We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, central and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balcon de Cordoba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Balcon de Cordoba to your Saves list
Balcon de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Encarnacion, 8, 14003 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Welsh Borders, UK
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Charming, central and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel is in a narrow street, about 9 inches wider than the taxi that brought us from the station. We stayed in both of their junior suites. The first has a little balcony for sitting in the shade, and a large one, with a super-comfy day bed, for lounging in the sun. The other, the "royal" suite, has no balconies but is huge and exquisitely furnished. We liked them both, and enjoyed the beds.
Church bells ring on the hour and the half and sometimes the quarter, but they stop at 11 pm, so you get a good night's sleep. The Muezzin broadcasts his wonderfully sung call to Islamic prayer in the evening.
There is a central patio with a large orange tree, whose scent fills the air. The friendly staff are happy to serve you tea or drinks in the small lounge area or on the patio if it's warm (it was mostly cool and rainy for us!)
Breakfast is huddled in a cramped space at the side of the patio in winter, but probably spreads into the open air in summer. It's a modest buffet, with waiter-delivered cups of coffee or tea. He will happily cook you eggs and bacon.
One thing to avoid in this otherwise excellent hotel is the "Romantic Evening" which happens on Thursday and Saturday. It features a guitarist who plays exercises and standard phrases all evening and never manages to raise any interest or applause. This accompanies an appalling dinner, more like a badly planned picnic, with cheap wine.
A minute's walk from the hotel is the incredible Mesquita mosque/cathedral truly one of the world's wonders, and living proof of the spirituality and parallel malevolence of religion.
Cordoba is a walking town, with lots of fascinating things to see. We stayed 3 nights, and that's about right.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    63
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
85
350
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The most charming hotel you can imagine in a bustling city! My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in March and loved every moment. Raoul who greeted us was fantastic in every way! Our room had its own private terrace with a view of the Mezquita's Tower....just magical! The bed was the most comfortable bed I think I have ever slept on in my life!! The delicious breakfast on their lovely terrace was delightful and overlooked the beautiful Calle Des Flores. Just a beautiful oasis with a wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

If you are small/boutique hotel lover Balco de Cordoba is an excellent choice, deserves the best rating compared to any standards and similar hotels in other countries. It seems that the owner gave utmost sophicticated attention to all the details to create the best in it's class.
Same attention you will experience with the attitude of the hotel team, they are probably one of the best i have ever seen, and i must give special praise to Raul who always positively surpised us whenever we have a request.

Last but not the least the Hotel is only few meters to Mezquito.

Room Tip: Room #4 was excellent, overlooking the ornage tree and hotel patio, i would go for room #1 as the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We picked Balcon de Cordoba because of their wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor and we were thrilled with the experience.

The staff was accommodating, friendly, spoke fluent English (we needed that) and made us feel at home. (I would say it was like staying with family but they treated us better than family.)

There were a couple of things in particular that made us feel that way. First, we got a tad lost driving into town, after calling the hotel the manager, Raul, sent one of his people to find us and guide us to the hotel! Wonderful! When my daughter was feeling a tad under the weather from a bug she had in London, they made a special meal for her and went to the pharmacy late at night for medication for her. You could not ask to be treated better! This was above and beyond.

Now lets talk about the rooms. We had a room for my wife and I and one for my daughter. They were, clean and beautiful. We had a suite with two balconies and a view of the city. Sitting on the balcony at dusk watching the sunset was magical. Room #10. I could live there happily for a long,long time. The living room had large windows that you could open in all directions and comfortable seating all around, giving you the feeling like you were outdoors. The bathroom was modern and had all the amenities you would find in a resort.

Breakfast was fresh and fantastic and we were given supurb recommendations for dinner. Once again, Raul made reservations for us and did not steer us wrong.

We could not imagine a better place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zollikon, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very pleasant and beautiful boutique hotel in the old town of Cordoba, some 200 feet away from the Mezquita. Very well appointed rooms with everything you may need. Excellent breakfast (was included in our price). If you are very dependent on fresh air, ask to get a room with windows that have access to the "real" outside. Many rooms have only windows that lead to an interior court and consequently, the air can be sticky. But all rooms have A/C anyhow. We very much enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel is compact but in a really good location to explore Cordoba. The rooms aren't huge but have enough space for everything you need with large very comfortable beds, good linen and tastefully decorated (Spanish shades of Farrow and Ball) . Everything is clean,restful and peaceful. Altogether a very pleasant experience. The staff are very helpful and friendly and Raoul is a star who seems to work all hours of the day and can turn his hand to anything from preparing breakfast (which was good),serving drinks in the pretty courtyard, to advising you on the best places to visit in the city. We have visited quite a few hotels all over Europe and this is one of the nicest. We would definitely recommend it and would love to return some day.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have a shower with no bath. So if this matters best to check on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Excellent hotel with good room and lovely terrace. Great location with a nice breakfast too. Spoilt by excessive profit made on the charge for a guide
The city is fascinating and visiting is a must linked with Seville which is only 90 miles to the west.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Balcon de Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcon de Cordoba

Address: Calle Encarnacion, 8, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balcon de Cordoba 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"We have raised a balcony over Córdoba to be enjoyed by our guests as a true home. This is a warm-hearted invitation for you to find rest with us while discovering the treasures of a magic, ancient town." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Escapio and Despegar.com so you can book your Balcon de Cordoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balcon de Cordoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.