We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“choose this for the view and the breakfast buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Leipzig

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Leipzig to your Saves list
The Westin Leipzig
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gerberstrasse 15, 04105 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“choose this for the view and the breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The views from this hotel are excellent, and so is the breakfast buffet. Buffet is expensive, but if you book room via the hotel's own website, you can also book an interesting discount on the breakfast!
Most rooms are the same size, but the more expensive rooms have better views, and the decoration of the room is a bit nicer.
The matrasses are nice: not too hard, not too soft. The less expensive rooms have two beds placed against each other. We did not like that, and we needed to upgrade ourselves to solve it (reasonable price difference!). In the more expensive rooms they somehow they managed to avoid a "canyon" between the two matrasses.
The hotel was initially Japanese owned and still has some marks of it. The Japanese restaurant on the ground floor serves good quality food. Please make sure to reserve a table or you're likely to be disappointed. The German waiter was not particularly welcoming, so go for the food, not for the atmosphere. If no tables are available, and you want Japanese food, then ask for room service. Do not go to the "Japanese" restaurant on the other side of the street, on the rim of the old city centre. That restaurant focuses on quantity, no quality (although their sushi were OK).

Room Tip: If you are given the choice, take a room facing the old city centre, and try to get as high up as po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    220
    72
    14
    6
See reviews for
36
164
78
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Nice hotel, located in walking distance to the city center. Superb service and staff. Beautiful bar. Draw back, small rooms, building was built a long time ago, Eastern European standard, small rooms east style.... Positive amazing breakfast

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken a moment of time to share your thoughts and impression with us and the Tripadvisor community. Your feedback is much appreciated and gives us the unique chance to listen carefully to our guests' voice. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very nice accommodations, conveniently located to both the main train station and trams. We required daily travel to the convention center, and this hotel served our purpose. Delicious breakfast available, along with fitness center. Only negatives, morning coffee available in room via very $$$$ room service. Fitness center/swimming pool also required out-of-pocket $$ cost.

All in all, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having shared your impressions with us and with Tripadvisor - your feedback is really appreciated and I am glad you had a good time all in all. Please let me know if I can do anything for your future stays. Hope to you see you again.

Greetings to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

What a great location, close to the city center and whatever you may need. The train station is a short walk, bank across the street and a perfect little bakery. The hotel has everything you may need, great spa and pool which is a must to visit. The staff are excellent and so helpful. Morning breakfast is the best in Germany!

Perfect hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing with us your impressions. The nicest reward for our daily work in the aim to make the stay of our guest comfortable. Thank you! Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

No heavenly beds here; standard EU style rooms and beddings. Small bathroom. Gym is small but adequate and accessed via a separate elevator. Staff were friendly and helpful. A bit of walking distance to train station and city center; not fun in the frigid winter. Breakfast was buffet style and very well supplied with both warm and cold selections, German and American style breakfast. Definite highlight of the stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Leipzig for your stay and thank you for making us happy and of course for having taken a moment of your time to reflect on your experiences. I will be very happy to welcome you back on your next visit to Leipzig and wishing you all the best for 2014! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at Westin in Leipzig after Xmas for two nights. The standard room was nothing special, but we loved the view over the old town! Right after check in we called the service express for two bath robes which seem to be missing in our room. 5min. later they were there in front of our door :-) Air condition, which we feared by reading critiques was warm enough. Swimming pool and Sauna, both we enjoyed eveyday was clean and surprisingly empty, assuming due to the 3EUR entrance fee. The only minus was the breakfast. Was not worth to pay 22EUR per head and up to the standards of other Westin hotels in Germany. For the price we must pay we would expect to find much better selections for breads and cheese.

Room Tip: Anywhere above 18th floor you can get a nice view of Leipzig!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear guest, first of all we wish you a Happy New Year! Thank you for your feedback - we really regret that you were not satisfied with our breakfast. Certainly we can not meet all expectations of our guests but we always do try to improve our service if possible. Should there be something we can do for you please get in touch with me. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel is nice, public areas are nice. I was upgraded to a cool suite, the staff is very friendly.
But the room would not get warm the whole time I was there even with the heat turned all the way up (it is radiant water heat). A colleague commented that her room was also cold. The cold room did make the heated floor in the bathroom seem even better. The room was well appointed but there was no coffee or tea in the room; if you wanted it you had to go get it order from room service. There were plenty of bath towels, but no small face cloths. The bed was horrible; it was two singles put together thus the division in the middle; second it was quite hard and finally the covers were not adequate to keep me warm. Strange from the hotel brand that invented the heavenly bed. I actually had a sore back at the end of the second day.
The gym was well appointed and they have a nice pool but charge for use of the pool.
The rate for the first two nights of my stay was quite reasonable; however because of high occupancy the rate for the third night it was going to be nearly triple so I decided I would leave and try another hotel that might have a comfortable bed and coffee and tea in the room. Even though this hotel has been completely remodeled since the time of East Germany the bed and the ventilation seem to be a relic from the DDR.

Room Tip: Find a newer hotel that has comfortable beds and forced air ventilation so you can control the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear guest, we want to let you know that we certainly have noted your comment and we thank you very much for you writing this review. We deeply regret your disappointment and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences experienced. Please be assured that we will analyse your comment internally as it is most importance for us to ensure a through and through first class service. Greetings to California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Leipzig

Address: Gerberstrasse 15, 04105 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Leipzig
#8 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Leipzig 4.5*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Leipzig Hotel Leipzig
Westin Leipzig
Leipzig Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Leipzig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.