We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Paula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Paula to your Saves list
Hotel Don Paula
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Pineda n-2, 14003 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This lovely family-run hotel was the most welcoming place we have ever stayed! Few people in the town seem to speak English but the polite and helpful young men on reception were quite fluent and very keen to offer ideas of the best things to see and do. We took their advice to book a free extra trip that came as part of the two-day tourist bus package - something we would never have spotted on our own. The hotel does not offer meals but it's no problem - the family directed us to a cafe just two minutes away where it was a great start to the day to sit outside with the breakfast of coffee, toast and the most delicious fresh orange juice for a bargain price of 3 Euros 50. We also found a fabulous restaurant for evening meals- Bodegas Mezquita Corregidor - see separate review.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    133
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
332
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel on May 26 and 27, 2013. It was a wonderful stay at every level. The hotel is very much a family affair. The two young gentleman speak English. The entire hotel is spotless. If you are driving they take care of parking, and they even have a video posted on YouTube showing you how to drive directly to the hotel. There is a refrigerator in the room stocked with water, juice and even chocolate milk all free of charge. The hotel does not serve breakfast but a wonderful local café is only a block away. The hotel is in the old city, therefore it is very convenient to walk to all of the sites. If you're going to Córdoba Spain there really isn't any reason to stay anywhere else

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day trip: arriving into Malaga by plane, then train to Cordoba for 3 days (2 nights) before late train to Granada for 3 nights and then by bus onto Salobrena (4 nights), finally back by bus to Malaga. The initial impetus had been Granada for Alhambra & then some relax by the sea but very pleased that we decided to include Cordoba - the Jewish Quarter & the glorious Mezquita (the Western World’s greatest mosque) - recommend that you get your tickets from the machine rather than queue. The Alcazarde los Reyes Christianos and the Palacio Museo de Viana also well worth the meander.

This is very well run and friendly family hotel. The rooms are fine. The free (soft drinks) mini bar and wifi were welcome.

Would return in an instant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Don Paula for 3 nights from 2nd to 5th May 2013 and we were delighted with our choice. The hotel is perfectly located in a quiet corner on the edge of the Jewish Quarter and is within easy walking distance of the Córdoba's historic district and the modern city centre. We asked for a quiet room when making our booking and were allocated Room 8 on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel which fulfilled our request perfectly. The size of the room and bathroom was generous and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. There was a safe, television and free Wi-Fi access in the room (there is also a computer available to guests in the lounge/reception area) and we really appreciated the free soft drinks and bottled water from the mini-bar. Everywhere in the hotel was immaculately clean with simple and tasteful decoration and furnishing; there is also a lift. However, what really makes this hotel special is the friendly and hospitable family that own and run it. Nothing was too much trouble, they were eager to offer advice and recommendations, the sons spoke good English and they even let me practise my Spanish. Clearly they wanted us enjoy our stay and get the best from their city. For us, this type personal service and helpfulness is an essential part of our holiday experience in which Hotel Don Paula excelled and we recommend it without hesitation. Córdoba is a beautiful, fascinating and lively city and, as mentioned by a previous reviewer, it is worthy of much more than a day-trip if you are going to do it full justice. On a general note, when visiting Spain we often look for good quality hostals or budget hotels such as Hotel Don Paula and always use Trip Advisor when making our plans. The reviews of other travellers have been invaluable to us and we have not been let down yet. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The family that runs Hotel Don Paula are very nice. The son speaks perfect English and while the parents do not, they are happy to play charades if need be in order to communicate. It is perfectly located in the historic center. It's very close to all of the action, but at the same time is up about a street from it, so you don't get as much of the tourist foot traffic as you would otherwise. Quick and easy taxi ride from the train station (less than 10 euros). We were given room 2 which was very large by European standards. It was actually handicap accessible, so that may have been why it and the bathroom were so large. Not sure how big the other rooms are, so if you want a larger one, then you may want to request room 2. At first we were worried because it is located right off of the reception area, but there is actually a door and small hallway that separate it from the reception, so we didn't have any problems with noise. Another big perk of Hotel Don Paula is that each room comes with a small refrigerator which guests can use, but they also stock it with free drinks for guests, which was a very pleasant surprise! Our fridge contained 2 bottles of water, 2 juice boxes, and 2 milk boxes. A great bonus! The room also had a safe, which was nice. Overall, I would highly recommend Hotel Don Paula. We felt that it was an excellent value at our rate of 85 euros. Also, the Mezquita in Cordoba is well worth a visit and the cost of admission. Additionally, the tapas bar/restaurant "Bodegas Mezquita" right near the Mezquita was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We found this to be a really friendly, family run hotel. The location is superb - the main attractions of Cordoba are only 6-7 minutes walk away. The room we had was clean and very comfortable with good attention to detail - a free mini bar (soft drinks only) was a nice touch. The young men of the family spoke good English and were very helpful in making suggestions about things to see and directing you towards things like cafes for breakfast. Some reviewers have commented on noise but we found the hotel to be very quiet. I also thought it was good value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent two nights at Hotel Don Paula during the height of (much to our surprise) the Patio Festival. Despite the added throngs, our stay was comfortable and relaxing. As others have said, this is a family run hotel, efficient and old-school in the best way. And the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The location is perfect if you want to be close to all the important sites, but not constantly around the other tourists. Don't miss the wonderful neighborhood (read: less touristy) plazas, cafes, and restaurants that surround Hotel Don Paula. Cordoba is an overlooked gem of a city deserving much more than its typical status as a day-trip destination. You should spend a few nights in Cordoba and definitely stay at Hotel Don Paula.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Paula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Paula

Address: Plaza Pineda n-2, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Paula 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Don Paula, you will benefit from an exclusive location in the extraordinary city of Cordoba, right on the old town. The hotel is located in a small square near the Iglesia de la Trinidad, properly situated between the shopping area and the famous neighbourhood called La Judería, where Jewish population used to live during the Muslim era. This neighbourhood is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site. Thanks to its location, whoever is staying at the hotel may find everything that is interesting to visit in Cordoba really close, such the Mezquita Catedral, The Alcázar de los Reyes Cristianos, The Sinagogue or the main square Las Tendillas, and only five minutes walking from the hotel.You can also find several traditional restaurants as well as shops and businesses surrounding the hotel.The Hotel’s location is well-known as a quiet and familiar environment.The Hotel provides you with 10 rooms, all equipped with bathroom, TV, air condition. There are one public parking at 300 meters from Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Don Paula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Paula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.