We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but a bit pricey for 2 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel zur alten Stadtmauer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel zur alten Stadtmauer to your Saves list
Hotel zur alten Stadtmauer
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   An der Mauer 57, 23552 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Lubeck B&B and Inns
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Top Contributor
490 reviews 490 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but a bit pricey for 2 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent 3 nights at zur Alten Stadtmauer a couple weeks ago. It was our fourth stay at the hotel so you can tell, we do like the hotel. We were in room 11 (an upgraded "comfort" room) this time. I believe we paid about Euro 94 a night for the room (plus Lubeck's recent 5% tourist tax) and Euro 5 a night for parking. The room was large, bright, very clean, and quite comfortable with a couch and a couple of chairs along with a table. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom very, very clean. Overall, we really enjoyed the hotel. I think it's overpriced by about Euro 10 a night. But still, a decent value and really nice room. Our only complaints with the room itself were: the sink in the bathroom was tiny -- the size we have in our 1/2 bath at home. It was usable; just very small. And the shower has a curtain. While it was very clean; ugh, it's a curtain while many of the other rooms have the normal enclosed showers with doors.

Breakfast is huge and has many, many different offerings including your choice of cooked eggs. I've seen a couple of posters complain about the breakfast -- I don't understand their complaints in the least. The selection of breads, cheeses, meats, veggies, cereals, etc is one of the best buffets we've encountered.

Parking is Euro 5 a night and well worth the cost to avoid trying to find free spaces (which are all reserved for local residents) on the streets or a public lot. Don't bother; spend the 5 a night and walk the 200 meters to the lot.

I'm not positive we'll return to zur alten Stadtmauer due to the cost. We looked at a couple of ferienwohnung hauses around zur alten Stadtmauer and might go that route for our next visit...

Room Tip: Upgrade to a comfort room for 10 a night. The rooms are much larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    28
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
37
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011 via mobile

Jouluinen vierailu kahden vuoden välein - eikä mikään ole muuttunut! :) Paikka hurmaa lämminhenkisyydellään, rauhallisuudellaan, puhtaudellaan ja pikkuhotellien sarjassa jättiläismäisellä aamiaispöydällään.

Väliin varoittava sananen: Talo on vanha, eli hissiä ei ole (mutta huoneita neljässä kapeassa kerroksessa kyllä!). Talvisaikaan huoneet aluksi kylmiä, mutta keskuslämmitys on todella tehokas! Huonevarauksessa kerran ollut sekaannusta, mutta ei mitään mitä ei heti saisi selvitettyä.

Teknisesti hotelli on kahden tähden hotelli (ei hissiä, osassa huoneita ei omaa vessaa) mutta ilmapiirillään ja ekstra-avuliaisuudellaan ansaitsisi enemmän!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I booked a room for 1 night this summer and since I liked it so much and wanted to see some more places in the vicinity I decided to spend a second night there as well,which wasn't a problem.The room I had the first night was already booked for the second night but another less expensive room was available upstairs, so everything worked out fine.The location is close to the old town and various restaurants but if you have a lot of luggage you're better off taking a taxi or bus from the Hauptbahnhof.The bus stop is conveniently right around the corner from the hotel.The staff whom I met were extremely friendly and helpful, which made the stay even more enjoyable.I would gladly stay there again the next time I'm in Lubeck.

Room Tip: If you would like a less expensive room, rooms with a wc/shower in the corridor are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

if you are travelling to lubeck for a short holiday break then you have to stay in this family run hotel. Hendrik, the husband is from the Netherland (Holland to you and me), as a result you will find that the hotel and it's rooms do have a touch of the royal dutch orange colour. A nice man-very amicable and very knowledgeable about the city and the surrounding area. Silka the wife is also very nice. Both of them will do anything to make you stay in the hotel a memberable one. The staff- all young and egar are a treat. all speak fluent english. I have been using this hotel for ten years and believe me it is alway the same reception, very warm and welcoming. i have always said that what this lovely couple and family do not know about lubeck and the surrounding area isn't worth knowing.

Room Tip: if you are young and fit try the top floor. small single rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We just stayed 3 nights there this month and had a great time, the place is close to everything, great just great breakfast buffet, no hazel check in and out, clean spotless rooms, nice workers i think that was actually the owner we meet, if we come back up we would stay there again.

There is a plan for the future for a elevator but until then stairs... great view from our room
preis leistung verhaltnis ausgezeichnet

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Pros:
great location easy walking distance to old town restaurants etc. Parking available in an open carpark for 5 euro a night.

Cons:
Owner we found brusque, verging on rude.
The internet did not work for our entire stay despite assertions on checking in that it did.
Response enquiring of the owner again in the morning was that 'it usually works' - not exactly useful!!

Breakfast very nice but nowhere near what is described by other reviewers (I assume the quality has changed)

The stairs and awkward room/shower layout make it unsuitable for older people or anyone with a mobility problem.

And don't expect there to be any internet service!

The narrow street the hotel is situated on (An der Mauer) has 2 separate one way sections. Try to work out which direction to approach it in a car in advance. Otherwise you may end up driving around Lubeck quite a bit trying to get the right direction to approach it, like we did!

Conclusion: Next time in Lubeck we'll take one of the smaller hotels instead, at 98 euro per night it was not particularly good value.

Room Tip: Check how many steps you have to climb to your room! For ours on the 4th floor there were over 65 st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Pros:
Great location
A clean room&bath
Great staff & service
Good breakfast
Reasonable price
Cons:
None to us, but for disabled people there might be.

Room Tip: Consult the staff. They will guide you, also with respect to Lübeck itself! Listen to their advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel zur alten Stadtmauer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zur alten Stadtmauer

Address: An der Mauer 57, 23552 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Lubeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lubeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel zur alten Stadtmauer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel zur alten Stadtmauer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel zur alten Stadtmauer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.