We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Augustusplatz 5-6, 04109 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Luxury in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here at a weekend to visit Leipzig. Not cheap, but good value given the luxurious rooms and great location right by city square. We didn't take the expensive breakfast option and were surprised to find no coffee facilities in the room. Only in Germany have we found a major hotel without a kettle in the room. Staff very friendly, and would stay again - especially if the company was paying.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square. Noise insulation is good and the view special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneKieschnik, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
many thanks for the comments. It was a pleasure being your host during your stay.
A kettle you will find automatically in our Business Rooms, Junior Suites and Suites.
Should you have stayed in a superior room, we are always helpful to bring a kettle to your room.
Lookigmn forward welcoming you again at teh Radisson Blu Leipzig.
With best regards
Yvonne Kieschnik
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    187
    29
    8
    7
See reviews for
38
149
54
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The rooms are nicely decorated, nothing fancy though. Well isolated from the noise of the street (triple glazing), nice confortable beds and a large bathroom.

Only minus point is that the room has carpet, personally I prefer wooden floors.

Did not try the breakfast as it was expensive compared to the price of the room and did not want a buffet breakfast.

Great point is the free wifi, working very well in the room. There is a separate hi speed wifi at a cost if you want faster speed, however for checking e-mails the free wifi is good enough.

I also recommend the use of the bike rental service nextbike to move around the city. There is a station right outside the hotel. To rent the bike you need to call nextbike to get the code that unlocks the bike or use their great iphone app.

Overall good eperience and price/value ratio.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneKieschnik, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your feedback. We are looking forward welcoming you again at Leipzig.
With best regards
Yvonne KIeschnik
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Content wise this hotel is top notch: great large rooms, extensive breakfast buffet, many facilities, central location, ... We booked the junior suite which amongst others included drink facilities and free wi-fi. Unfortunately of the two days we stayed, one day the wi-fi went down due to technical issues. For us this was quite a burden as we needed the connectivity for business reasons. When we gently complained about the issue we only got a very faint appology and no means of compensation at all. As such for us the hotel looses one star: a pre-paid service should be delivered at all times. We can understand that in extreme circumstances something can always go wrong but then we expect to get some sort of compensation/solution and certainly not that the problem is minimised.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneKieschnik, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear guest,
many thanks for the feedback given. Looking forward welcoming you once more at the Radisson Blu Leipzig
With best regards
Yvonne Kieschnik
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely property right across the road from the main action for shopping and sightseeing
No porter though so grab your own bags
Rooms and hotel are super modern , clean, quiet great outlook
Lovely bar overlooks the old / new town

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneKieschnik, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear guest,
many thanks for the feedback given. Looking forward welcoming you once more at the Radisson Blu Leipzig
With best regards from the sunny town
Yvonne Kieschnik
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I am glad that during my business trip the company had booked the business class room that took care of my major gripe with these hotels that charge for internet. The business class room is bigger with a separate area for a desk and free WiFi included. Else it would be nearly 15 Euro / day which would not be acceptable.

The hotel decor is very modern and the rooms are very welcoming, my room had 3 large windows and thus flooded with sunshine every day. The bathroom had a glass wall for the shower so definitely not for people who are business mates to share the room. The bathroom has good shower, with bath robes.

The breakfast was very good for this level of hotel.

The front desk staff mostly was very helpful in making local phone calls and reservations.

If the internet is included I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Business class rooms: internet and more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneKieschnik, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your comment abount our hotel.
Thank you for recommending the Radisson Blu.
P.S. The Internet in DSL Speed is included al over the hotel :)

Best regards
Yvonne Kieschnik
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here for a business conference and would recommend this hotel for many reasons. I stayed on the 2nd floor and the room was clean, spacious, comfortable and except for some construction noise outside, very quiet. A couple of highlights for me....the room has drapes but there are blinds outside the window operated by a switch. Very cool. Lots of well laid out closet space, a room safe, high speed internet that actually feels fast, and a great shower! I loved the shower with its powerful ceiling mounted large shower head as well as a hand help if you desired. Unlike some hotels I have stayed at in Germany, they replenished the soap and shampoo every day if it was used at all and housekeeping did a great job of cleaning.

The conference facilities were excellent and the staff was super attentive. Check in was great (have not checked out yet....that's tomorrow morning). The breakfast buffet is LOADED with all kinds of fresh food.....fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, different sausages, smoked fish, etc., etc.....

The three elevators are tiny but fairly quick. The gym is small but well equipped and open 24/7 and the airport is about 15 minutes away. I would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneKieschnik, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest,

great that you stayed with us and liked our faciliies as much, as we like them.
Looking forward, welcoming you again in the near future.
With best regards
Yvonne Kieschnik
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased with this Radisson Blu. Very friendly staff on check in and helped store some baggage for people. The room was very clean. I had 2 twin beda which bummed me out that they were not even full size beds and you could not push them together. I had a wonderful view of the University and the Gewandhaus music hall. Turns out that the guests of the music hall had a good view of me too. I was about to take a shower and saw the sun setting behind the University. I grabbed my phone and went to the window to get a photo and realized I was right in front of about 100 people on the balcony of the music hall. Oh yeah. I was totally naked.

The gym was nice with a lot of free weights, a multi station machine and 2 bikes, 2 elliptical and a treadmill. All high quality with television built in.

Hope this review was helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneKieschnik, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for the great description of the stay, altough the sunset experience was a bit surprising for you. ooking forward, welcoming you also the next time, you stay in Leipzig.
With best regards
Yvonne Kieschnik
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig

Address: Augustusplatz 5-6, 04109 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#10 Family Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig
Radisson Leipzig
Leipzig Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.