We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zentral gelegen, großzügige Zimmer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kaiserhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kaiserhof to your Saves list
Hotel Kaiserhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wartburgallee 2, 99817 Eisenach, Thuringia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Eisenach
Bonn, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Zentral gelegen, großzügige Zimmer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Ideal für eine Nacht auf dem Rückweg von Thüringen oder zum Start in den Thüringer Wald. Freundlicher Empfang. Das nach hinten gelegene Businesszimmer (geringer Mehrpreis) im 4. Stock war sehr licht , ruhig, geräumig und mit bequemen Betten ausgestattet. Solides Frühstück.. Tipp: Wem das selbstgemachte Holunderblütengelee besonders gut schmeckt, kann es am Empfang kaufen. Empfehlenswert auch das im Haus gelegene ratskellerartige Restaurant "Zwinger" Tipp: Versuchen Sie statt des schwarzen einmal das blonde Köstritzer Bier....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the end of February and had booked a superior double. The room was ok but pretty much all rooms face the noisy main street so despite double glazing try to get a higher floor. The bed was on the small side and not very comfortable, the bathroom didnt have a tub. I'm a big fan of German breakfeast buffets but this one was a little disappointing. Which kind of summarises this hotel - good but not exciting in any way. Should have 3 stars not 4.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The hotel enjoys a central location in the nice little town of Eisenach, with most sights within walking distance (except the castle, which is quite far-flung). The hotel itself is a pretty dignified building and offers decently furnished but small (really small) rooms, with hardly any space to move around. This was the case for most of my colleagues, but fortunately for me, I was given a corner room which was substantially larger.
The amenities and facilities were just the bare essential - breakfast was sufficient but could have been better. The biggest turn-off was the wifi internet - which was given free, but was not usable in the rooms. We had to come out into the corridor (in which they had furnished a couple of chairs, probably unintentionally).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We booked one of the packages advertised on the hotel's homepage for 2 nights, including two dinners. It was rather pricey, so we expected nicely furnished rooms and excellent food.

It was a bit of a disappointment, but not a total disaster. Rooms were okay, though very small and the bathroom wasn't very pretty or spacious either. Everything is a bit worn and in need of refurbishment.

Service, especially front-desk are kind and helpful. We were a bit taken aback as they didn't inform us prior to our arrival that the second night dinner (advertised in the package) in one of the finer dining choices (Turmschänke) was not available. They just rescheduled us for the in-house restaurant where the food wasn't bad, but just something completely different or not comparable.

On the plus side, the hotel is centrally located.

Overall, just average and a bit overpriced when booking the package (Natur Pur).

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed here when visiting my sister. I don't think we were just lucky, but our room was much larger than I had expected, with a nice sitting area that one usually doesn't expect except in a junior suite. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the room decor trod a satisfying middle ground between the neutral colours that make corporate hotels so soulless and the full-on opulence that makes many European hotel rooms nauseating. The bathroom was adequate for our needs. The breakfast was very formal but the choice was very good - standard for a 4 star hotel, but not standard for a small-town 4 star hotel.

We were there over the football world-cup so the bar was often taken over by a huge screen showing the matches involving Germany and Austria. Even when Germany lost, however, there was no rowdiness and the bar kept serving us as if we were their top priority. The staff had some trouble speaking English, so we relied on my broken German, which was the only thing I expected to be better at this hotel.

Given that we paid 92 euro a night, I was very impressed indeed with this delightful hotel. I heartily recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

The Kaiserhof has a perfectly good location, but it's a bit soulless. Room was rather poky, with one side of the double bed (actually very comfortable) jammed up tight against the wall, and too gloomy to read in properly. The breakfast room is sepulchral, like some large corporate meeting room, though the breakfast itself was fine. OK for one night, but not really somewhere I'd recommend.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

The Kaiserhof is one of the closest hotels to the train station in Eisenach, so that is a plus. Also, it is a historic hotel, boasting a long history of powerful guests throughout its decades-long service to the city. The structure is commanding both in and out; the lobby is well-apportioned and clean, and the grand staircase indicates the prestige the hotel once had. However, the entire hotel had a musty smell, as if it had too much smoke and mildew. And the rooms -- at least my single room -- were not impressive at all. My room was small and cramped with too much furniture, leaving little space to move around. The large window was nice, though the view was of a construction site (not in the hotel's control, I know). The bathroom was roomy enough. The location is pretty good: it is within walking distance of Eisenach's shopping area, though the town square is about a half-mile away. The staff were a little cold, but not rude, and the breakfast was decent. Overall, it was an OK place to stay for one night. I spent a week at the Schlosshotel in Eisenach, which I much preferred.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kaiserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaiserhof

Address: Wartburgallee 2, 99817 Eisenach, Thuringia, Germany
Location: Germany > Thuringia > Eisenach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Eisenach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaiserhof 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kaiserhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiserhof Hotel Eisenach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kaiserhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.