We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balcon de Cordoba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Balcon de Cordoba to your Saves list
Balcon de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Encarnacion, 8, 14003 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€15 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Cordoba
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in an ordinary double after reading all the good reviews. The biggest advantage it has is the roof terrace which is wonderful if the weather is good enough. Bearing in mind this hotel is twice the price of many hotels in Cordoba Centre I couldn't set it apart from other Spanish luxury hotels I have visited which have actually been cheaper. The staff are very attentive, nice and accommodating and everything is clean and safe. However, as it is so small and our room was overlooking the main courtyard we could occasionally hear the buzzer at night as guests came in and one night when guests had dinner we heard things being cleared away but by 11 to midnight it calms down. Also the staff didn't seem very knowledgable on the best non touristy restaurants to visit. Breakfast is also a little bit difficult as the staff on the reception double up serving in the kitchen. I couldn't really justify the price of the hotel with the experience. Sure enough there are extras like apples, bathrobes and slippers but no coffee/tea facilities and this is the first turn down service I've had without a chocolate ;-p.
That said if you don't mind what you pay, want to feel safe, don't like the idea of staying with the masses, like a good view from the terrace and like small hotels then you'll probably like it.
Tip: We bought a 7.20 eur ticket form the tourist office which gave us access to the Alcazar, Romano house museum and historic Arab Baths. I'm not sure I saw this ticket advertised anywhere. NB Most museums etc shut 230pm Sunday and all of Monday.
830-930 free entry Mezquita except Sunday.

Room Tip: We were in an ordinary double room. I think most of these type are on the ground floor but we email...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    56
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
72
305
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel nestles in one of the many wonderful narrow streets leading down to the Mezquita and is immediately calming with beautiful little inner courtyards with water features and lovely plants. One even has a huge orange tree reaching for the sky. The roof top terrace offers a lovely panoramic view of Córdoba. The rooms maintain the history of the original convent and are decorated with creamy whites, pale greys and stone. Interesting artefacts and art abound. The staff are very helpful and, like the ambiance, are calm and quiet. The breakfast is excellent and as you would expect beautifully set out. The hotel's location is unbeatable - it's only a short walk beyond the cathedral/mosque to the Roman bridge and also the Alcázar, museums, galleries and pedestrianised shopping district.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaucluse
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is more then TOP! The situation , in the centre, is unbeatable, the decoration is very nice if you have an eye for it, the beds are super, the terrace with a spectacluar view is great and everyone can enjoy it (=on the roof), and the innercourt yard is very nice too for a drink or lunch or dinner ... the staff is always there to help you, professional and kind!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I spent one night at this hotel. It is nestled in the heart of the Jewish quarter. The staff at the reception were most welcoming and helpful. The highlight was to admire from the hotel roof top , a true balcony overlooking the city, the sunset on the Mezquita drinking (a complimentary ) glass of wine.
The breakfast is excellent with freshly squeezed orange juice,god quality " jamon iberico" and espresso coffee.
Our room was on the ground floor , spacious, although slightly dark ,facing over a small patio adjacent to the Calle de Flores and full of spanish music!! .
The Mesquita is at walking distance and the hotel is close to tapas restaurants and to an excellent Flamenco theatre , well recommended by the receptionist.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

As already mentioned in other reviews this hotel is one minute away from the Mezquita (a one of a kind architectural masterpiece) . The courtyard and breakfast area are charming and the rooms while not large are comfortable enough. Based on the one dinner we had there,I would not recommend eating there,except for breakfast,but that shouldn't be a problem as there are restaurants by the dozens within walking distance . Overall, we had a wonderful visit there and I would stay there again if I ever went back to Cordoba.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Balcon de Cordoba, in Andalucia, for 3 nights. The hotel, a collection of several old buildings, is off a narrow laneway in the old part of Cordoba, just a hundred metres or so from the famous Mezquita. We had booked a deluxe double room with a terrace, but when checking in we were told by the hotelier that a suite was available (Room 9, Maryam), which he wanted to show us first. It was a lovely L-shaped suite, overlooking the hotel's private courtyard sheltered by a citrus tree. There was a long living space, with two sitting areas, a marble bathroom (shower only) with wardrobe storage, and a large bedroom with a bath to one side. He told us we could have the suite for an extra 258 euros. We were then shown the room we had booked (No 6), which consisted of a bedroom with an ensuite bathroom, and a timber staircase leading to a private roof terrace above (at this point the hotelier mentioned that the weather forecast was for several days of rain). The room and terrace overlooked a small, side entry courtyard which opened onto one of Cordoba's main attractions, Callejon de las Flores, a dead-end street decorated with dozens of wall-mounted flower pots. Because of the extra cost for the suite, we told the hotelier that we'd stay in the room we had booked. He looked decidedly disappointed, and left us there to organise our bags to be brought to our room. While waiting for him, we became aware of a lot of noise from the street outside, which was packed with tourists. Having slept badly in Granada (see our review of El Ladron de Agua) we were desperate for a quiet night and so quickly decided to investigate the suite further. By the time we got back to reception the hotelier had offered the suite to a family of three who were checking in. However, after viewing it they returned to reception and said that for one night and an extra 70 euros they'd be happy to stay in the room they had originally booked. We looked at the suite again and went back to reception to ask the hotelier if he could confirm that the rate he had offered to us was the current rate listed on the hotel booking website we had used (Splendia).Visibly displeased, he agreed to check it for us and, after a few moments and much shrugging, told us that we were very lucky indeed, and that it was very bad for his business, but that the current difference between the rate of the deluxe room we had booked and the suite was in fact only an extra 88 euros for 3 nights. Of course, we were delighted and accepted the suite at that rate, but the incident made us feel rather uncomfortable. At the end of three days, however, we had enjoyed our stay there, despite the dreadful weather (yes, it did rain for three days, as the hotelier had predicted). The breakfasts were excellent, as was the one dinner we had there as well. The rooms are elegant and well appointed and the hotel is in a great location. One small gripe was that there were no English-language channels on offer in the hotel to check the news and weather.

Room Tip: Avoid the room overlooking the famous Callejon de las Flores, which is packed with tourists all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludovic d, Director General at Balcon de Cordoba, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Customers,

Thanks to your comments in Balcón de Córdoba we learn from our mistakes, that way we can make our services better each day so our guests can feel like at home.

However, we would like to response to this comment which is carrying confusion.

In Balcón de Córdoba our greatest desire is for guests to feel like at home, we try in every moment to assign the room that matches your expectations and desires. That’s why, every day we offer an upgrade, upselling, a free room, so that our guests can enjoy and live in our house. In Balcón de Córdoba we don´t like to speak about money, but we want to clarify the concept of an upgrade, upselling, it´s a contract which the hotelier together with the client makes a deal, it´s based on the purchase price and the current market value (comparing with other hotels from the same category in Córdoba) and not with your travel agency. In this case, we had to respect the circumstances from the contract which Splendia had with us as guests had a gold card which gives the option to VIP.

It´s true that despite being a charming house, we are unfortunately a business. Victims now a day´s from the revenue management, adapt and optimize the supply rates demanded.

We are very sorry that these guests didn´t understand the concept of upselling in this particular case. To enjoy from the benefits as clients from the travel agency, especially gave us sorrow, they didn´t think that the change to the Junior Suite Real had the vision to offer a better stay in a wider room, 75m2, on some rainy days in Córdoba, since the 25m2 of terrace from the deluxe which they had reserved would be unusable cause of bad weather. In conclusion, In Balcón de Córdoba we try to assign a stay over which reaches the expectations needed in clients, considering its origins and cultures so you can find your house at the Juderia of Córdoba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velez Rubio, Spain
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I doubt that Trip Advisor will dare to include this review, since they are the first to blame for placing this pseudo chi-chi, noisy, unhelpful, over-priced hotel at the top of their list of recommendations, without ensuring that all the included reviews appearing herein are written by bona fide guests - which seems highly unlikely in the circumstances we, ourselves, encountered. Having been quoted an exhorbitant luxury price-level for a stay of one night, we decided to go with it, based on the glowing review inclusions we fell for on this website. However, to complete our arrival, at about 9 p.m. - after driving for three hours from Toledo, and then three times around the center of town, trying in vain to find a sign that indicated the hotel's location, since, according to the management, they do not yet exist - we were obliged to to park up, telephone, and wait twenty minutes for someone from the hotel to walk round the corner to the street where we had stopped, in order to show us the way - upon which we were required to drive once more fully around the complex one-way system at the center of town, and then finish the final section of the trip on foot, from some distance away, along with our luggage. We accepted, assuming that this was because the hotel was located in a pedestrian precinct, but, in fact, soon discovered that traffic passed down the street in front of the hotel on a regular basis. The kitchens closed soon after 10 p.m., on a saturday evening - at a time when most dining kitchens in Spain are welcoming their greatest number of guests. Not that this was a great drawback, since the hopelessly sparse menu is particularly unimpressive - as is the breakfast collation included in the luxury price-tag. Nor was the motivation of early kitchen closure done to reduce noise levels for early retirers, since the ensuing clattering from the lower floors, rising through the small patio at the center of the hotel, continued to keep us awake well into the early hours. The rooms were cold (spacious....? You're kidding me!), as the air-conditioning was insufficient to provide a respite from the night-time late-autumn temperature. The massive complimentary fruit bowl standing on the coffee-table presented three small items of fruit as a free offering. The hot water taps in the bathroom ran at a quarter of the speed of the cold. The parking fee was additional, and high; the views hugely inferior to those suggested by the hotel's appellation. All-in-all, one can only assume that the owners of the establishment are attempting to base its reputation on a series of fancy textiles, quiet colours, safety features and modernist Iberian reproduction furnishings, hoping they will convince their clientele that the inner environment should head the list of priorities for a comfortable visit. They should devote some attention to a serious re-think.
We have now, also, lost all faith in Trip Advisor, as an indicator of where to go.
Cordoba - on the other hand - as a venue, is unmissable.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludovic d, Director General at Balcon de Cordoba, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your comments, thanks to them we can advance and improve our services.

I´m sorry to hear you don´t believe on the comments published on Tripadvisor, we do not influence at all in any single comment. Clients directly publish what they think and feel, and for us its one of the best ways to check the quality of our services without any conflict of interest.

Our house is situated at the heart of CÓRDOBA at 20 meters of the Mezquita Cathedral in the centre of the Juderia, historical neighborhood known as a Heritage by the UNESCO. Our small Hotel Boutique has been cataloged 4* by the Counseling of Tourism & Commerce from the Junta de Andalucia and respect all the requirements imposed. Our rates are in line with the hotels market of this same category at the city.

We are very sorry you didn´t find the Hotel easily by vehicle, knowing the difficulty in driving through a fourteenth century neighborhood, we have created a document at our webpage which explains step by step how to get to the Hotel from all the possible directions. This document is accompanied by a map. The clients can find it at our webpage and with a link from any signature of any communication between us and our clients. For more ease we indicate a meeting point which is situated 15 meters from our House at the intersection from our street Calle Encarnacion with Cardenal Gonzales Frances, and at your arrival our valet parking approaches and takes care of the vehicle.

With the purpose of improving our services, we have decided to send the document of information to any reservation, direct ones or from any agencies, with or without vehicle.
Clearly, we encourage all good traveler to plan their trip, specially if it´s by car.
Our parking is situated at Calle Paseo de la Ribera, just three minutes by foot, we park the car and bring it back by demand. It’s a plus service that is a must for our clients. In any case, we´ll never leave a client lost in the city, always and like in your case, we go and look for them without any problems…

Our Buffet Breakfast consists of seasonal homeland products, and is always included on the price of the room, there is no additional price for our hot plates. We have an indicative time from 08:00 to 10:00 but we´ll never reject to serve breakfast to our guests at any given time, but we recommend our clients for the good off all to respect at maximum the timelines given.
The restaurant is opened at midday and at night, the guests are at their House and they mark the pace, we are at their services and we try our best to respond to their demand.
In our House you will always find an authorized person at any time to serve you a plate from the best we have at our kitchen.

Balcón de CÓRDOBA opened its doors on the 15th of September 2011, all machinery are new and from new generation, effectively and environmentally friendly.

To finish off, we are sorry that you could think that a reputation can only be achieved with the design and the inner atmosphere, since all fabrics and designs of the world can´t provide the essential at the hoteliers, which for us is a pleasure to receive guests from the whole wide world and make possible they enjoy our house therefore it´s a charming house just a few meters away from an incredible and beautiful monument, representing a mixture of cultures, and the most important part of it is to make our clients to feel like at home, to meet other guests and for all to share a unique moment.

Balcon de CÓRDOBA is a house where we offer authenticity, history and relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balcon de Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcon de Cordoba

Address: Calle Encarnacion, 8, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balcon de Cordoba 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"We have raised a balcony over Córdoba to be enjoyed by our guests as a true home. This is a warm-hearted invitation for you to find rest with us while discovering the treasures of a magic, ancient town." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Balcon de Cordoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balcon de Cordoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.