We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sephardic Jewish cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mazal - Juderia

Casa Mazal - Juderia
C/ Tomas Conde 3, 14004 Cordoba, Spain
+34 957 941888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 558 Restaurants in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lucknow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sephardic Jewish cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

On our way to the ancient synagogue ruins in Cordoba, we spotted the Casa Mazal restaurant specialising in Sephardic Jewish Cuisine. The menu promised a respite from the relentless tapas served by the tourist oriented eateries around the Juderia district surrounding the cathedral-mosque.
Great choice of vegetarian options, the waiters were helpful in describing the menu options.
We ended up going at lunchtime and in the evening because of the quality of the food.
Both times, we chose to eat in the Patio area, but the upper dining areas were also very attractive.
Recommended to those tired of Tapas.
Top tip: the portions are all large and easily shared between two people.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    123
    37
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
somerset,England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Something a bit different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We found this place by chance whilst meandering around the narrow streets of the Jewish quarter. The food and wine proved delightful and was all Kosher. I had the chicken with honey and dates which was succulent and very sweet- definitely not for anyone diabetic! If you are looking to get away from Spanish cuisine/ touristy restaurants then this place is really worth a visit. Lovely candlelit courtyard creates an intimate romantic setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just... meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Chose this place after reading reviews here. Hoped to get a quick tapas bite, but we were told once we sat down they didn't do tapas, only full meals. Disappointed (as we had already ordered a drink) we ordered the smallest item on the menu; a hummus dip with veggie sticks and bread. It was truthfully awful; it was more a cumin paste--that was the ONLY flavour it had. I love cumin, but this was waaay overboard!
We left half of it and finished our drinks and left. I will say the servers were nice, and kind, and the patio/courtyard is lovely. Maybe next time??? (For my money in Cordoba though, select Bodegas Mezquita instead. We went there twice, both the food and service were so good.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Genuine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We find a cozy patio to the end of an alley. It was to enter another dimension. We were charmed with being able to do a vegetarian food. The waiter was very attentive and accompanied the dinner of interesting explanations. We recommend this site for his genuineness

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messina, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“In search of the missing food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The place is nice but the music reminds an horror movie! Half of what we ordered was unavailable but .... we discovered that the dishes were unavailable only after 45 minutes waiting! The service is awfully slow so get there only if you have a night to spend waiting for unavailable food

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mazal - Juderia also viewed

Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 

Been to Casa Mazal - Juderia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mazal - Juderia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.