We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price/Quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Maxx Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Maxx Hotel to your Saves list
Steigenberger Maxx Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stauffenbergstrasse 59, 07747 Jena, Thuringia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Jena
Jena
1 review
“Price/Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Price/Quality relationship very good for the room and facilities.
Price/Quality relationship average for the breakfast.

At night a littlebit too warm, opening of door of balcony: more noise.
(I was in two different rooms)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    33
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
2
10
12
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

On arrival, you are greeted by an imposing, less than comforting exterior but the mood soon changes as you step inside. The staff are friendly and pleasant and will even lend you a phone charger if you ask nicely!

On to the room. There is no air conditioning but my room did have a large, if slow ceiling fan. The bathroom is nicely appointed and clean and the minibar is relatively cheap - a bottle of beer was €2,-

Breakfast was very good, typical German faire.

The Biergarten next door was rather good too; handy, really as the bar is rarely open in the hotel.

Hotel Maxx is on the outskirts of Jena so the free tram travel is a real blessing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel would not have been my first choice as it is some way out in the suburbs and I only booked here as all the central hotels were already full with guests for the Kultur Festival late July - early Aug. which I was unaware of. We stayed here for 2 nights late July and the staff were efficient and welcoming. The city centre is a 20 min tram drive away and the trams run every few minutes from very early to very late. There are various lines and the room key allows unlimited travel on public transport from the time you check in to the day you leave so if you take advantage, it's very good value. If you want the quickest journey, take tram no 4. We booked 2 double rooms which were clean, roomy, and had a good shower which was much appreciated as it was 37 degrees when we stayed. Can't comment on the restaurant, 13 euros for breakfast seemed a bit steep, but talking to other guests they did not feel ripped off as they said that the spread was amazing, we ate out all the time. Our towels were changed daily and the room tidied and vacuumed.

Only downside was that there was no aircon. and that the trains / tram could be heard throughout the night. It was so hot that sleeping was uncomfortable. It was 36 degrees during the day and not much cooler at night and the room fan in 1 of the rooms made such a noise that it was preferable to have it switched off. If I were to stay again, I would request a room on the far side from the restaurant

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on business and found the hotel accommodating and friendly. The hotel claims to be classic American but I would say it's not quite hitting the mark and could do with a bit of modernisation.

The rooms are of a good size, light and airy. My room overlooked the garden and I was also close to the tram line but this didn't disturb my sleep at all.

The receptionists were all very helpful and spoke very good English. There is chargeable parking at the hotel, which is a safe underground car park.

We ate on the first night, I had a burger which was ok but nothing more than a sit down MacDonalds with steak cut chips - although the chips had a lot of salt on them!

Again the service was very good and the staff friendly.

Breakfast was ok but nothing to be too inspired about. It did not live up to the evening dinner.

The bonus of this hotel is that the room key gains free entry onto the tram system, which is very good. Our keys weren't actually checked so I am not sure how it is all policed. The tram goes straight into the centre of Jena and is easy to follow.

All in all a good stay but would probably only stay here again if the Steingerberger in the centre was full up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is not in the centre of Jena but outside in Lobeba. Travel to and from The centre is about 20mins with the tram. Watch that some trams go in a different direction towards the centre. When I stayed, the room card gave you free travel on the tram.
The hotel is an older style of hotel but the rooms are comfortable. The food is excellent especially breakfast. There is a nice garden to the rear of the hotel. The area is quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear have a good view of the garden area and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice hotel... 40's atmosphere. Good restaurant, breakfast and service. And obviously... good beer.
As always, the internet problem. for some reason it is quite expensive... come on... include it in the fare.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodmin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

20th August, prepaid on a Great Escapes Battlefield tour with the War Research Sociey. The bedrooms were large, airy and roomy. The balcony double doors can opened fully, which is needed as in the heat it badly needs air conditioning, the roof fan is slow and has only one speed slow! Also extra pillows are needed as they are very thin. The staff though were polite, professional and efficent. Try the Biergarten just down the road 2 mins, it's 2 euros a large glass.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Maxx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Maxx Hotel

Address: Stauffenbergstrasse 59, 07747 Jena, Thuringia, Germany
Location: Germany > Thuringia > Jena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Jena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Maxx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Maxx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Maxx Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.