We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb steak house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porterhouse im Gnomenkeller

Porterhouse im Gnomenkeller
Holm 3, 24937 Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
+49 461 22116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 133 Restaurants in Flensburg
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Denmark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Superb steak house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a really excellent steak house. Located in a cellar, the ambiance is perfect really for any occasion be it a romantic or family meal. The service was excellent and the prices reasonable. The steak was tender and fat free. I requested medium and if you wanted to be super-critical it was possibly just a little under that but was very tasty and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I would certainly recommend a visit here if you are in Flensburg.
I think the Trip Advisor question 'Is this one of the beast meals you've ever had in a restaurant? answer yes or no a little unfair. As a steak house meal it was hard to fault, hence I've given it 5 stars but I can't say yes it was one of my best meals ever.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    42
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Flensburg's Best Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Porterhouse im Gnomenkeller is absolutely a great steak house in Flensburg. The steaks we got were perfect, the waiters were very friendly and serviceminded and the restaurant had a very nice atmosphere.
The prices were cheap compared to prices in Denmark, and the overall quality of the food was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We ended up on a short trip in Flensburg. Via tripadvisor we decided to have dinner at the Porthouse im Gnomenkeller. The place it self is very nice to see. But the food is absolutely perfect. The steaks are from a high quality and nicely prepared. The wines are perfect.
A visit worth.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“The steaks are not for dwarves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Gnomenkeller is a well-known restaurant in Flensburg, closely associated with a wine merchant. The restaurant is located near the city center - be aware that parking i difficult, but the restaurant possesses some in a parking lot behind the house (you have to know they're there to find them).
The restaurant is situated in what was originally build as a storage cellar in the late 1500's, so the surroundings are a part of the total experience.
The signature dishes are the steaks, but other dishes are also available. There are a good selection of starters, but if you go for one of the bigger steaks - my advise is to skip the starter.
I went for some fried scampi on a skewer plus some salad for starter and then a lamb fillet with vegetables ratatouille style and potato gratin. Not only was this a very well-prepared lamb, but the sides were really good (in traditional steak restaurants the sides are often neglected and not very well prepared).
The wine selection is quite good and we indeed did try some different types of red wines (all of the Italian), and naturally we all could agree on disagreeing in which was the best.
The service is quick and attentive, but as often seen the sommelier part of waiting is neglected so do not expect to get expert advise.
All

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlev, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you decide on a XXL steak, you are advised not to order a starter. There is plenty of food in the main course. The meat was fantastic and so was the wine. The service is very professional.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porterhouse im Gnomenkeller also viewed

Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein
Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein
 

Been to Porterhouse im Gnomenkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porterhouse im Gnomenkeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.