We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful with late reservation cancellation!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantic Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Raiffeisenstrasse 2, 24103 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Kiel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Be careful with late reservation cancellation!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have reserved a room at this hotel for 3 nights from 8th to 11th of December. Unfortunately, I could not make the trip because of emergency health reasons. Cancelling till 6 p.m. on 8th of Dec was free of charge; however, I could cancel on 9th of Dec morning. The hotel has first told me that their policy is to charge %90 of the TOTAL amount for three nights. After many discussions, reservation manager Ms. Kunkel could not help, instead she said they are not able to lose revenue, because of the different traveling behavior of guests.

Then, I contacted Hotel Manager Mr. Blasberg, and he helped to make it %90 of 2 nights TOTAL amount, rather than 3 nights. It was good of him, thanks to him, to make discount even though the reservation manager said it is impossible.

Well, policy is policy, but generally the hotels charge one night and cancels the reservation.

Be careful and do not forget to cancel on time or do not ever have emergency case, or accept to pay a lot.

Thanks God, my reservation was for 3 nights; I cannot imagine if it was for 10 days. Actually, I asked this question to Mr. Blasberg, the Hotel Manager, but he preferred not to answer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticHotelKiel, Manager at Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,

nachweislich hat Herr E. nicht in unserem Hause genächtigt und er benutzt dieses Portal für seine eigenen, zweifelhaften Zwecke.
Wir möchten ergänzen, dass er diesen Schritt angedroht hat, für den Fall, dass wir nicht 100%ig in seinem Interesse handeln.
Das sind Methoden, von denen wir uns distanzieren.

Mit freundlichem Gruß aus Kiel
Ihr
Frank Blasberg
Direktor
ATLANTIC Hotel Kiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    53
    10
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
50
16
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

It's a brand new hotel that will date really badly. On the design front they've tried far too hard with, for example, big green glass panels in bathrooms that will look awful within 3 years.

The accommodation doesn't feel in any way warm, cosy or welcoming, but the big rooms do their room extremely efficiently. If you just want a business hotel it's perfect: if you're here privately it disappoints.

Breakfast was excellent, as was dinner (though again the restaurant atmosphere is bland and unwelcoming).

The staff were as cold as everything else: a perfect match for the characterless place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticHotelKiel, Manager at Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear PeterEde7,
we are glad to know that you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner in our restaurant Pier 16 and therefore we say "Thank you".
Using insulting language towards people doing a very good job in our hospitality business should not be part of a rating - it makes a comment just trashy.
Kind regards,

Frank Blasberg
General Manager
ATLANTIC Hotel Kiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel waiting for the boat to Oslo the next day.
The rooms are quite big and very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location excellent very clost to the harbour. We had dinner in the restaurant, and the food and the service were great. The breakfast was also top notch. In sum a very nice hotel well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticHotelKiel, Manager at Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Sveinung Grant,
thanks a lot for your very good reference and we hope that you had a nice trip to oslo. We wish you all the best and would appreciate it welcoming you here once again.

Your "very nice hotel",

Frank Blasberg
General Manager
ATLANTIC Hotel Kiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend. We had a smokers room which did not have an ash tray which was rather annoying and is kind of weird too. The hotel is very close to the city centre, taxis, railway and harbour. The hotel seemed clean and quiet. The breakfast was very nice. Although we found the staff was a bit snobby when we asked where the cutlery would be and we just a rather looking down on us reply that it was at the table, this was before we were seated.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticHotelKiel, Manager at Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Jonavfc85,
thanks for your response with good references and a surprising complaint.
The reason for having no ashtrays in our guest room is that we do not have any smokers guest rooms at all and smoking inside is not allowed.
We think that smoke is not in line with the aim to have a good and healthy sleep, especially for non-smoking guests following you.
Kind regards,
Frank Blasberg
General Manager
ATLANTIC Hotel Kiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Adjacent to the railway station, it is within walking distance of many sights. It is modern, very clean and has a nice ambiance. My room was right on the square opposite the railway station, and I was surprised at how quiet it was at night.
The restaurant was expensive but worth the price with some very well cooked and presented food. The buffet breakfast was terrific.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticHotelKiel, Manager at Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Ainsley M,

thank you very much for your very good reference and we guess you enjoyed your stay here very much.
Our "excellent hotel" is looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and till then we wish you a wonderful time.
Kind regards,

Frank Blasberg
General Manager
ATLANTIC Hotel Kiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Well worth your Money, if you want to stay in a modern clean hotel. It has all the Things you could want, gym, spa, good restaurant, wine cellar, good bar, parking, central location, free WiFi. What more could you want? Yes you could want a top notch breakfast, the hotel has that too. In fact the breakfast is so good that it is difficult not to overeat.
The staff is polite and efficient so I recomend this hotel despite the price. have stayed there on at least three occasions,
we will definetively go back there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticHotelKiel, Manager at Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Sailing365,

thanks a lot for your very good recommendation and we are really happy about your comments like "polite and efficient". That's our goal to act like this.
We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards,
Frank Blasberg
General Manager
ATLANTIC Hotel Kiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent 1 night here on our way to Denmark. It was a fairly pricey option - 2 rooms (one standard, one superior) cost £290 for both - but we stopped off last minute, so not really a surprise.
We were blown away by the hotel, which is right by the harbour and opposite the train station. Beautiful room with everything you could need - comfy bed, lovely soft pillows, spotlessly clean and an amazing shower in the rather super bathroom. All new and fresh and sparkly.
The roof terrace bar was another winner, we had some lovely cocktails watching the sun set - it's a great place to unwind after a day travelling.
We also ate in the hotel restaurant, which was also excellent - as another reviewer said, the Caesar salad with beef was excellent. My dad had gherkin soup - unusual but very tasty! We also loved the smokers bar where we could smoke our cigarettes in the comfort of a nice, sealed room and not upset other diners.
It was an expensive experience but very well worth it for a lovely experience.
We had a fantastic nights sleep and were sad to leave this lovely hotel behind. Thank you Atlantic Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticHotelKiel, Manager at Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear CJTraveller28,

"we had some lovely cocktails watching the sun set - it's a great place to unwind after a day travelling".
There is no better way to describe your feeling here - thank you very much for this response. We really appreciate it and we promise you that we will carry on like this.
All the best for you and all of you travelling together. Thank you to YOU.
Yours
Frank Blasberg
General Manager
ATLANTIC Hotel Kiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Address: Raiffeisenstrasse 2, 24103 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Kiel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Kiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atlantic Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ATLANTIC Hotel Kiel is the first address for your business or private trip to Kiel, right at the heart of the city centre. This superior hotel will transform your visit to Kiel into a veryspecial experience. The hotel has spacious, stylish furnished bedrooms, a restaurant with nordic and international cuisine, an excellent wine cellar and a roof lounge bar with open air lounge and a stunning view across the Kiel fjord. Eight modern and spacious function and conference rooms can be booked for events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.