We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of pentahotel Leipzig

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added pentahotel Leipzig to your Saves list
pentahotel Leipzig
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grosser Brockhaus 3, 04103 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Renaissance Leipzig Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Zweiflingen
1 review
“Weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very good located Hotel closed to the City Center. Nice interior, good breakfast. Very large and comfortable bed. Service very friendly. If we come to Leipzig again, we will book here again. Nice Hotel with good Price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin H, Manager at pentahotel Leipzig, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Great to read such positive feedback from you, much appreciated and we hope to have you back with us again soon.

Best wishes

Armin HIes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    634
    137
    27
    13
See reviews for
198
599
57
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I spent in the hotel 2 nights and I can summarize it as follows:
Positive aspects:
-whole hotel is very clean,
-rooms are good equipped, comfortable beds (40cm thick mattresses), flat TV, very good lighting
-very nice pool and sauna, open 24 hours daily. Be careful to put the towels in return to the from desk, there is 20€ fee if not returned. There is but problem to cool you down after sauna, you only can use the shower, but the cold water is running in so small stream, that is actually insufficient
-Nice variety and quality of meals served to the breakfast
Negative aspects:
-parking possible in the underground parking for 14€ per night! But you can quite easily found a free parking along the streets behind the hotel.
-we had the internet for free, but it was limited by the speed of 256kB, which was really slow. Internet is problem over all Germany, contrary to other countries, there is any offer for free internet.
-coming in to the hotel you find a multifunctional lobby – a reception desk incorporating big bar, serving for SPA, breakfast and dinner. The place is still very niosy, because of music and some dozen of people still being in the bar/restaurant. There are (2 meters far from bar desk) 3 elevators, so sometimes you have to push yourself between the tables and people (doesn't matters if in bathrobe or sweating after jogging). The elevators are spacy, however one of them was actually off, and for up-wards still only one was coming, so the waiting time was long every-time.
-A bit “thin walls”, maybe caused due the interconnecting doors to the next room, so we could overhear the normal speech in neighborhood room
We dont know if it was accidentally because of many people for holiday (mainly Germans), however when we came to the breakfast, all the tables were occupied. When we found a free one (some minutes of waiting), we have to stand in the queue for bread, than for vegetables, for water,...
Neutral comments:
-The hotel has a bit nontraditional concept. It is rather modern style, however there is not any specific motive to see, it is an non-harmonious mixture of various furniture. We couldn’t find the taste for it.
-There is central air-condition but we have not the reason to use it
Conclusion: Despite some of my negative comments, the hotel is a good quality hotel, 10 min of walking from the downtown, 24-hours SPA - a good value I would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin H, Manager at pentahotel Leipzig, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your feedback and comments, we are always keen to hear what our guests have to say.

We have reviewed your comments carefully with our team internally and will certainly address any shortfalls that you may have encountered.

We would be very pleased in welcoming you back again in the future.

With best regards

Armin Hies
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was a nice size room, but apparently there weren't any smoking rooms with a single large bed for a couple as there were in non-smoking rooms. So we did the typical European thing and push the two single beds together ourselves. Except the cleaning staff make sure to separate them every day while we were out.
I also expected a refrigerator and/or a coffee maker in a place like this. It would have been nice in the heatwave that hit while we were there. I'm also not 100% sure the fan cooled the air. But just having that on was nice in the heat.
I could have used a reminder that you have to put a card in a receptacle at the door to turn on all the power. I hadn't stayed in such a room for 3+ years, so we ended up going to the bathroom in the dark until we had a chance to go back down to the front desk were they finally mentioned what to look for. A mention during check-in or a sign in the room would have been nice. And those are fine to make sure people don't leave the lights on. However it sucks to charge items while you're out.
The place it setup to be a giant party hotel, but I never saw any actual party going on. So it was all just kind of silly and childish. they had good prices when I stayed, but the have shot up so high for next year, I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin H, Manager at pentahotel Leipzig, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback reflecting back on your previous stay with us. It is always of great interest to read what our customers experience and perceive our product and services offered.

Whilst hotel room prices are fluctuating throughout the year we always recommend our guests to checkout our website for the best deals in the future.

It would be great to welcome you back with us again.

WIth best regards

Armin Hies
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We loved our two nights here. The location could not be better for visiting the city. Stylish comfortable room with huge bed. Good breakfast. The integral parking was most useful. We would definitely visit again. Leipzig a very interesting city to visit. I would like to award 4.5 overall!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin H, Manager at pentahotel Leipzig, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to read that you had a great time with us and that all was to your satisfaction.

Thank you so much for sharing this with others.

With best regards

Armin Hies
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Pros: Its a good location. It's easy walking distance to old town. The lobby is beautiful. The reception desk doubles as a bar. There are free PS4 games in the lobby. There's a great outdoor lounge in front of the hotel. The rooms are well maintained and clean. The included breakfast was very good.
Cons: One of the three lifts was broken for our entire 3 night stay. The free wifi is so painfully slow (I ran a speed test and got 64kps) that it's not worth using. I feel that advertising free wifi and then throttling it to the point that it's impossible to use is not good customer service.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin H, Manager at pentahotel Leipzig, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your note and feedback, much appreciated.

We did indeed had one out of order elevator during the time you stayed with us which left us with another 3 working elevators. Rest assured that this has been adressed and now been solved.

The hotel offer a complimentary internet option of all our guests at a limited bandwith however for needs of greater speed the option is always to purchase daily internet vouchers at a very competitive price of EUR 7.5 per day.

With best regards

Armin Hies
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Firstly upon arriving the hotel was clean and tidy. it is a funky hotel which is quite trendy. The reception area is also the bar area and appears to be the main feature inside the door. The first bad point was the check in. when we arrived there were three lines of poeple waiting to check in or out. Three stafff manned the desk. We waited in line for half an hour to get to the front. It appeared the staff were not famalia with the computer and how to efficently operate it. One of the staff members was clearly unable to use it. On several other visits to the front counter again I encountered slowness.

The check in was hassel free and swipe cards were issued for the room. A word of warning these cards are very tempermental. We had to replace out card three times as it wouldnt work in the doors.

The room was well presented with moden decore. The bathroom contained mini packs of soap, shampoo etc in a funky pack. The air conditioning in th room lacked power which meant the room quickly overheated. We tried opening the widnow but due to regulations it was hinged on the bottom and only opened a small way, which didnt cool the room down.

They do have unique pillows in the hotel, called air pillows. When your head hits them they almost deflate into sheets of paper, so not much support.

At the end of the day the room served its purpose and was tidy and confortable.

At the end of each hallway is a vending machine which even serves beer.........hmmmmm beer.

There is a well maintained gym at the hotel but aagin the swipe card at the door was an issue and made it difficult to get in.

There is a restaurant in the main foyer which is where the breakfast is served each day. On one of the days, it ran out of food and left one stafff member on hand to try and deal with it. At night they do do very good meals which were really filling. Just be careful not to over order due to the size of the main course.

The recpetion were very good at arranging transport (taxis). They happily booked taxis which turned up on time.

All in all a nice place to stay, just some administration matters need to be addressed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin H, Manager at pentahotel Leipzig, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback reflecting back on your previous stay with us.

We deeply regret that you had to wait during the check in process and can only apologize for the delay caused. As for the Airconditioning we have addressed this internally with our engineering department who assured me that all technical challenges have been resolved.

It would be a pleasure to have you back with us again soon.

With kind regards

Armin Hies
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Nice Hotel, lovely lobby and bar...rooms are very nice...just a tad on the expensive side (esp in high season), used to be able to afford a suite, not any longer...guess Leipzig has got very popular over the past 12 years...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin H, Manager at pentahotel Leipzig, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your note and feedback. We are always keen to hear on what our guests have to share.

Especially over the hot and beautiful summer month, pentahotel Leipzig is running a couple of very hot deal and we encourage all to visit www.pentahotels.com for the latest deals, even on our suite category.

We would love to have you back with us again soon.

Best regards

Armin Hies
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to pentahotel Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Leipzig

Address: Grosser Brockhaus 3, 04103 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Renaissance Leipzig Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Leipzig
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
#4 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Leipzig 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pentahotel Leipzig enjoys a central yet totally peaceful location, just a step away from countless attractions. Everything is within easy walking distance - including the Gewandhaus concert hall, the opera house, a wealth of museums and galleries, the main railway station, interesting shopping arcades and the legendary pub districts. Why not have a listen to the famous Thomaner Choir or immerse yourself in the city's colourful night life? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your pentahotel Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentahotel Hotel Leipzig
Renaissance Leipzig
Leipzig Pentahotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage pentahotel Leipzig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.