We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Exe Conquistador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Exe Conquistador to your Saves list
Hotel Exe Conquistador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magistral Gonzalez Frances 15-17, 14003 Cordoba, Spain (Formerly Hotel El Conquistador)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
St Ives, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent for the Mesquita as it's directly opposite and indeed the balcony in our room overlooked it. Staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were compact but clean with good facilities including wifi. We especially liked the interior courtyard with fountain and turtle which was a haven of coolness from the temperatures outside and we enjoyed a very good meal there at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard if you want tranquility or overlooking the Mesquita if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    385
    188
    61
    28
See reviews for
164
450
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had read the reviews good and bad of this hotel but we needed parking and wanted to be in the centre within walking distance of everything. It is right next door to the Mezquita and we had a small balcony that looked down it. The balcony was a great spot to watch the procession as it came by. We saw a night one with the candles and float which was great.
I had heard the rooms were small and so asked for a big room when we checked in. We ended up with two twin beds, which was not as originally requested but I am sure this is because they provided more space. The room was not huge but was OK. They had one rack for one of our large pieces of luggage and there was room for the other in the large closet so it all worked out quite well. The air conditioning worked OK which was great as it was really hot when we were there and we weren't conscious of the smell of smoke in our rooms but it sure was in the lobby and in the halls.
The beds were the most uncomfortable that we encountered in Spain and the wifi did not work very well. We were there for two days and mentioned this the young lady at the desk and she indicated that they never had any complaints about it before.
The desk staff were OK, not overly helpful but nothing to complain about. The staff in the restaurant appeared quite unfriendly. They gave the impression that we were ruining their day when we ordered lunch. We sat for quite a long time before they indicated that they saw us even though they were buzzing around us. I have to say this was pretty general for most places we stayed in Spain. It seemed however that we went for breakfast or stopped in for a drink late at night that the same people were always working and so perhaps that is why they didn't seem friendlier. Very long days at work it appeared.
The outside seating for breakfast and other meals in the garden areas was really beautiful and that and the location truly made this hotel a good choice. A little expensive for what we got I think but none the less a great location and a beautiful garden.

Room Tip: Rooms with two twin beds might provide a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed for one night with my family and it was the worst experience. This is a 2 star hotel with 4 star prices. The staff is slow I wanted to ask a question and had to wait for 20 minutes for it to be answered. We got to our rooms and they were boiling hot and there was no possibility for a/c it smelt like cigarrette even though it was a non smoking room and when we complaint they sprayed a eucaliptus air freshner wich made everything worst. The sheets were dirty and had hairs and so did the shower. We were planning to stat an extra bught in cordoba but when we sae the conditions we decided to leave. We paid 150 euros a night for sleeping in dirty sheets and choking with cigarrete smoke. I would recomend you strongly not to book it, there are more hotels within the same well located area that even if they are the same they might cost less

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel just next to the Mezquita and all other major spots. We went this April during semana santa and was given a room with balcony to view the procession. The staffs are friendly and willing to answer any question on travel. Rooms are clean, not very large but adequate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Although it does not look attractive at all from outside because probably of the old style of the area, you won't believe it once you enter the hotel. It has a large reception area, an attractive garden restaurant though we did not have the chance to use. The rooms are average size but adequate with a nice bathroom suite. Free internet is a privilege. It is located directly opposite to Mezquita and walking distance to all the other attractions. The statues of the famous Andalucian Philosopher Averroes and the Jewish Andalucian doctor Maimoon are also within walking distance. There are plenty of restaurants close by. We shall go to the same hotel if we had the chance to visit Cordoba again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed 2 nights on city break package, 65euro per night, included breakfast and parking, no complaints. Problem with cistern was fixed immediately. Breakfast average. Staff very good. Location perfect in old quarter

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Exe Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe Conquistador

Address: Magistral Gonzalez Frances 15-17, 14003 Cordoba, Spain (Formerly Hotel El Conquistador)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Exe Conquistador 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented Hotel with old Cordoba styled architectural features; located in the center of the old Jewish quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Exe Conquistador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Hotel
El Conquistador córdoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Exe Conquistador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.