We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Untrustworthy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hospederia Luis de Gongora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hospederia Luis de Gongora to your Saves list
Hospederia Luis de Gongora
1.0 of 5 Inn   |   Horno de la Trinidad St N07, 14003 Cordoba, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Untrustworthy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My previous review was removed because my experience was so bad here that I worded it perhaps too strongly. I'll keep this brief. I do not believe that this hostel is trustworthy. My experience was that having booked a stay here, I arrived late at night to discover that actually they had no room for me. They moved me to a very unpleasant alternative accommodation. I informed them that I wanted to leave as this was not what I had booked. On my return I discovered that I had been charged to my credit card for nights I did not stay, even though they had been unable to provide me the room I had booked. I have tried for several months to recover the money through the travel agent and then the hostel, unsuccessfully.

On these grounds that 1) the room booked was not provided and b) they were unwilling to refund me for nights I did not stay when they did not maintain the booking, I conclude that they are untrustworthy and cannot recommend them.

Doubtless they will complain again about this review - naturally they do not want this story to impact on their reputation and business, I just wish they had thought of that at the time and not now!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis D, Front Office Manager at Hospederia Luis de Gongora, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Dave,

hi again, is the third time you write an opinión about the same reservation and facts.
Regarding again your new opinión, we would like to let you know that we do not have the power to remove opinión from tripadvisor, is only tripadvisor who has the power to do it. Don't you think that it been has been remove after giving them all the evidences and documentation it means that in the real world ( not in your realiaty) you are not right. Or basically your opinión are a true fraud

Anyway, we are really sorry as we has became your obsession, but once again we offer our email address info@hospederialuisdegongora.com to invite everybody to ask for the information about your issue and they will check without any doubt how wrong you are. ( Remember we have all the documentation).

Unfortunately, we have to reply because we have the truth and we are not going to give the chance to publish lies without replying at least

See you until next time you write another opinión (we are sure you will) and we wish a nice week, thanks for keeping us active to improve our service to our customers everyday.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    51
    26
    4
    9
See reviews for
14
76
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very clean and room lovely. I loved the location and could not fault the room or bathroom for the price. I would recommend this to anyone and would stay here again. Albert lovely and even loaned me a hairdryer which was really sweet of him. All in all a really good place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just before Easter and found ourselves immersed in semana santa celebrations. Not being at all religious we loved being in the old town right in amongst the processions and celebrations and the history of Cordoba. It was an easy walk through the park from the station. The reception guy was polite not very chatty but we loved Cordoba old town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very good location to visit Cordoba. But rather noisy and no parking in the neighbourhood, only a parking garage for 16 euro per day. Small rooms and bathrooms. Th personnel was friendly and there is a automate for drinks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a superb hostal this is. More than adequate room super comfortable bed, flat screen t.v. plenty of towels, toiletries and spotlessly clean. Very helpful person on the desk. For basic accomodation, it was faultless.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

exelent location, in the old town. nice restarantes & bars nearby
very clean, comfortble rooms although small. cheap prices.
the Wi-Fi sometimes has difficulties in the rooms but fine downstairs.
there are public parkings 200 meters nearby. no need for car in the old allies

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It’s close enough to walk from the train station as well as into old town for all the best sites and restaurants. Rooms are charming, quiet, and spotless. Rooms were a great deal and we would definitely stay again next time in Cordoba.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospederia Luis de Gongora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia Luis de Gongora

Address: Horno de la Trinidad St N07, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hospederia Luis de Gongora 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospederia Luis de Gongora is located in the historic area of the city. The property is in a callejita next to beautiful Trinity Church and School of Fine Arts of Cordoba, just in the city center of Cordoba, joining the commercial area and the famous Jewish Quarter. This area is declared by UNESCO as World Heritage section. The Hospederia takes its name from adjacent house where he lived and died the poet and playwright Luis de Gongora , maximum exponent of the literary movement known as culteranismo in the Spanish Golden Century. Thanks to its location, customers have all the main tourist attractions and monuments of city like the Mosque-Cathedral, Alcazar of Christian Kings, Synagogue or the Roman Bridge, all of them are 2 minutes walking distance around the property. There are also bars, restaurants and shops next to la Hospederia. The property has 19 rooms, all with private bathroom, TV, radio, air-conditioning, heater system and free Internet access. It also has a nice patio and lounge for its clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hospederia Luis de Gongora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospederia Luis de Gongora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.