We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think I died and went to heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Ristorante Don Giovanni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Ristorante Don Giovanni to your Saves list
Hotel & Ristorante Don Giovanni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwartzestr 01-03, 04229 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 103 Hotels in Leipzig
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I think I died and went to heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I think I died and went to heaven. I've been to Rome, Venice, Florence and Pompeii to name a few, but never to the Italian Alps, or Sicily or even Capri. Now imagine staying in an Italian villa in all of these places rolled into one. This the only way I can describe (using both past experience and sheer imagination) Hotel and Restaurante Don Giovanni.

Directions from Leipzig Haupthahnhof (main train station):

1) In front of train station catch the #3 tram (toward Taucha), and get off at Scwartzestrabe, approximately 20 minutes.

2) Hotel and Restaurante Don Giovanni is approximately 100 m around the corner.

We we're welcomed by the hard working family managing this menagerie as we entered the Alice and Wonderland meets Pinocchio and Tinker Bell oases. We stayed on the top floor in room 5 with vaulted ceiling, multiple skylights, recessed LED lighting, and custom mosaic tile. The suite was furnished in a hybrid Tuscan Classic Contemporary style, with glitter-ball chandelier included. And the bathroom styled in much the same way was then peppered with modern sleek nickel fixtures including the contoured jacuzzi tub built for two. Free multiple device wifi included in room and throughout the complex.

For a modest €9.50 per person we ate breakfast in the winter garden, surrounded by green indoor foliage, marble water fountain, high opaque circus ceiling, knight armor, and various multiple jars of Italian olive, tomato, and green red pepper jars. And I can't forget the bird and lizard habitat on the far end of the garden, where I swear to God I saw the chameleon, with lightning speed, nab an insect.

Enjoy.....

Room Tip: Ask for room #5 on top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were nicely received by an Italian Mama.
Cosy but small rooms, clean and nice bathrooms.
Very very nice breakfast in the morning with different kinds of cheese, salami, different home made marmelades, teas, and tons of different Italian sweet specialities. You're sitting in the restaurant near the fountain.
GOOOOD price-quality!
We paid only 75 euros with breakfast!

Room Tip: we didn't have a bath tub... try to ask one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I loved my stay at this quirky hotel. The staff were wonderful. The bed super comfortable and the area was great to explore. If you are after something a little unique this is well worth consideration.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs
Level Contributor
137 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

firstly be warned that this hotel restaurant is not anywhere near the centre,secondly it follows that for it to have been going for many years it has to be good,so we stayed and ate. Took a bit of finding as it is not in a very salubrious neighborhood but the room was delightful and the meal and wine tasty and good value.I would recommend this to anyone.from the outside doesnt look much but its actually a pretty big restaurant done out with lots of quirky things.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
3.1 mi away
pentahotel Leipzig
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 103 in Leipzig
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel Leipzig
Lindner Hotel Leipzig
#29 of 103 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.1 mi away
McDreams Hotel Leipzig
McDreams Hotel Leipzig
#21 of 103 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Parkhotel Diani
Parkhotel Diani
#11 of 103 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Ristorante Don Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Ristorante Don Giovanni

Address: Schwartzestr 01-03, 04229 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 103 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Ristorante Don Giovanni 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel & Ristorante Don Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Ristorante Don Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.