We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Leipzig City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Leipzig City Centre to your Saves list
Days Inn Leipzig City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gerichtsweg 12, 04103 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Grand City Hotel Leipzig Zentrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Innsbruck, Austria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The days inn is in a residential area and in a block or former flats Although we booked a room they put us in an enormous apartment. Handy if you have a car as there is free parking outside. 30 min walk or easy 5min tram ride into town. I did not find the area 'rough' as other reviews suggest.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    40
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
39
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in January this year and found the hotel quite difficult to locate as it looked like an apartment block in the middle of a high rise complex and in a less than salubrious area. However, on entering the hotel,we found the room to be more than adequate even if a little dated. Parking was easy and free, and we enjoyed a great breakfast each morning but then discovered on our checkout that breakfast was not included in the room rate. Consequently we had to pay a further 40 Euro which we were a little unhappy about as the information on the website misled us into thinking that breakfast was included which was the case in all the other hotels we booked on this trip. It was easy to walk into the city centre from this hotel so for convenience it was a good location but advertising a great breakfast which is then an additional cost is a little cheeky.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Old building in the 70th style. Near is huge renovation area, so not clean and not silent. Parking is free of charge, but not easy during the work-week. Rooms with poor furniture in old style, breakfast for 10 euro, price for animals in room 5,50 euro. Good Internet connection in rooms on the 1st floor, but one should ask about login/password at the reception.

Not satisfied at all. In addition they charged room price twice from our credit-card. This is impossible!
Will not recomment this hotel, for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were a little worried when the taxi pulled in to a service road and told us to walk around the corner but once inside the entrance we were delighted. The small entrance/reception area is delightfully decorated as a library with books available in every language to peruse depicting the importance of Leipzig in book publishing.
Our room was large and comfortable and the breakfast offered a wonderful selection. We will no doubt use this hotel again as it was very reasonably priced and in walking distance of the city centre. We plan to visit in 2014 and go to the Christmas market. Leipzig is very easy to access by train from the airport and you do not need a hire car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I'm used to getting good deals by comparing various hotel comparison sites, so I assumed I had until I arrived here and realised it is very much a budget hotel.

Driving to the hotel was worrying as the number of dilapidated and graffiti covered buildings increased, till we arrived in the car park at the back of this former pre-fabricated tower block. There is no car park at the front, so the first impression certainly is not of the nice carefully framed photo of the front door. Rather you get the full East German tower block experience.

Press a buzzer by the back door, get in, haul yourself and luggage up some stairs and walk through to reception. The receptionist was very helpful and spoke excellent English. We took the elevator up to the room which was clean and large. That's the most complimentary thing I can say about it. Clearly it was an apparent in its former life complete with concrete balcony where you could stand and look out to the other apartment blocks still occupied by local citizens. You could also see the spire of the Thomaskirche and other tall buildings not so far away.

The room had an unused fridge, a cupboard with cups plates and spoons and furniture that looked like it had come from a bargain basement store. The bathroom was large, with a full bath and shower over it.

Breakfast next morning was good in a busy little dining room with the usual selection of meats, eggs, fruits, breads etc. The best bit however was that my car was where I'd left it, un-damaged and safe. I had wondered.

It's a short walk into the city centre and that was a real positive.

The title of Grand City Hotel is a real misnomer. The city may be grand, but the hotel isn't.

Room Tip: This is a budget hotel. You're getting what you pay for, and it's cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I find it strange what some other reviewers expect from a hotel. The last one re. Grand City said that 'it looked like an old 70's Iron Curtain concrete apartment block'. I would suggest that the reason it looks like that is because that's what it is. For the price asked, there is nothing wrong with this hotel: the rooms (rooms, notice) are large; well-equipped (what are you expecting furniture wise?) and immaculately clean. The shower is powerful and the hot water instant (and I do mean instant!). The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The area is a bit run down but that goes for a lot of Leipzig. There are restaurants and bars nearby if you look for them (the one under the Handwerkskammer, Dresdner Str. 11/13 is particularly interesting) and the tram goes from almost outside. I don't want to live in a hotel room; it's somewhere I can put my head down or maybe drink a glass of wine and watch some footie on the perfectly adequate TV. I've paid a lot more for a lot worse in Leipzig (and other places). I'll be going back and hopefully I can get in through the main entrance rather than through the car park this time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

First impressions of this Hotel where that it looked like an old 70's Iron Curtain concrete apartment block, and things did not improve from there.

It is set a 20 min walk from the Ald Stadt, and is surrounded by other old concrete blocks that are still lived in as apartments. The neighbors appear to be Romanians etc, who sit out late. The hotel rooms are very spartan and very basic. Furniture is substandard flat pack MDF stuff. I thought I was the worlds worst at putting that stuff together, but whoever built mine was worse ! The breakfast room is tiny and not big enough, and the standard of the food is poor.

All I can say as a positive, is this place is clean. There are far better options in Leipzig than here, however if you fancy trying how East Germany used to be then this place is for you

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Leipzig City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Leipzig City Centre

Address: Gerichtsweg 12, 04103 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Grand City Hotel Leipzig Zentrum)
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Leipzig City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Leipzig City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Hotel Leipzig

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Leipzig City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.