We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Leipzig” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Leipzig

Save Saved
You added The Westin Leipzig to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Leipzig
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gerberstrasse 15, 04105 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great view of Leipzig”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We spent 2 nights in a 26th floor suite. Great views of a beautiful city from our private balcony. The upgrade to the suite was very special. The rooms were big, well furnished and very clean. Hotel breakfast was very expensive and it was a 10 minute walk to the closest restaurant. When you entered the hotel, you felt like you were in a Westin anywhere in the world. No sense of being in Germany. No local flavor. No excitement despite being there during the World Cup. Nonetheless, a very good place to stay while visiting Leipzig.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    208
    66
    10
    5
See reviews for
33
154
78
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here twice while visiting family in Leipzig. Positives: Very pleasant and helpful staff, comfortable and modern European furnishings, and an outstanding breakfast buffet. Negative, and it's a big one for us: in both of our rooms, the air conditioning simply wasn't able to cool the room, leading to fitful and restless sleep. Unless that is rectified, I would look elsewhere (although I would miss the breakfast).

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

In fairness, we chose this place because our preferred options were fully booked. The Westin lacks charm. The front desk staff are polite but surprisingly poorly informed about local tourist sites, transportation options, etc. Although room charges are fairly high, wi-fi is not free anywhere in the hotel. The safe in the room did not work when we checked in and the staff seemed to think that was because we did not understand how to use a hotel safe. (In fact, it had to be reprogrammed.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guest,

first of all we thank you for your stay with us and certainly for giving us your review. As often happens you unfortuantely experienced a combination of unfortuante circumstances and not our normal, fine service as you may can excepted.
We hope you will be accept our sincere apology and our promise to make your next stay with us enjoyable. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is in a great location walking distance from the train station, the zoo and a short walk to the city center.

Pros- As a platinum member with SPG I was given a free bottle of water each day, snacks at the bar between 6 - 7 each evening. Free coffee, tea and non-alcoholic drinks at the bar. I had a room with a balcony so I had 2 views one of the city and the other view of the zoo side. I also had free internet.

Cons- I had to ask for a facecloth there was none provided in the room.

I had included in my stay. There was cheese, tomatoes, bacon, eggs(scrambled and hard boiled), bread, cold cuts, juices, cereal and cake. I found the service a bit in the breakfast area

Room tip - If you have a glass shower in your room, please be careful when getting out the floor on the shower area can get slippery.

The lobby is very big and the staff are friendly and helpful.

You have to take an elevator to the swimming pool. As a platinum member I did not have to pay to access this area. Otherwise it is 3Euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

As tourists we found this to be ideally located for our needs. The rooms are a good size, the foyer bar is comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Walking distance to both the station and town centre with its excellent restaurants. Wifi was expensive as was parking. Public parking is readily available across the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Location is very central, next to railwaystation and Zoo, short walk into citycenter and to Red Bull Arena (location for futball but also several concerts). Rooms are very nice, with great view if you are located in higher levels, staff is very helpfull and helpful. Only negaive is price for internet - 5 Eur/hr! and breakfast 23 Eur! We had breakfast buffet in the city center in a cafe - for 23 Eur for both of us

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your impressions during your stay with us. Any constructive review helps us for monitoring our service standard and give us a chance for make things better. We do our utmost to be a home for people on travel on a high level and all our actions are aimed to improve our service and your valued comments are appreciated. Yours Westin Leipzig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I've stayed here some years ago and it's a nice looking, quiet, pleasant hotel in a great location and I've always found the staff pleasant.
I arrived early expecting to drop my bag and check in later but my room was ready, which was great. Again the staff were pleasant and it was a great view from the 23rd floor. The gym was fine but to charge anything extra, even 3 euro, for the pool and sauna is frankly ridiculous. I didn't have breakfast this time because although it was lovely and a great selection, 16 euros is steep.
Unfortunately my mobile phone was not working on arrival so I needed to use the business centre for internet access. 5 euros for 15 minutes is absolutely astronomical. Add in the complimentary water in the room on arrival (but only if you're a Starwood member or other caveat), it all feels a bit penny pinching when the rooms are not exactly budget prices :-(
Leipzig itself, is just a fabulous city!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Leipzig

Address: Gerberstrasse 15, 04105 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Leipzig
#7 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
#8 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#8 Family Hotel in Leipzig
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Leipzig 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Westin Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Leipzig Hotel Leipzig
Westin Leipzig
Leipzig Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Leipzig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.