We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for business travellers (but not town centre)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Partner Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City Partner Suite Hotel to your Saves list
City Partner Suite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Permoserstrasse 50, 04328 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Artis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very good for business travellers (but not town centre)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

It should be noted that this hotel is several km out of town (about 10 mins from tram line No. 3, and then a 10-15 minute ride to the main station). I was visiting offices that were located very close to the hotel, which was why I chose it. But unless this was the case (and/or unless you had your own car), you would probably not choose to stay there on account of the location - there is not a lot close by in terms of things to see and do, restaurants or shops (although there is a small supermarket right beside the hotel which sells the basics plus a bit more).

What is really good is the room size and facilities. The rooms are suites, so you get a (decent-sized) bedroom, living room and kitchenette. The (Italian) restaurant downstairs is also very good in terms of food choice and quality (including excellent breakfast). And the staff is friendly.

On the negative. Wifi isn't free, and is quite expensive. And - see above - there's nothing wrong with the location, but nothing really fantastic about it.

All in all - a good, clean, functional, fairly well-priced suite hotel that would really suit business travellers working nearby, people who are staying a little longer (or families) that want their own facilities for cooking and a bit more space than the average hotel room offers, and those who have their own transport to get around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
7
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Location
The City partner suite hotel is located east of the city center in an industrial area. Traffic connections are good. A supermarket is located just around the corner.

Hotel Classification
The hotel is classified as a 4**** star hotel and meets the standard.

Rooms
The rooms - indeed small suites - are of excellent size and equipped with kitchenette, seating area with sofa, a small working desk, bed room and bath room. The quality of furniture is average, the TV is quite small for the year 2014. An ironing board and iron was not part of the room's equipped but was delivered less than 5 minutes after my call to the receptionist. Very good!
Cleanliness was always perfect.

Service
The service was friendly and efficient. Checkin and checkout were done professionally and hassle free. Breakfast was taken in the same room that is an italian restaurant in the evening. Both - the breakfast and the italian food in the evening - were tasty and well presented.

Conclusion
Travelers looking for spacious clean rooms might consider the City Partner Suite Hotel if they do not care about the remote location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I think one reviewer described this perfectly when they said it was like 'a nice hotel along the interstate in the U.S (but lacking character).'. That's exactly what it is, with large rooms and convenient underground parking. One difference from the interstate hotels is that the buffet breakfast (additional cost) is better than you would get in most North American hotels. it was excellent. Access to the hotel is easy, and the GPS found it with no problem.

If you are a light sleeper, the 'superior' rooms are worth the extra cost because they face the residential area behind the hotel, and are very quiet.

Others have mentioned the market next door, which was very handy, and there is a Burger King across the street which is open late.

The people at reception were quick, courteous, helpful and spoke very good English.

I had bought the business upgrade (one or two hours of internet plus underground parking for 6 Euros). For me the internet worked fine, but I was only using it for emails, etc,

A more central hotel might have been nice, but I was here during the Bach Festival and more central hotels were either fully booked or very expensive. This turned out to be a very good alternative. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for the Treffen festival. Booked too late for a more central hotel, and ended up here. You'll need a nearby bus or 10-min walk followed by 15-20 or so mins on choice of about three trams to get to the city centre. Having said that, it wasn't much of a drag for us as the public transport in Leipzig is top-notch, clean, reliable, frequent.
The hotel room was smart, modern, with kitchenette, fridge, spacious cupboards and was fitted to a high standard of finish. Lovely staff with good English. Didn't make use of the wi-fi, internet etc. Late-night Burger King just across the road, Penny Markt mini-supermarket and newsagent at front of hotel. Rained one day and hired a good quality umbrella for returnable 5Euro deposit. Would stay again if I was touring, but not for a short city break as I'd rather be more central. Having said all that, sleep quality was 100 per cent, very quiet neighbourhood and very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in a suite for four nights. The suite was spacious with a large lounge with small tv, sofa, kitchen area with 'fridge, breakfast bar. Very comfortable double ensuite bedroom. Reception was quick, courteous and easy and staff speak English if you need it. The Suite we had contained a lounge with sofa, small tv. There is a kitchen area - with fridge - so you could cater for yourself for the occasional meal. (There is a Pennymarkt supermarket just outside the front of the hotel.) Very comfortable bedroom and ensuite (bath with shower over rather than walk-in shower. The Breakfast Buffet is €13 but is enormous and could set you up for the day unless, like me, you can’t resist Würstchen stalls in the city! In the evening the breakfast room becomes a nice Italian-style restaurant; very good, apparently, but I don’t go to Germany for Italian food!
The hotel is spotless, tastefully furnished and decorated. You really need a car and it is worth paying €8 per day for underground car-park which is very secure and has lift access to all floors. The residential area around is not that good – lots of blocks of old DDR flats and apparently some rough elements although we encountered no problem. Travel into Leipzig is easy – a frequent Bus 90 from outside to the interchange for Tram 3 to the Zentrum.
WARNING: If you are travelling by car to the hotel you need an Umwelt-Plakette which you should buy online before you leave home. This is a bit like the London congestion charge but you make a one-off purchase and it applies to your car for its life. This is not mentioned on the Hotel website!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was looking for an overnight accomodation, preferably with kitchenette, because this happens to be the preference of my stepmum. We were in transit i.e. in our way from Poland to Belgium and France, and did not intend to visit Leipzig, so it was not important for me how far it was to the city centre or what were the connections by public transport.
The hotel is very elegant, it is **** and actually looks brand new. Spotlessly clean. The appartment was spacious and consisted of a living room with kitchenette, bedroom and a bathroom - all very large. There was also a terrasse belonging to it. (The day was rainy so we did not test it). The receptionists spoke good English, no problem at all. The underground garage was large, no problems to park even for such a "chicken" like me (my car is rather big and most importantly, I am not good in parking/manoeuvring). There is also a parking next to the hotel, but it belongs to the supermarket. The receptionist told us that one could park there 2 (or 3) hours for free, but actually I don't think anyone would chase you if you stayed there longer. The small street nearby also seems to offer space for parking (the garage is paid extra, but I do not remember how much, I paid in advance). There is a huge shopping mall not far away from the hotel - 5 minutes drive I think. And this small supermarket just next door. Very convenient.
If I had to indicate any minuses, I would say that the Internet was far too expensive (15 EUR for 24 hours; but there was also an option of 1 hour for 1 EUR, so I took 2 hours. I think it is silly - if the price was reasonable, I would have taken 24 hrs), and slightly slower than I expected (especially: expected for paid Internet). And, the number of TV channels was limited with only one of them in foreign languages (English). For me in fact it was not very important.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed 3 nights at this hotel during a business trip. For people having meetings at the nearby research center, its ideally located. However, if you are a business traveller, you would like to have a reliable, easy internet access, wi-fi or through cable not important. Internet connection at the hotel is via a wi-fi account which is bought at the reception. The prices are not very expensive 9€ for 12 hr is imo acceptable.but the connection itself is unfortunately a disaster. There are so many users trying to login through wi-fi, their routes can not handle so many connections and you just cant get connected to inet. Some rooms are not great for reception for wifi-big minus point. For myself, business traveller dependent on inet, this is unacceptable. Thats why although the price is excellent for what they offer for lodging, i would not stay here again. But the rooms are excellent, the restaurant is great, especially when the prices are so realistic. But if you promote yourself ideal for business travellers, you have to offer a realiable inet service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Partner Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Partner Suite Hotel

Address: Permoserstrasse 50, 04328 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Artis)
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Partner Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Partner Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Partner Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.