We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new years evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel to your Saves list
Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bismarckallee 2, 24105 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Kiel
horsens, denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“new years evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

everything perfect - as usual - fair prices - excellent food and service - everybody smiling but 100% professionel. The breakfast/brunch is one of the best you can get.
the superior rooms have a great sea-view.

Room Tip: superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    31
    34
    10
    11
See reviews for
14
45
8
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Celje, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed two nights with our sport team, excelent food service, rooms are clean. I have nice view from my room on seaside. Only wireless internet is too expensive. Hotel personal is friendly. I recommend this hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostertag, Manager at Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Mr Feldin,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We appreciate your positive comments related to our rooms and the kitchen. Referring the internet, we hope that our business center (free of charge for our guests) will be more convenient for you during your next stay with us. But once again, thank you for your five tripadvisor points We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel

Joachim Ostertag
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night in August, at a low rate through hotels.com. The room we booked was supposedly a junior suite, but a suite with a seaview is a proper description. There was a large bedroom, with a sleeping alcove just outside, a large living room with two sitting areas and plenty of space for two extra beds and a cot. There was also a fully-equipped kitchenette, a bathroom with a bidet, and a balcony with plastic furniture. 

The decor was very 70s, with lobster wallpaper in the hall. The bathroom surprised me by having both an ashtray and matches, something I haven't seen in years. 

The hotel restaurant appeared to have a limited dinner menu, and it was too pricy for our children, who don't eat much, so we went out to eat. We tried out the restaurant at breakfast. The selection was ample, but the staff took a very long time to refill the cooked options, which delayed our departure. 

Despite the breakfast, I'd be happy to stay here again. 

Room Tip: The junior suites are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostertag, Manager at Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear guest from Oslo,

Thank you for posting such a personal review of our hotel. Actually its history goes back to the 19th century (first opening 1846) and we are very proud of the today's design of the 1970's. But not only the interior and the views from the rooms on the firth of Kiel made the hotel so popular – it was first of all the hotel's employees. And this is why your review was a good reason for me to remind especially the breakfast team at the monthly meeting to stay more attentively. Your posting was very helpul for us! But once again, thank you for your so positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel

Joachim Ostertag
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oppegard
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Truly enjoyed this hotel.built in the early seventies and renovated in the same style.much wooden panels give it a cozy feel.paid some extra for a room with a view of the fjord.lovely to sit on the balcony and watch the ships.will definitely come back to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostertag, Manager at Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear guest from Oslo,

Thank you for posting such a personal review of our hotel. Actually its history goes back to the 19th century (first opening 1846) and we are very glad to have kept the design of the 1970's. In Kiel, we are proud to be “a little legend”. And you really got in touch with the hotel an felt its vibes. We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay! But once again, thank you for your so positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. For your next reservation directly on the firth of Kiel, please do not hesitate to call me directly under my direct extension +49 (0) 431 / 3894 710.

Kind regards
Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel

Joachim Ostertag
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Its a old german Hotel from the seventies - the best time is over. The pool is simple a swimming-water - wellness and nice ambient --> indication error.
Rooms without aircondition - if you need fresh air you have a lot of chore midges inside.
Service personal is friendly - but does not see the dusty corners.
Cobwebbed upper windows, not very clean glass, old, visible used inventory. My personal opinion: too expensive. And booking system: very bad - because I reserved via internet and payed with credit card three nights and would leave after the first night - but have to pay all three nights! Incredible.
I can not advice hotel and booking service "easytobook.com".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostertag, Manager at Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear guest,

our goal is, to even top every guests expectations. I apologize for having even disappointed yours. Mainly, you criticized the age of our hotel. Actually its history goes back to the 19th century (first opening 1846) and we are very proud of the today's design of the 1970's. In Kiel, we are even called “a little legend”. But what I found terrible were your descriptions about the dirt – we are known to clean far, far better! This is why, I would like to ask you, to make your next reservation calling me directly. Please do not hesitate to call me under my direct extension +49 (0) 431 / 3894 710. I really would like to improve your impressions about our hotel.

Kind regards
Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel

Joachim Ostertag
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

An old hotel, 70's style hotel. Clean rooms and a good bar. The personell should have take a course in service.... Nice view over Kiel Harbour.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostertag, Manager at Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear guest from Las Vegas,

Thank you for your short review of our hotel. Our goal is, to even top every guest's expectations. I apologize for having disappointed yours. You praise the hotel itself, but you wrote, that the staff “should have a course in service.” Actually we do train our employees a lot. So it would be very helpful, if you wrote an email or gave me a call, what precisely went wrong during your stay. I really would like to improve the hotel by learning from your impressions and remain

with best regards

Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel

Joachim Ostertag
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

A very quirky hotel- but really good. We arrived on spec and had no reservation but a decent price was offered including breakfast, but that turned out to be an expensive add on and we could have had the room cheaper. The decor in the reception area is like those hotels in the early Bond films: 1950's glamour, modernist style. It's not to everyone's taste but it is clean and tidy. The rooms are either with a sea view or not; ours didn't have a sea view but was still nice. The bathroom however was really quite interesting in that it had pink and green tiling floor and walls! And the toilet it, well, high. A small stepladder could have assisted!!!

Dinner in the hotel is quite an experience with superb attention to detail by the staff and old style good service. I haven't seen a silver dish covering a plate for a long time. But it was very very nice food. Germanic menu so don't expect many vegetables!

The pool and sauna are old fashioned and in need of an upgrade but the changing area is clean and modern.

Breakfast is expensive and there is a lot of food- it's clearly something of a local institution- if you prefer a light snack and coffee, go elsewhere, but otherwise an excellent selection.

Overall a nice night in a comfortable, dated, good quality hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostertag, Manager at Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear guest,

first of all, I do not want to miss to thank you for visiting our hotel in Kiel. Besides that we are really happy that you judge our hotel offers in a positive way. I first had to look up the meaning of the word “quirky” but then I could not stop smiling. So your reaction motivates us to go on in that way and improve constantly.

Kind regards,

Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel

Joachim Ostertag
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel

Address: Bismarckallee 2, 24105 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Kiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Kiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.