We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and room but needs air con” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Leipzig City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Leipzig City to your Saves list
Ibis Leipzig City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bruehl 69, 04109 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Lincolnshire, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good location and room but needs air con”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went to Leipzig on a spur of the moment city trip. Thoroughly to be recommended, a beautiful city.

Standard IBIS fare and less than 5 minutes from the main railway station, a very good location. Room was good and well insulated against internal noise - we were right next to the lift and never heard it! Unfortunately, there is no aircon and if you leave the windows open the noise from outside gets in. We were on the back, overlooking a central courtyard in which there was the terrace restaurant/bar from the Novotel next door. Very noisy but impossible to sleep with window closed in 16-3oC heat outside. Front rooms overlook the road - not a major one.

The other sleep problem arose from the bed - large double with memory foam style mattress. Great for separating the occupants movement but awful in retaining heat. If you can't stand sleeping on top of a plastic undersheet (like my wife) you'll hate this!

Staff were friendly and the breakfast excellent (but Euro 10 each).

Free WiFi in the bar/restaurant and extortionate price for use in the room. When will hotels learn about this?

Room Tip: Remember no aircon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    236
    102
    14
    8
See reviews for
46
188
85
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koblenz, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Booked it online via accorhotels.com and saved 10 euros/night on the price compared with other online booking sites. This helped to cover the cost of breakfast (10 euros per person for continental-style breakfast buffet with scrambled or boiled eggs as the only warm item) and garage (12 euros a day).. Pleasant room (quiet, very clean) and service, mattresses and pillows not as comfortable as we would have liked, but okay. Right on the edge of the old town, with the Nikolaikirche literally just round the corner, so it's an excellent location for exploring the main sights on foot. I'd recommend the double-decker bus tour of the city and the outlying area, it also includes a very good walking tour of the Old Town in the price (12 euros), and the stop is just behind the hotel, opposite the Main Station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
482 reviews 482 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is not opposite the station,it is that and a further 400 metres round the corner.
Welcome by reception great,friendly nice staff.They did try to overcharge me but soon sorted in a very nice way.
Reception has aircon,also the corridors and lift but not the poky little bedrooms.At 35 degrees C it was unbearable.
Leipzig is a wonderful genuine city.Well worth a visit,good prices for drinks and food.You must go to the San Remo.
The Tram system is extensive.

Room Tip: Maybe the Novotel round the corner has aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We arrived at this hotel having booked and paid by internet. The lady on reception was extremely impolite (I though I must be in the old GDR), ordering us to fill in a form completely (even though all my details are in the system, I'm even a club card member!). The room was also disappointing. I normally love ibis hotels, but this is a very poor example of them. The carpet was coming away, the shower had limescale over it (see photo), the room had a musty smell and there was no air-conditioning. If you opened the window it was impossible to sleep because of traffic outside on the main road. Overall very disappointing, and I can't believe that Ibis can allow this franchise partner to maintain such poor rooms and staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were not dissapointed with our choice of this hotel, it is conveniently located, have a good basic breakfast, friendly and helpful reception staff. We stayed for 4 nights here, attending a concert at the Gewandhaus, which is only a walking distance from the hotel, also did a day trip to Dresden, so the proximity of this hotel to the Hauptbahnhof is a plus for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I was hoping to find a cheap, independent boutique hotel in central Leipzig which had rooms available last minute -- I certainly didn't plan to stay at the Ibis! But I'd recommend it to anyone looking for cheap accommodation in the Innenstadt. Its centrality, cleanliness, price and breakfast buffet more than made up for the fact it was a chain hotel with slightly tired decor.

We booked through the hotel's own website because they were offering a very cheap breakfast and had a quiet room overlooking the courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Leipzig City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leipzig City

Address: Bruehl 69, 04109 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Leipzig City 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Leipzig Zentrum is located 500 m from the city centre, a short stroll from the railway station and 15 km from the airport. The City of Music with its theatres, opera house, shopping centres and restaurants awaits you. The hotel has 126 rooms with WiFi Internet access including 4 for guests with limited mobility. A 24 hr bar, a terrace and undercover pay parking are at your disposal. 100 m from the Innenstadt business centre and 15 km from the Congress Center Leipzig Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Leipzig City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Leipzig Zentrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Leipzig City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.