We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming gem in Cordoba - not for everyone but perfect for me (and maybe for you)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balcon de Cordoba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Balcon de Cordoba to your Saves list
Balcon de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Encarnacion, 8, 14003 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€15 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Cordoba
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A charming gem in Cordoba - not for everyone but perfect for me (and maybe for you)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

This is not the hotel for you if you like big places with a million people swarming to do your bidding. This is a tiny (albeit luxurious) hole in the wall built into a old palace in the old center of Cordoba, with antiquities and relics strewn about like some hotels use cheap art. There are 10 rooms, and probably no more that 4 or five people working in the entire operation at any one time. But you will feel like your every need is well taken care of, and the whole experience (from the food to the roof terrace to the convenience of the location) is spectacular. It is not "convenient" in the sense that it is located on a street so narrow that many cars (and some cabs) can't fit, forcing the ways cheerful staff to fetch you and your luggage from a block away. But it is convenient (as in a short walk) to nearly everything you would want to see or do in Cordoba, and the atmosphere is wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    56
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
72
305
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights from 6/26 to 6/28 in a twin room (#7- Didar). Small room but very efficiently organized. A bit of a tight fit with 2 large suitcases, but with an extra luggage stand, was able to make it work. This room has just one small window opening onto an interior court so it did not have a lot of natural light during the day but this did not matter since we did not spend a lot of time in the room during the day. I was initially concerned about the potential for noise but it actually ended up being very quiet for sleeping at night. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was compact but had a good shower.

Breakfast was included and was very good. Had scrambled eggs with bacon, cooked to order both days. Good selection of buffet items, great jamon!

Beautiful central patio. Very inviting for lounging and breakfast. Roof top terrace had fabulous view of the Mezquita, especially at night. Great way to end the day.

Service was exceptional. Their website advertises that they aim to create a home atmosphere and the staff really goes out of their way to make this happen. My experience started with an extended correspondence with Raul, Alexander, and Maria regarding arrangement of private transfers from Malaga to Cordoba, then Cordoba to Madrid. It was a pleasure to meet them, equally charming in person. There was another young woman who checked us in and also picked up tickets for us for the night visit at the Mezquita (BTW – fantastic!) Sorry that I cannot figure out how to spell your name! Alexander got us tickets to the Equestrian show and also found a place for us to eat early before the show – Casa Pepe. Had a great tapas meal there. I really appreciated all the staff’s efforts to provide an outstanding experience in Cordoba at their hotel.

WiFi was included and worked well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this small property of ten rooms situated around a central patio. Both of our rooms were on the ground floor, one was for handicap usage most near the patio which, although seemingly larger then most rooms, was very dark. The other was near the back of the property where a door opened onto the street of flowers. This was much more preferable. The owners did a great job of renovating the property to modern standards while keeping elements of the original convent. The hotel was located in a side street off the main streets surrounding the Mesquita, literally a five minute walk away. On some nights a Spanish guitarist performed in the patio during the dinner service. Although the setting was enchanting, there is much room for improvement in the food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in June and we thought it was just perfect a really peaceful haven yet a few steps away from the Mezquita and the throngs of tourists..

The whole hotel is beautifully decorated and has many little places to sit and relax, either in the courtyards or on the viewing terrace upstairs. We stayed in the room with the private roof terrace and this was a lovely spot to while away an hour reading whilst the swallows and swifts wheeled around above your head.

The staff were really helpful, especially Raul who suggested great restaurants and made telephone reservations for us each evening. The selection at breakfast was great and we tried the scrambled eggs and bacon one morning - 10 out of 10.

Before you travel you will receive an email from the hotel with detailed driving directions. Follow these to the letter and do not take notice of images you may have seen on google street view as the direction of traffic flow has changed since they filmed it. When you get to the designated point phone the hotel and someone will come to meet you and will then take your car and park it - forget about it for the rest of your trip and enjoy the sights walking around Cordoba as it is small and compact.

This hotel and the attentive staff deserve their place as number one in Cordoba - we wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Balcon de Cordoba has exquisite rooms in an excellent location. The staff are kind and intelligent. The restaurant has delicious local food. This may truly be one of the best hotels I've ever spent time in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

First time review, compelled by how amazing the hotel is. Just magical and the rooms and service far surpassed our wildest expectations. Alexander is the most gracious host - unbelievably helpful with everything. Will definitely be back!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Superb, small hotel in the heart of the old city. We stayed for 2 nights in this beautifully restored, historic building that is only a minutes walk from the Mezquita. The photos on the hotel website don't do it justice. Our room overlooked "flower street" and had its own roof terrace with a bed and great views. Very clean, comfortable and quiet, with effective air conditioning. From our arrival, when we were greeted with a glass of wine as we checked in, all of the staff were very friendly and Alexander was particularly helpful. The buffet breakfast in the open courtyard was very good and the dinner we had there was excellent. There is also a roof terrace with fantastic views of the Mezquita where you can have a drink or dinner. We have recommended the hotel to our friends and hope to return.

Room Tip: The Ruzbahan room has its own roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balcon de Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcon de Cordoba

Address: Calle Encarnacion, 8, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balcon de Cordoba 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"We have raised a balcony over Córdoba to be enjoyed by our guests as a true home. This is a warm-hearted invitation for you to find rest with us while discovering the treasures of a magic, ancient town." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Balcon de Cordoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balcon de Cordoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.