We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbly located and impressive throughout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterCityHotel Leipzig

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterCityHotel Leipzig to your Saves list
InterCityHotel Leipzig
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Troendlinring 2, 04105 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Superbly located and impressive throughout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A very comfortable hotel in a superb location, just a couple of minutes walk from Leipzig Hbf. I was impressed from the first professional but friendly welcome all the way through to the efficiently handled checkout.

The room I was given on the sixth floor was perfect for my needs, providing a decent sized desk, comfortable bed and neatly arranged bathroom.

I found that the free low-speed Wifi was perfectly adequate for my needs, though it did occasionally lose the connection.

The local transport card that was supplied on check in came in really handy for a sightseeing trip out to the Völkerschlachtdenkmal, but most other major sights are within easy walking distance. It would also have been valid for the S-Bahn to the airport on the day of checkout had I been travelling back that way.

I didn't take breakfast in the hotel, but it was easy enough to get something from the extensive range of shops at Leipzig Hbf, which include at least three bakeries.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietzschmann, Leiter Front Office at InterCityHotel Leipzig, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear FolkestoneJack,

we are happy that you experienced such a wonderful time in our hotel and in Leipzig. Thank you for you so positive feedback.

With kind regards,
Anja Pietzschmann
(Front Office Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    49
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
30
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Modern, clean, up-to-date hotel with a friendly staff and in an excellent location. Restaurants, shops, and museums were within easy walking distance. Parking at a reasonable fee was just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietzschmann, Leiter Front Office at InterCityHotel Leipzig, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Liz,

we thank your for your very positive feedback and we are glad that you had such a wonderful stay.

with kind regards,
Anja Pietzschmann
(Front Office Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deggendorf
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The new InterCityHotel looks like the little brother of the nearby Westin Leipzig. The interior presents itself in the apparently typical brownish style of InterCity Hotels.
Breakfast is available at € 15 per person if not already included in the room rate.
As we stayed at the hotel on a Sunday, free public parking was available in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.
The InterCity Hotel is strategically located close to Leipzig Central station. You are provided with tickets allowing the free use of public transport during the days of your stay. If you want to visit the interesting old city centre of Leipzig you do not really need public transport as the main sights can easily be reached on foot.
The staff at the reception was friendly.
Breakfast was of good quality.
The room on an upper floor offered a view of the Westin Leipzig. All home furnishing items worked perfectly. The non-dimmable nightstand lights were uncomfortably bright.
Considering the 4-star rating of the hotel the bathroom was rather tiny.
The main drawback of the hotel was the slow transfer rate of the Wi-Fi (allegedly a maximum of 256/s is possible). It turned out to be impossible to load a map of Leipzig within a reasonable time frame. Booking portals (e.g. booking.com) advertise the free WLAN as one of the assets of the hotel but in practical terms it is nearly useless.

If you can forgo the use of the free Wi-Fi, the hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Leiter Front Office at InterCityHotel Leipzig, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear sumavax,

I thank you very much for your rating in detail. We also offer to our guests a high speed line for a little charge. Free city maps are available at the front desk. Apart from that I am glad that you had such a wonderful stay with us.

With kind regards,
Anja Pietzschmann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

A relatively new hotel. Very modern and excellent for a short stay. Almost next door to the main train station and 20 minutes from the airport. Clean quiet room, comfortable bed and quiet air con. Restaurant had a limited menu but the food was excellent. Friendly multi lingual staff who were very helpful. Plenty of other restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Only downside (and a pet hate of mine), was no ability to make a hot drink in your room on arrival.....and essential after a long journey!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa E, Leiter Front Office at InterCityHotel Leipzig, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Turbinetraveller,

I thank you for your helpful and positive comment. At all time hot drinks are available at our bar. Kettles with a complimentary coffee and tea station are available in our business rooms, business plus rooms and studios. Please ask for these rooms at your next stay.

with kind regards
Anja Pietzschmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

A very comfortable business hotel in the middle of the city. Close to the main station and tram network. Many attractions are within walking distance.

Staff are very good and helpful. Good buffet breakfast, perfectly adequate with a reasonable selection including fruits. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. There is a bar/bistro next to reception serving some snacks as well. No restaurant as such in the hotel, but several within walking distance including the Champion American Sports Bar below the Marriott across the road.

Large shopping centre across the road with many shops and a food court at the lower level. Further shopping and restaurants in the main station including Pizza Hut KFC etc.




Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa E, Leiter Front Office at InterCityHotel Leipzig, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

ich danke Ihnen für Ihre positive Bewertung. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie so einen schönen Aufenthalt hatten.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Anja Pietzschmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights 9th/12th December, and had a great time. Used this chain several times in the past, and I have had no complaints. The Intercity is a 5 minute walk to the right, as you exit the Station, and all the shopping etc. is to the front of the Station in the town. As said by previous reviewers, the premises opened earlier in the year and is spotless, with nice bedroom and bathroom. Staff are helpful and friendly, and you can do no wrong by staying in this Hotel. Breakfast has lots of hot and cold choices and the waiters are very attentive. The Railway Station is a masterpiece of design, with two floors of nice shops below the main concourse.

Room Tip: My room no. was 218 which overlooked the Main Junction. Slight tram noise but overall very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located on the ring road around Leipzig Old City centre and only 300 yards from Hauptbahnhof. It is convenient for arrival in Leipzig by train and well placed for sightseeing in the city centre.

Almost brand new, the hotel is light and airy with good sized, well furnished rooms and excellent spacious bathrooms. Rooms are equipped with a minibar/fridge but would have benefitted from tea/coffee making facilities. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful, speaking good English.

Although the hotel is situated on a busy road, with numerous tram routes passing, in our 4th floor room we found no problems with noise as the air conditioned rooms are provided with excellent sound insulation.

We did not take the buffet breakfast, which seemed to be overpriced. There are numerous cafes and fast food outlets at Hauptbahnhof, including two supermarkets (Rewe and Aldi).

Although the hotel rates are not cheap, we would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay on any short visit to Leipzig. We would certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We asked for and were given a room on a high floor. On the 4th floor, even though we overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterCityHotel Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Leipzig

Address: Troendlinring 2, 04105 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterCityHotel Leipzig 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our new InterCityHotel Leipzig. Located at the main station and near the city centre, a hotel radiating comfort and flair awaits you as our guest. Many of the sights of interest of Leipzig, such as the old town hall, the St. Nicholas Church, the opera house or the Gewandhaus, Leipzig's concert hall, can be reached easily on foot or by tram. The Leipzig Trade Fair grounds as well as the Congress Center Leipzig (CCL) and the Leipzig/Halle Airport can be reached comfortably and quickly by local public transport. The FreeCityTicket included in the price of your room ensures your mobility without any additional costs. The 166 tastefully furnished rooms offer, in addition to SAT-TV with free Sky channels and WiFi, an ideal "atmosphere of wellness" best to relax after a strenuous appointment or an exciting sightseeing tour. There are 3 modern rooms for conferences and events at the guest's disposal. And, quite naturally, all of the rooms are air-conditioned and have daylight illumination.For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterCityHotel Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterCityHotel Leipzig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.