We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, ARCHITECTS PARADISE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arthotel Magdeburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arthotel Magdeburg to your Saves list
Arthotel Magdeburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Breiter Weg 8-10, 39104 Magdeburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Magdeburg
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW, ARCHITECTS PARADISE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a truly exceptional building, unique, hand crafted.

The two girls at Reception were fantastic. The whole experience was truly memorable.

This is a MUST-SEE building and to be allowed to stay overnight in such a treasure was fantastic!

Only downside is Breakfast isn't included in price, so we missed out. The trays to rooms though looked terrific!

Really central location, with secure parking (pay extra) on site.

Room Tip: We got upgraded (free) to room 201...excellent..accessed up its own spiral staircase (not wheelchair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
22
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is unique among others, in fact it is located inside the Grune Zitadelle, a builiding constructed by austrian architect F. Hundertwasser and it is place in the centre of the city.

The hotel is colorful and has many comforts, like the Breakfast served in your room(you can ask whatever you want), large rooms, a good bar (you get a welcome drink at your arrival), wide beds and enough space for everything.

A mention is to be done for the bathroom, designed in the classic hundertwasser design and is very large and confortable. The parking is located underground, it is not free, but it has many parking lots. The staff is very kind, in particular a girl i don't remember the name now.

if you want to go to Magdeburg, I suggest warmly this place

Room Tip: i suggest the confort room with terrace on the grune zitadelle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Back in 2006, my sister and I visited Magdeburg with our parents. We didn't stay in this hotel, but we admired it from a distance, and promised each other that we would come back as adults and stay here.

I had high expectations for this hotel, and they were met. Staff were friendly.
The basic room was quite spacious, with a view of the Main road. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was very colourful and gorgeous!

Breakfast in the room was an additional bonus, and was very filling and delicious.

All in all, our two night stay at the ArtHotel was excellent. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suckley
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you like the architecture of Hundertwasser or are just fed up with production line hotel rooms, then this is the place for you. The ArtHotel is situated in the fabulous Hundertwasser Grone Zitadel building which is a welcome addition to the post-war DDR brutalism of much of Magdeburg. The hotel does its best to live up to the outside, with quirky furnishings and colourful décor. You will be hard pressed to find a straight line in the whole place, and the bathrooms are little Hundertwasser gems! Staff were friendly and efficient, and breakfast is brought to you room on a trolley and there was enough to feed five or six people and it was delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The building from outside is truly extraordinary, I also loved the design bathroom. However, rooms themselves (at least the standard ones) are nothing special (IKEA pictures on the walls - like, for real?). Quite a soft mattress in the bed.
Breakfast in room is just heaven :). Staff is friendly and helpful. Be sure to book parking place well in advance, there are not that many parking lots in the garage below the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a must if you are in Magdeburg, and if you are fascinated by the architecture of Hundertwasser. Our room was large and had many nice details and was tastefully decorated. Loved the bathroom. Staff very friendly. They don´t have a breakfast room, and serves you breakfast in your room. The trolley came on time, and the food was absolutely lovely. We had a room with a separate dining table, and it was great to sit there and enjoy breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have had a good look inside this surreal and interesting building designed by Frederik Hundertwasser, attended friends party who have an apartment in this hotel and would reccomend a visit to the hotel and museum, surreal and interesting, gardens on the roof!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthotel Magdeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthotel Magdeburg

Address: Breiter Weg 8-10, 39104 Magdeburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Magdeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Magdeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arthotel Magdeburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arthotel Magdeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthotel Magdeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.