I can say with confidence that this is at most a three star hotel and it is grossly misleading of the hotel to suggest otherwise. Having explained this to the hotel, they do appear to accept this as a fact and seem to have secured the rating on a technicality. If it helps, I was not expecting a plastic sheet to be fitted beneath the bed-sheet nor a "gym" with only three items of equipment nor a lack of service in terms of room cleaning and reception nor a small room lacking natural light. On balance, you will get what you pay for but for my wife and I, we would have gladly have paid a premium for a more comfortable stay. In summary, it is a terrible four star hotel hence the low rating but would have been an average/good three star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is great for visitng Cordoba. Parking underneath the hotel is a plus although it is very narrow. The hotel looks small on the outside but is extremely big inside although it still feels cosy. The staff are very helpful and all speak good English. We had a junior suite which was a bit shabby but still comfortable and the double jacuzzi bath was to die for, as was the super king size bed! The rooms were clean and comfortable, plenty of towels and bathroom supples and a well stocked mini-bar. The choice for Breakfast was excellent and was replenished frequently. A good middle class hotel.

Room Tip: Junior suite, ground floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hotel Macia Alfaros has a nice location, right next to the city center. The rooms where clean and comfortable, but the plastic-like mattress topper, made the bed a bit clammy.

We can recommend the breakfast at the hotel, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

"Deceptively spacious" as the estate agents say! What looked like a small on-street hotel turned out to be a really good hotel, within an easy walk of all the main sights of the City, and it also has a basement garage at easy cost, so once you have arrived you can leave the car - you won't need it again.
Rooms were clean and adequate, as was the ensuite bathroom, buffet-style breakfasts offered a wide range of alternatives (the local honeys are a must!), there is a swimming pool and a gym, the staff were, without exception, cheerful and very helpful, and we certainly felt we had excellent value for money, and would definitely go there again. .
One word of warning: we visited in the week before Easter - Semana Santa - and the whole central area is closed off early in the afternoon, so it is vital to get there early, or you will be searching the town for a parking place. But I would still recommend visiting then, and enjoying the many parades of the Holy Relics, which took place every evening during the week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Breakfast was the best part. Full spread all you can eat and some amazing churros and even better local honey. Sleep was good, couldn't access the pool and the fitness center was limited. Over all a solid hotel. Not sure if its 4 stars but a definite 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Macia Alfaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Alfaros

Address: Calle Alfaros 18, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Alfaros 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Macia Alfaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macia Alfaros Hotel
Macia Alfaros córdoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Macia Alfaros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.