We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaltea

Amaltea
Ronda de Isasa 10, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
34 957 491 968
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 483 Restaurants in Cordoba
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We had excellent arugula salads (one with eggplant, one with goat cheese) and fish dishes (one cod, one tuna). While we have had other exceptional dishes on this trip, no other meal has been flawless. The proprietor managed to serve a busy dining room all by herself--she had given her staff the day off for a holiday--in a way that seemed so easy and natural that I asked her if she always handled the room alone. This was the first meal of our trip, and a tough act to follow.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    47
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, great choice for veggies, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Do not be put off by any negative reviews. This place is the real deal if you want very good vegetarian food in Cordoba. It is reasonably priced for food and wine, and very good value. Quantities are plentiful and quality is high.

We have just returned from a wonderful meal there. Roast vegetables, rice and hummus; excellent, pasta with artichokes, rugola and pine notice; delicious. And the cheesecake...one of the best.

Do go, you will not regret it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bit of an odd mix”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I'd seen a review of this restaurant, and thought it looked interesting, but to be honest a lot of the food here was quite peculiar. In particular my partner had the blue cheese and walnut pasta, which sounded good, but had what can only be described as marmalade on it - quite bizarre and unpleasant. Some of the English menu translations are also a little off, desert described as Crème Caramel turned out to be Flan, which isn't quite the same thing. That said, I felt quite sorry for the poor waitress, who clearly should have had more support - there was only one of her for the entire service (something which appears to be quite common in Andalucia, lots of restaurants are short waiting staff).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Enjoyable - again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had been to Amaltea 10 years ago with a young family, had kept a card as we had enjoyed the lovely, subtle, mainly vegetarian food. We were looking forward with a little trepidation to seeing how the restaurant had fared in the ensuing decade. It was as tranquil and high-quality as last time, and the friendly staff were delighted that we had returned after such a long time. I am surprised to read recent reviews as we were very happy that the food was different to the usual Cordoban fare, subtle and clean-tasting ( and plentiful). As vegetarian tourists in Spain, it is normal to get a few ( tasty and typical) choices of meat and fish-free tapas dishes, but it is a refreshing change to go somehere to eat seaweed risotto ( for example). We think ot is worth searching out for and I hope to return to Amaltea in less than a decade!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High prices, low quantities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Went in a group of four on Friday 31 of january 2014. Ordered four dishes to share. All very tasty except the "salad" - at 9 euros and fifty cents it was 99% lettuce and not enough for a small rabbit. The bread put on the table without being ordered was also thin on quantity and was charged at 3 euros and ninety cents. It is the custom in all the restaurants we have been to in Cordoba to put bread on the table without an extra charge, and we have been to many. This is the first time we have left anywhere in Cordoba still feeling hungry. Possibly very fashionable, but very unsatisfying. Try any other restaurant first!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaltea also viewed

Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 

Been to Amaltea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaltea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.