We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel des Nordens - poor standard of room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alte Zollstrasse 44 | Harrislee, 24955 Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Flensburg
Kalundborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hotel des Nordens - poor standard of room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Poor information at arrival. We only got directions for the room and to the breakfast restaurant. No information at the room either. Room: Furniture battered. Old TV. Many TV-channels not available. No radio. WiFi poor quality at the room, this is a normal problem for hotels in Europe. It seems that most hotel owners in Europe don't understand the value for customers of a well functioning WiFi. Hotel interior ok. Nice and clean. Hotel surroundings nice. Free parking - plenty of free parking lots. Breakfast normal German standard, which means excellent. Staff: Prof and very friendly Bartender at the Lounge Café: Excellent service

Room Tip: Maybe the suites are better than the common rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    70
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
34
62
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice breakfast and nice facilities- swimming. The balcony was a plus. Aso close to a Fleegaard. Close to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I led a concert tour of 24 people through Germany and Denmark and we were booked here by our agent. I would not return. We stayed three nights. This is a huge resort hotel whose prime was a couple of decades ago. While there is an abundance of marble in lobbies and on stairs most every other surface needs refurbishing with the exception of the bathrooms which seem to have been recently renovated and are quite nice, if tiny, in some rooms. The rooms are far, far away from the lobby and you about walk yourself to death. They also have a poor service attitude: porter service was supposedly included in our agreement but none was provided and they did not seem to care. The bar would not sell us bottles of soda after our concerts though the bartender was standing there and could easily have done so...it was a minute or two after his closing time. We went to our rooms thirsty since there are no vending machines in this whole enormous hotel. The next day they seated a table of about 9 of us for lunch at 11:30 and took our drink orders, but would not take our food order since it was not yet 12 noon. We paid for our drinks and left since we were on a tight schedule. Just a little flexibility would have been so helpful. On the plus side, they have one of the largest, heated, swim-inside/swim-outside pools you will find anywhere - as long as you don't mind the corny, white plaster, large statues ringing the poolside.

Room Tip: Our suite was spacious, though well-worn, and had a larger bath than most rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Have stayed here several times and will continue to come back.
Price very reasonable...
This time I was unfortunate that only suites were left to book due to my late reservation. Price for suite incl.breakfast was 123 EUR - standard room which is very nice as well is around 55-65 EUR incl. breakfast.

Pool is heated outside and open until late - recommendable !!
Pics are from my latest stay - May 29th to 30th - suite

Can recommend !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We bought a package with dinner, room and breakfast for ½ price, and for the price we paid it was fair. Double price, which would be normal price, is to much for what we got.
The service and food was good, but the room was really bad.

The evening dinner was surpose to be Entrecote steak, and that was for sure not the case. It was a cheaper cut - very good cooked - but not the Entrecote we had purchased.

The breakfast buffet was very good, although there was a very bad smell of gas or something simulary, maybe from the hot food station. But the food and selection was perfect.

The room we got, in the annex called "Marlene", was very very old fashion and there was a draught because of some leak at the door or window. Even though we had the radiator going all night, 1 of us came home with a cold because of this.
The bathroom was new, but the floor was so cold because of no heat in the floor.
Small tv with a good variation of free channels.
Funitures was very old, and the colors are something from the 70's.

There was free parking and free wireless internet at the hotel which is a big plus today.

The area had nothing to see, but it was close to a big supermarket if you need to buy supplies.

All together we would not recomend this hotel if you have to pay full price.
But if you get a good offer, make sure you will NOT get a room in the annex called "Marlene", specially if it is in weekends where there is a night club in the building.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I have stayed here twice recently - one in March, whilst travelling on my own, and again in April as part of a large group of 22 adults and 15 children. I can only applaud Ulrike, the Front Desk Manager, for her attention to detail in making our group booking go to plan. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the pools were terrific and being able to use the skittles alley free of charge was a huge benefit in keeping the boys amused throughout our stay. The restaurant was excellent - the buffet breakfast offered a wide menu choice and was very substantial, the fixed meals we ate were both delicious. And the staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble for them. All in all, a great place to stay and I would not hesitate to recommend it to people.

Oh and thank you for the ducks in the shower trays!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkedal, Denmark
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

We often go for this hotel for one or two nights stay to relax. It is an old hotel but renovated for some time ago. Rooms are fine and for a little extra you can have fire place and view to the pool. Well worth the money. The food is traditonal but ok. A'la carte is of high quality - go for these instead of the offers with stay and dinner.

Rooms are spacious, but sparringly equipped and with older tv. But never mind, this is not what I travel for.

The main attraction is the hot in/outdoor pool and saunas. They are kept 28 degrees all year - abd is amazing to use during the winter. My kid simply loves it.

We will defently go back again - again..

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens

Address: Alte Zollstrasse 44 | Harrislee, 24955 Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Flensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Flensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel des Nordens - Your hotel at the Danish / German border. Hotel des Nordens is a true border hotel that you can easily find right of Krusaa border (exit 74 from highway E45). The hotel has 121 lovely double rooms and suites, a wellness area, fitness, skating rink and much, much more.   We offer the optimal framework for pleasure, business meetings, parties, corporations or a comfortable overnight stay on a trip to the border. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.