We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Fish restaurants in Northern Germany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Piet Henningsen

Restaurant Piet Henningsen
Schiffbrucke 20, 24939 Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
0461 / 245 76
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 122 restaurants in Flensburg
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the best Fish restaurants in Northern Germany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Not only was the service excellent, but each of the meals we (a group of five) ate was first-rate cooked, had a special touch, and moreover was also enough food to satisfy a hungry stomach (which is not always the case in establishments that received top-10 honors from international gourmet-magazines). The decoration (old seamen's barter pay for dood and rum, like spears from Kongo, turtle-casks, etc., in large numbers, plus enormous Rum-bottles froom the times Flensburg had the rum-monopoly for Denmark) is rustic and very consistent and cozy. It gives the place an atmosphere of both, distinction from tradition and welcoming warmth.
The prices are absolutely adequate to the quality, but therefore also not on the lower side. But ca. 20 EUR/person, one drink included, seems really accessible for the performance of kitchen and the cellar. My recommendation is to visit this place for a special evening. My guess is that the non-fish platters will be OK, too, but the Flensburger Fischplatte and various flounders were spectacular.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    19
    16
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Storfors
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We what's going to this restaurant because recommendation from trip adviser.
Very disappoint on the service.
We just come in to the restaurant and my wife by mistake close one light
The service people immodestly say very sharp you can not do.
Of course we know but we did not do it for any reason.
Then he went away and did not care.
Any way we will not go there again
Best regards
Restaurant owner in Xiamen
Ulf Wessman

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Good Fish Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Fantastic food - very good and fast service - reasonable prices - good location - inside fantastic decorated - a real fish restaurant - possible to sit outside - huge menu card - selection of good wines - local beer - fresh products - large portions -

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Visited during march. Had one of their fish dishes and local beer. Staff were good and great atmosphere

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norddeutschland
Top Contributor
632 reviews 632 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
493 helpful votes 493 helpful votes
“Good fish restaurant with nice decoration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Sitting on the north coast of the Foerde, just across the street from the water this restaurant is pretty well known by business travellers.

It does offer an extensive menu on fish, most of them fresh (of course fish is a seasonal product) an a vey nicely decorated (for my taste a bit toto decorated) little house. Seating is upstairs and downstairs.

They know pretty well how to prepare fish and even though it is "only" the classical northern Germany way of preparing it means a lot of good fish with very good pairings and large portions as well. Not the cheapest restuarant to go to but for fishlovers certainly a place to go to.

The service is friendly and fast even though for some guests it may come out a bit of unfriednly but in northern Germany people talk in a direct way.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Piet Henningsen also viewed

 
Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein
Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein
 

Been to Restaurant Piet Henningsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Piet Henningsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.