We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Michaelis

Hotel Michaelis
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Michaelis to your Saves list
Hotel Michaelis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paul-Gruner-Strasse 44, 04107 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really good place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed there for five nights in May-June for the festival and really loved this hotel. Very smart and friendly personnel, clean and light rooms equipped with everything necessary, good location (8 minutes to the city centre on foot), the place is rather quite and comfortable, and breakfast is very rich with a lot of delicious food. Really good place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

Nice little hotel situated outside the main city centre, but with some good bars and a few restaurants nearby.

There were a few nice touches to this hotel, and in all it looked quite smart inside with good spatious rooms and a bar, which unfortunately wasn't open when I stayed.

The breakfast was also pretty good from what I remember, with a good choice of hot and cold stuff.

Totally recommended if you're in the area, and check out the venue NaTo if you're into good indie / folk music, only a few minutes down the road.

  • Liked — Spatious rooms, good breakfast
  • Disliked — bit outside the city centre
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Michaelis during one of the World Cup games in Leipzig. We booked the hotel through the FIFA website for a great price. Overall, this was a great hotel. It looks like a deserted building from the outside and there was construction around it but the inside was recently upgraded. The nearby construction was not noisy or noticible inside the room. It took us a few tries to find the front door (there is no sign over the door and it has no handle and the doors open automatically if you get close enough) but once inside, the staff was very helpful and accomodating. Our room was a good size with large windows. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was a good size.

The hotel was located 4 or 5 stops on the metro from the train station in a quiet neighborhood. It is about a 15 to 20 minute walk to the center of Leipzig. If you want to stay close to the town center or plan to do a lot of traveling on the train, another hotel may be more convenient. We did not eat at the hotel since breakfast was not included but the restaurant looked very appealing.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone who prefers modern ammendities and does not mind staying a bit outside the city center.

  • Liked — modern interior, clean room, good sized bathroom
  • Disliked — location from train station and city center
  • Tips/Secrets — If you are taking the metro to the hotel, make sure you take Line 10. It is the clostest to the hotel.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raamsdonksveer, Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2006

We stayed for two nights in this hotel and we really loved it. It is situated in the Sud-Vorstadt (south of the city center) but only a 15 minute walk to the center of the alt-stadt. The sud-vorstadt is a part of town with a lot of students and artists which is rapidly becoming a hot-spot I believe, so it is a nice area in itself. The hotel is very spacious and clean, with very friendly staff. They serve a copious breakfast buffet in the morning. We had a room at the front of the hotel and the only lesser thing I can think of is that you can hear the trams passing in the adjoining street, but it did not bother us. If you go there by car: they also have a car-park, which is very convenient in a big city.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Michaelis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michaelis

Address: Paul-Gruner-Strasse 44, 04107 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
#12 Business Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Michaelis 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Michaelis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michaelis Hotel Leipzig

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Michaelis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.