We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, clean and cheap.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Omeyas Hotel

Save Saved
You added Los Omeyas Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Los Omeyas Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Encarnacion 17, 14003 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 71 hotels in Cordoba
Don Benito, Extremadura, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming, clean and cheap.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Most of the reviews I read of this hotel were not reflective of the experience the three of us had. Firstly, the location couldn't be better. But don't bother with the car park, it's cheaper and easier to park in the car park just inside the city walls (5 minutes walk away) which you can get to easily without any terrifying navigation of the old streets and alleyways. Secondly, we went somewhere else for breakfast so can't comment on that. But the staff were delightful, we are a Spanish/English couple and the man who welcomed us spoke perfect English to my friend. The hotel was clean and was in the typical charming Andalusian style - all white marble and coloured tiles. We had two rooms next door to each other on the 2nd floor, facing onto the patio (with a peek at the Mezquita tower) which were perfectly quiet, apart from the bells, which you have to expect. The rooms were small but adequate, very clean and we had a really great shower although the provision of towels and bath products was a bit mean. We had a rather uncomfortable bed, where we could feel the springs, but my friend's bed was fine.
To sum up it's not the Ritz but it matches up to other budget hotels I have stayed in in Córdoba and is perfectly fine for a night or two.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    53
    24
    16
    9
See reviews for
20
32
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I can’t reccomend to stay here alone especially if you are female.Because the window is only one and very small,the room is so dark, the security isn’t enough.Though I wanted to tell something in English,they can’t speak at all.So it was so hard to ask about the payment.The location is excellent but you can find a better hotel with a lower price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel does not deserve the negative reviews I have read. We stayed there for one night a couple of weeks ago and it was perfect for a short stay.

It was quiet, clean and offered a huge toasted bun for breakfast. The staff were very nice. This is a budget place so don't go expecting five stars. However, it's location was five star! About a two minute walk to the mosque. It is located on a very narrow street in the old part of town.

I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is advertised as a 2* hotel and the pictures on the literature etc may mislead you. In reality this is a “bed and breakfast”establishment with rude, surly staff. The bedrooms are built around an atrium which can be opened (by owners) in warm weather. Even when closed the place is very noisy as voices echo around. Those rooms on 1st floor open onto the atrium so although there are windows if you open them the inside of the room is then rather public. Those on the 2nd floor (roof level) benefit from fresh air and can be quieter. Note that the windows open INTO the bedrooms and have very sharp edges and as the rooms are small it can be hazardous. Very limited storage space – a shelf only in a twin room and no luggage rack. Bed sheets were very thin – could see the mattress pattern through the bottom sheet and as the bedding is made up of rather itchy blankets it was not very comfy. Bathrooms needed updating, towels were grey and thin. No bath mat provided and several people in the Ramblers Worldwide Holiday group slipped on the tiled floor when stepping out of bath/shower. Breakfast consisted of a cup of coffee or tea, glass of sweet orange drink and a toasted bun – at a cost of EUR4.50. If you want a small bowl of cornflakes it is an additional EUR2.50! No public seating areas and no other catering at hotel. Other than on Christmas Eve when Cordoba effectively closes and there are no restaurants open for evening meals, this was not an issue as we did not want to spend any more time than necessary here anyway! The only thing going for it is that it is 2 minutes from the Mezquita de Cordoba but there are plenty of other good hotels nearby and Cordoba is sufficiently compact that you are never far away from the sights and sounds of this historical city! Most people arrive in Cordoba on foot as there is limited access to vehicles along the very narrow street so check if you hotel offers a pick up luggage service or you’ll be pulling your case over cobbles.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd floor and away from the lift if you want some peace and fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This small 2** hotel is situated only yards away from the Mesquita/Cathedral and is within easy walking distance of all the attractions of the old town. Like most old moorish/spanish buildings it is built around a central courtyard where breakfast is taken. Our room was clean and comfortable and we had a safe which cost 2euros a day for the key. We didn't have a fridge and considering the temperature outside was 40c, it would have been nice to have one. The room was air conditioned so we slept well. There are two downsides to this hotel: 1) The very basic breakfast which is orange juice, coffee, toast and jam or pate. Because we were in a party of 22 people we were asked to all come down to breakfast together which was somewhat chaotic. We had to queue and then as they had no trays, the various elements of the breakfast had to be carried in relays to the table. Someone needs to give them some organisational advice! 2) Because the hotel is in a very narrow side street coaches cannot park anywhere near, so luggage has to be trundled a long way across the bridge and up to the hotel - not good if you have a large case and it is very hot. Because we were such a large group the hotel did meet our coach and transport our luggage in their van, which was a relief, but I don't know if they would do this for individuals. However if you are wanting a quaint budget hotel and want to do all your eating in local restaurants then this hotel is quite adequate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

While its site, only 50 yards from the corner of the Cordoba mosque could not be more convenient for tourists like us, Los Omeyas has little else to recommend it. This is particularly true if you are driving and in need of the hotel parking: this is three long blocks away, in a dark cellar, down a precipitous and sharply-spiraling ramp--and not only that, there is so little room that wedging even our small Skoda in its space made exit from the car possible from only the driver's side. (The street, Encarnacion is so narrow that approaching the only entrance to the hotel, it is impossible to open the car doors for the encroaching walls on either side. Fine for foot traffic but for drivers, a nerve-wracking, tire-rubbing challenge.) Though clean, the rooms are very bare, bringing to mind budget motels on lonesome highways in the upper Midwest--albeit one with white marble floors. There was a recurrent smell of natural gas in the bathroom: after shrugs from the front desk clerk, we slept with the windows cracked widely. The breakfast (on a B&B policy) is meager at best and taken in a windowless, charmless room adjacent to the functional lobby. The staff was young and affected a clueless demeanor, discouraging even the simplest requests for advice, assistance etc. My wife and I--and the couple with us--would advise Cordoba visitors to investigate other places to stay.

Room Tip: Check the room offered before you sign the register: check the operation of the fixtures in the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Loved this little hotel! Great location steps away from the Mezquita and walking distance to many other attractions. Clean and safe. Maybe a little bit outdated with the bedding, etc but fits the area. Front desk staff were all very helpful with directions and recommendations but would not make a call for us to book a Hammam bath.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Omeyas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Omeyas Hotel

Address: C/ Encarnacion 17, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 71 hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Omeyas Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Los Omeyas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Omeyas
Los Omeyas córdoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Omeyas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.