We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I made a mistake with this one” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Leipzig City Centre

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Leipzig City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Days Inn Leipzig City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gerichtsweg 12, 04103 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Grand City Hotel Leipzig Zentrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 102 hotels in Leipzig
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“I made a mistake with this one”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I'm used to getting good deals by comparing various hotel comparison sites, so I assumed I had until I arrived here and realised it is very much a budget hotel.

Driving to the hotel was worrying as the number of dilapidated and graffiti covered buildings increased, till we arrived in the car park at the back of this former pre-fabricated tower block. There is no car park at the front, so the first impression certainly is not of the nice carefully framed photo of the front door. Rather you get the full East German tower block experience.

Press a buzzer by the back door, get in, haul yourself and luggage up some stairs and walk through to reception. The receptionist was very helpful and spoke excellent English. We took the elevator up to the room which was clean and large. That's the most complimentary thing I can say about it. Clearly it was an apparent in its former life complete with concrete balcony where you could stand and look out to the other apartment blocks still occupied by local citizens. You could also see the spire of the Thomaskirche and other tall buildings not so far away.

The room had an unused fridge, a cupboard with cups plates and spoons and furniture that looked like it had come from a bargain basement store. The bathroom was large, with a full bath and shower over it.

Breakfast next morning was good in a busy little dining room with the usual selection of meats, eggs, fruits, breads etc. The best bit however was that my car was where I'd left it, un-damaged and safe. I had wondered.

It's a short walk into the city centre and that was a real positive.

The title of Grand City Hotel is a real misnomer. The city may be grand, but the hotel isn't.

Room Tip: This is a budget hotel. You're getting what you pay for, and it's cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    59
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
9
30
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I find it strange what some other reviewers expect from a hotel. The last one re. Grand City said that 'it looked like an old 70's Iron Curtain concrete apartment block'. I would suggest that the reason it looks like that is because that's what it is. For the price asked, there is nothing wrong with this hotel: the rooms (rooms, notice) are large; well-equipped (what are you expecting furniture wise?) and immaculately clean. The shower is powerful and the hot water instant (and I do mean instant!). The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The area is a bit run down but that goes for a lot of Leipzig. There are restaurants and bars nearby if you look for them (the one under the Handwerkskammer, Dresdner Str. 11/13 is particularly interesting) and the tram goes from almost outside. I don't want to live in a hotel room; it's somewhere I can put my head down or maybe drink a glass of wine and watch some footie on the perfectly adequate TV. I've paid a lot more for a lot worse in Leipzig (and other places). I'll be going back and hopefully I can get in through the main entrance rather than through the car park this time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

First impressions of this Hotel where that it looked like an old 70's Iron Curtain concrete apartment block, and things did not improve from there.

It is set a 20 min walk from the Ald Stadt, and is surrounded by other old concrete blocks that are still lived in as apartments. The neighbors appear to be Romanians etc, who sit out late. The hotel rooms are very spartan and very basic. Furniture is substandard flat pack MDF stuff. I thought I was the worlds worst at putting that stuff together, but whoever built mine was worse ! The breakfast room is tiny and not big enough, and the standard of the food is poor.

All I can say as a positive, is this place is clean. There are far better options in Leipzig than here, however if you fancy trying how East Germany used to be then this place is for you

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

This hotel isn't in the centre, but not far to walk or get to. We paid 6 Euro for a taxi at night and the next morning walked back to the train station and it was about 30 minutes walk.

It looks basic this hotel but the rooms are very good size. We had a little kitchenette in ours. A bottle of water was provided which I thought was nice.

There is a hallway with wardrobe. The bathroom is good size with bath and shower. Shower gel provided and hairdryer. Bedroom had desk, another wardrobe, telly and as mentioned before a kitchenette.

Exceptionally clean hotel throughout. Staff very helpful.

Breakfast was provided in the morning. It was a buffet but plenty to be had. Cereal, rolls, meat, cheese, boiled egg, scrambled egg, tea and coffee etc. We thought this plenty and good standard.

Although a little way out of town nothing to be to bothered about. The area was quiet. There isn't a bar, restaurant or shop near by, (not that we saw anyway) so if you would like any of the above plan before going to the hotel or go back into town. There isn't a bar in the hotel but I think you can buy drink at reception. (we arrived late at night so didn't really investigate this option)

  • Liked — exceptionally clean and staff very friendly
  • Disliked — location, a little out the way
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Leipzig City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Leipzig City Centre

Address: Gerichtsweg 12, 04103 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Grand City Hotel Leipzig Zentrum)
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 102 hotels in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Leipzig City Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Leipzig City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Hotel Leipzig

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Leipzig City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.