We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant 2 night weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victor's Residenz-Hotel Leipzig

Save Saved
You added Victor's Residenz-Hotel Leipzig to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Leipzig
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Georgiring 13, 04103 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Pleasant 2 night weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Location is pretty central (opposite main train station) and about a 10-15 min walk to the pedestrian zone. Street outside is pretty busy but our room was on the 6th floor and to the back if the building so had no noise disturbance, not sure that would be the case however on a lower floor to the front of the hotel.

Breakfast buffet was ok but considering it was included in the €110 per night (for 2) rate it's difficult to complain.

Room was quite basic but very clean. Minibar was reasonably priced but not very well stocked. Reception staff were excellent as were the breakfast team.

They offer 2 options for parking, use of the secure underground car park is €18 per day or you can park to the rear of the hotel in their outside parking area of €10 per day.

Price to performance ratio very good. Would certainly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    37
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
28
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Location: Victor's is just right across the main train station. Just like New York's Grant Central, you can get all you need in the shops there. (e.g. I forgot shoes to go with a dress, found a good pair there with very reasonable price; My favorite toothpaste Sensodyne was half price of the US and my favorite coffee pod was 60% cheaper than Amazon.com) Sorry about the pricing thing, just want to give you a general idea of how good this hotel is located. 5 to 10 minutes walk, you are in the heart of the city, where history were made. We were there for music event. J.S. Bach museum is right there. In fact he was buried there. So happy all things are so close.
Breakfast (included) was amazing. Good varieties of bread and jam and all sorts of meat and cheese. The scramble eggs taste just right. The boil eggs were yummy: the egg yolk was orange: indication of nature food that the chicken consumed. They were very tasty, unlike the ordinary blend egg yolk. This is the first time I found them in free hotel breakfast. They even include the famous 'blood sausage'. This is a one of a kind sausage. Not my taste but got to taste the local stuffs when you were there. the croissants were the best of my 9 days Europe trip. And the tea! Oh mine! I am a tea person. This is the only hotel offer loose tea leaf out of the hundreds of hotels I stayed for the past 30 years. And there were 9 varieties! I was able to blend and blew my favourite tea. I will go there again just for that breakfast! (Just forget the bacon, no hotel did it right.)
Room: good size for 3 person. European hotel rooms are smaller than the US, but this hotel room design made use of space in a sensible way, so we did not feel very crowded. Did not stay in room much anyway. A review said the room was hot. Me too: just the first 2 days: On the 3rd day my daughter found out the heater was on all the time. the thermostat actually did not control it. There was a separate switch under the heater very hard to find. Wish the front desk had told us. (I asked the front desk why it was so hot, and they said it was just like that, just open the window, but it was loud outside whenever any car passed) Don't worry, the room was very quiet once you closed the window.
internet: Wifi include and very secure. You have to go to front desk to get passcode of each of the device you used, and the passcode only valid for 24 hours, meaning you have to obtain passcode from front desk everyday. A bit annoying, but very secure. Also is the only hotel I ever know doing that. We had 6 devices. First night was not happy but fine after we figured out how 'protected' we were.
bathroom: bring your own hair conditioner and lotion. They only provide a universal type of shampoo plus body wash. this is very common in European hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent 4 days here for business and the location is perfect. Right across from the train station and a quick walk in the historic city center. Tram stations right out front. Desk staff is friendly and quite helpful. I had the queen single room and it was ok...bed comfy, room clean, decent bathroom/shower although just soap dispensers in shower and on the sink. No AC...open the window. Free wi fi but requires getting daily codes (they'll give you enough codes to last your stay). Mini bar in room but I simply went to the market in the trainstation and filled it up with cheaper items. Breakfast is ok and included in the room rate. I had lunch and dinner in the hotel's restaurant. Service was slow because the waitstaff did double duty as the bartender.
Suggest getting a room on the upper floors, one that overlooks the courtyard.

Room Tip: ask for the 5th or 6th floor overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemnitz, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This Hotel is just across the Railway Station and 5 min walking distance to the City Centre. The Rooms are very clean and cozy and the Breakfast Buffet is included in the Room Rate. This Hotel offers a Welcome Drink upon arrival and flyers of what to do or to visit in Town and how to get there. It is quiet during Nighttime even it is close to the Rail and busy Streets. I only gave it a 4 stars, because it is quite expensive for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, it's in a good location next to the main railway station and taxi/tram links, but consequently about 15/20 min walk into town centre. My room was on 2nd floor facing onto the station, so plenty of activity outside. I was there for 7 nights, but alas suffered from a heatwave with temps topping 30 degrees each day for a least 3 days, and with no A/C anywhere in the hotel, it would have been unbearable hot at night if I'd not persuaded staff to provide me with an electric fan, which I kept on all night (hence only 3 stars rather than the four it might have earned for a stay in the winter). Good cold selection at breakfast but very limited hot food. Bar seemed little used in the late evening and closed at 11pm each night, so no late night drinking! Staff generally friendly and helpful (but with not all of them). Rooms, bedding, bathroom, etc, were all very clean and kept so during my 7 night stay. Room key system not the easiest to operate, and the initial encounter with the two lifts can be confusing because they don't both go to the same floors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a recent business trip to Leipzig. We arrived by plane and the hotel in only a 15-20 minute taxi ride from the airport. The hotel is in an excellent position about 5 minutes walk from the main town centre. The hotel staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay.
We upgraded to a larger room which was really worthwhile as it included a separate lounge/sitting room which was great to spread out.
The breakfasts were very good and on our last day we left very early to catch a train, and they offered to put together some breakfast hampers (free of charge) for us as the breakfast hadn't open when we left.
WiFi was included in our room but whilst handy wasn't all that fast. Our biggest gripe was the lack of Air Conditioning. The hotel is right next to a busy road and straight across the road from the train hbf so opening the double glazed windows while trying to sleep wasn't an option to cool the room down.
Overall, we really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel has a great location just across the road from the side of the Hauptbahnhof (turn left from the train platforms and keep going). Check-in was quick and very friendly - even extending to a lovely glass of hot, sweet apple tea. In fact, all the staff I saw were extremely helpful, efficient and friendly.

My room was on the front of the hotel, thereby facing the side of the station. The road is busy, so I was a little concerned about sleeping well, but the double glazing is excellent, and I only heard the trams as a faint rumble in the night - and I am a fussy sleeper! I also had french windows (only one half opens) with a small "balconette" (too small to be called a balcony!). Whilst I couldn't venture on to this structure, I could sit with one window open enjoying the view over the huge Platz in front of the station.

German hotels are not noted for being over-luxurious, but they are functional and generally well-appointed. This was the case here. Everything was of a high standard, well-maintained and spotlessly clean. The armchair was very comfortable, as was the bed, and the bathroom was very well thought out. I particularly liked the loudspeaker which meant I could hear the TV/radio whilst in the bathroom. This is something I've only come across in luxury class hotels. The soundpfroofing between the rooms is also excellent. I didn't realise I had neighbours until day 3 of my stay. Another nice touch is that the rooms have a doorbell...There was also a room safe.

Breakfast was the usual Germanic fare, with some concessions to the health-conscious - half-fat milk and cheese. There is a pub-style restaurant which is ok, but it can get very busy, so best to book if you think you'll be using it. The bar is also a nice place to relax after a long day's sightseeing, although some of the prices are on the steep side.

The centre of town is a 10-15 minute walk away.

I would definitely stay here again. The chances of getting a really cheap deal are slim, but I thought it was worth paying that bit extra (about £85/night, including breakfast).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victor's Residenz-Hotel Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victor's Residenz-Hotel Leipzig

Address: Georgiring 13, 04103 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#12 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victor's Residenz-Hotel Leipzig 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel is ideally located between the Central Station and the Old City. Behind the historic façade, guests will find contemporary comfort, conference facilities, free WLAN (bandwidth up to 128 Kbit/s, data transfer up to 200 MB), a lovely interior courtyard, perfect service, and the friendliest smiles in all of Leipzig.Here, conference guests are truly relaxed, and they can be, because Victor's stands for hospitality and service quality of the very highest level. The hotel offers 5 event capacities, which can accommodate up to 180 persons. Behind its historic Art Nouveau façade, you will find 101 stylishly appointed guest rooms (some of which are disabled friendly), 2 restaurants, Victor's Bar, and a summer terrace. For your convenience, the hotel has its own parking lot and underground parking garage. International calls to all landlines and mobile phones, anywhere in the world, are free from all room phones. And you get to enjoy great entertainment in your room: Victor's SkyTV offers Sky Premium channels – for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Victor's Residenz-Hotel Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leipzig
Best Western Hotel Leipzig
Leipzig Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victor's Residenz-Hotel Leipzig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.