We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel close to town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiserhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kaiserhof to your Saves list
Kaiserhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kronsforder Allee 11-13 | St. Jürgen, 23560 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 57 Hotels in Lubeck
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average hotel close to town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I have been there a couple of times. It is a bit dated and has the charm of the late 70ies. The plus is the friendly staff, they are helpful and always on top of things. The rooms hover are not that great. The beds need an overhaul, only a very thin feather pillow and very hard mattresses. It is ok to stay here but to advertise the starts as they do is not realistic and I have to subtract points hence the average rating.

Room Tip: The annex building is slightly better than the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    12
    1
    6
See reviews for
10
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Really, shag carpeting and BRIGHT Ronald McDonald RED SHAG Carpeting... once I got over that (not completely sure I am, yet...) the hotel was fine. nothing fancy, clean rooms, quiet suburb which was a short walking distance from the old city center, across a bridge or two (15 minutes) with safe street-side parking (for free). Breakfast was good, nothing fancy. And it ends on-time, so don't expect a leisurely morning. I guess this is what you get when you roll into Lubeck and book on short notice - every other hotel on booking dot com was sold out for families... really my only regret was that I never took any pictures of the shag carpeting on the bed (yeah, can you believe that?) & walls... I must've been too tired, sorry!

Room Tip: bring your own rake, for the shag!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We decided to cut our journey from Brussels to Copenhagen and decided to find a hotel in Lübeck. We found this hotel thanks to Tripadvisor. We were not dissappointed.

The hotel is close to the center of the city and you will get there by foot in 5'.
We opted to eat at one the local taverns sitting outside under a tree (sorry forgot the name).

No problem to park your car outside either. Very safe. You can walk back to the hotel after dark.

The room was very calm with a good bed on the garden side. We slept very well after having driven 7 hours.

The breakfast was a surprise ! Excellent quality and very friendly staff.

Excellent choice. Price/quality ration is very good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgique
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Not far from the old town of Lübeck the Kaiserhof is very nice and quiet but , as in many older buildings , you need some luck to get the nicest room. Mine was under the roof and could be very hot .The weather had cooled a bit and there wasn't any problem of that kind.The pillow was awfully thin and after asking for , I received a somewhat better one .It was very quiet on my side of the hotel but I had no view of the garden,no terrace, contrary to some of my friends On the other hand my single room offered a couch , 2 armchairs and space.There was no air-co ,no minibar but some room service.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

spend two nights at hotel kaisehof - this hot july 2010 .Got a very small roof room with to singel beds, with a nice bathroom. Nice indoorpool. Enjoying a beer in the garden after a swim in the pool is a must.. Room prices at Kaiserhof it a bit of a jungel - im still confused but we paid 87 euro a nigth..after a debat at receptionen.. not that nice as exit ..German breakfast is incl.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We loved the location. The elevator worked...sometimes. It is a little run down, but has charm and personality. Our room was clean, really large with a big bathroom.

The public rooms were lovely. We liked the tiny bar, beautiful dining room ( didn't eat there), and breakfast room. The breakfast room is beautiful and the all you can eat breakfast was terrific. They really try hard. Didn't run into another English speaker in the place which is really OK.

Take a walk around the block and see large beautiful homes. A block from the hotel is a wonderful Saturday Market. The Musuem is just blocks away and the historic buildings are charming and beautiful.

The pool and Spa area are tiny and MOLDY. Oh well. Very old fashioned natatorium in the basement.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

We stayed at the Kaiserhof for the last night of our trip to Germany. We booked in advance and stayed in the apartments in the next street, although some of the reviews we read prior to arriving were less than complimentary. However, when we got into our accommodation it was newly decorated, clean, had a nice bathroom with lovely shower and all in a very quiet street. We went in into the hotel to use the pool which was nice but a bit too cold for a little boy(18 months), and also for the buffet breakfast in the morning which was excellent.

It's about a ten minute walk into the town centre, and only a ten minute cab ride to the airport. Couldn't fault the hotel, the staff or the town. Would def use again.

  • Liked — cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaiserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserhof

Address: Kronsforder Allee 11-13 | St. Jürgen, 23560 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Lubeck
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lubeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaiserhof 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kaiserhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiserhof Hotel lübeck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiserhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.