We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Kiel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Kiel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Kiel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamburger Chaussee 2, 24114 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Kiel
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“OK for overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We came by car from Klaipeda ferry and needed a hotel with the parking lot and wifi. There are not so many choices in Kiel as you might think. We are familiar with the Best Western and would not have picked it but as we got a free night option from the hotel.com, we decided to spend it in BW. It could be actually quite good hotel but their interior design. It was just so unbelievable tacky. If you do not know how to match the colors and patterns, leave it neutral and simple. Cheap marble imitation in bathrooms was ok maybe in 80-es. Maybe. Etc. Otherwise, bed was good, room was big and clean, parking was free and breakfast was rather good. Wifi worked only in the lobby and was quite slow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    40
    21
    5
See reviews for
13
40
4
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The only downside to this hotel is that it's about five or so blocks from the Central Train Station--a 20 minute walk. Otherwise, it was superb. I got a suite on the second floor, and it was one of the nicest I've ever stayed in. Hardwood floors, spacious, a comfortable settee, nice big screen TV. Bathroom was a little small. The breakfast buffet is superb. The front desk were sometimes sticklers for protocol, (a little anal at times), but sometimes they could bend and be flexible--Herr Christian (I forget his last name) was particularly helpful, as was Frau Kunstmann. The bicycles rent for 5 euros/day. This hotel seemed to be punching above Best Western weight (although Best Westerns in Europe seem to be better than in America and Canada). All in all, this was a 4 star stay for me.

Room Tip: The second floor suite facing the street is majestic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Pros:
Low Cost
Reasonably well located - 15 minute walk to city centre and train station
Quiet (if not facing road)
Large rooms
Very comfortable beds
Parking in hotel grounds
Clean and well looked after
Great reception staff
All night reception for late arrivals
Good (but not great) buffet breakfast
Cheap "business package" for breakfast and parking#


Cons:
Tiny gym

Room Tip: I wish there were hotels like this in Brussels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel clearly remembers better times. We were given a junior suite - we were issued a traditional key, the electronic key-card reader on the door being broken. Once inside the furniture was visibly old and in places worn, the bathroom although clean was positively decrepit - the shower doors didn't completely close and the water temperature did jump from cold to boiling making showering an interesting exercise. There were holes in the walls left by fixtures long gone etc. Breakfast was also not as good as in Andel's the day before, with limited selection and slow service - we had to ask to get them to re-fill the jug with milk, bring new pastry etc. The only positive thing was the young lady who apparently was the only staff the hotel had on Sunday evenings and who was quite helpful and polite.

Sadly, this experience is yet another I have from this chain. I don't know what is the reason behind it, but it seems Best Western's policy right now is to have worn, rundown facilities at relatively high price. We did get the junior suite at €120, it is not much less than what we have paid at Andel's in Berlin the night before for a room that was way, way better than what we did get here. Most Ibis hotels I used looked way better than this for less.

In short: don't go there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Easy to reach from the Autobahn into Kiel. Spacious rooms, but some of the rooms seemed worn out - they may have refurnished some of the rooms.

Staff was not very friendly when we arrived - upon arrival we were told that although we had specifically booked rooms with twin beds they only had double bed rooms. There were not much understanding at first, only "sorry but this is what we have" and then "OK, we can fix it in 2-3 hours". Arriving after a 8 hour drive at 9 PM this was annoying to say the least. In the end it turned out that they were wrong - our rooms were in fact twin bed. Got free breakfast both days for this.

Wifi were available, but on our floor only one of the 2 hotspots actually had a connection. You had to sit on a specific location in the room to get a signal.

Rooms were basic but no more. Parking in the back, but only 6 spots - far to little space for parking. They shared the lot with other companies, so the one place we found actually did not belong to the hotel. On the door there was notice saying parking was 7 Euros/night, in the room info folder it said "free parking in the back". We didn´t pay any parking fees, though.

In a hotel of this type one would expect some english knowlegde - at least basic. But in the restaurant at breakfast the maid didn´t understand the word "spoon"...Coffee pots were left on the tables from 6.30, and by 9 you can imagine how his coffee was. Breakfast was OK.

All in all OK, but needs a "facelift" and maybe a course in customer courtesy and some language training.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We booked a double room for one night from this hotel on the same day we arrived. Hotel has a dedicated free parking area, but it is quite limited. The reception staff was professional but seemed quite busy, however they politely asked all tourist questions I had.

The double on the second floor was spacious and clean. However there was a weird chemical smell near the bed's headboard. The bed itself was comfortable and pillows were good too. For some reason we had an extra bed in our room even though we didn't request one. Also it seems this room was one that could be connected to another room as there was a door on the wall. I think one could see through the keyhole on that door to the another room if wanted.
The furniture otherwise is nothing special. Under the carpet the floor had some uneven dimple surface that felt a little odd.
There is a safe in the room.
The bathroom was ok size, again nothing really special but nothing to complain about either.
The hotel has free WLAN in the rooms but it is a bit spotty. There was only one corner in the room in which I could use it with an ok speed. It wasn' t much better in the lobby area either. But it was free and sufficient for my needs.

The room had an ok noise insulation, sometimes you could hear people on the corridor but nothing from another rooms.
The biggest complaint I had was the cigarette smoke coming into the room from the floor lobby. The lounge bar has a separate smoking room but smokers never close the door so the cigarette smell fills the whole hotel (and people probably smoke elsewhere too in this hotel) so the smell also comes in to the rooms. Eventhough the room we had had a longer entrance hall which contained most of the smell, there was some smell coming to the actual sleeping area which was a bit uncomfortable.

The staff was however excellent. We asked them to turn on the sauna in the fitness club. When we went there an hour later, it was still cold. The receptionist confessed that she had forgot to turn it on and sincerely apologised for her mistake. As an added compensation they offered a free large beer for both of us which I think is exceptional service for any hotel. An hour later we went to the sauna and it was hot this time. The sauna section has facilities to make tea or coffee but when went there, there were no clean mugs available, but this didn't bother me.

Overall for the price we paid, I think it was a good value.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to cigarette smoke be sure to get a room not at the floor lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed one night and you get alot for your money here! 4 star hotel and still half the price of what most other would charge you. It looks new and got a very nice feel walking around the lobby. Rooms are very spacious compared to many other hotels i´ve stayed at. Beds are very nice too. Breakfest 11€ and one of the best i´ve had. Expected good parking by the look from google maps, but the hotel had no more then just a few parking spots for thier guest on this large parking area behind the hotel! Also 5€ a day....This hotel are just a short walk down the street in front of the hotel to the city centre, about 10 min or take the local bus right outside of the hotel. Overall a very good hotel in Kiel.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Kiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Kiel

Address: Hamburger Chaussee 2, 24114 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Kiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Kiel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Kiel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kiel
Kiel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Kiel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.