We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A collection of luxury Leipzig” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig to your Saves list
Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Troendlinring 8, 04105 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A collection of luxury Leipzig”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a fantastic four day break in Leipzig staying at the Fürstenhof.
The hotel was magnificent in all respects; service, atmosphere, rooms, restaurant & the spa.
Beautifully appointed & conveniently located on Troendlinring, close to the commercial & retail centre of Leipzig, restaurants, cafes & museums the Hauptbahnhof and the Trams
The room tarrif for the Fürstenhof reflects the standard, my only quibble is that we booked and partially paid with reward points which covered room only, the additionl charge pp for breakfast is a little expensive

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Fuerstenhof, General Manager at Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

I am glad to hear that you had such a magnificent stay here in Leipzig and that the Hotel Fürstenhof and its staff could contribute to that. Acknowledging your remark on our breakfast you might be interested in our reduced breakfast offer that is available when booking the breakfast prior to arrival. If you seek further information on that, we would be more than delighted to assist you personally. We hope to welcome you again soon at the Hotel Fürstenhof, Leipzig.

Best regards,

Jörg Müller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    67
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
114
38
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This hotel is the epitome of luxury. Located just a few blocks from the train station, it's an easy walk to all of the museums and attractions of Leipzig's compact city center. Sumptuous room, biggest bathroom ever, friendly efficient staff. Especially recommend the wine bar 1770 and its knowledgeable barkeep, who introduced us to several great German reds ( who knew there was such a thing?).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel on walking distance of city center.
Pleasant and sizeable rooms with one of the best and most comfortable beds I have ever sleept in. Attentive staff (they ask your name and not your room number). Good breakfast buffet.
I would most certainly recommended this hotel to anyone visiting Leipzig.
It is a top hotel at an affordable price.

The only tip I have for the hotel: at a five star hotel you at least expect coffee and tea making facilities in the room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Fuerstenhof, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your great feedback.

We are more than delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us. Your positive feedback is one of the greatest rewards to our continuous efforts to make your visit in Leipzig unforgettable. For that it is important to us, that you are recognized as our guest and not just a room number. If for your next stay you wish to have an electric kettle in your room please don’t hesitate to contact our staff members, who will put one in your room. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best wishes,

Jörg Müller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I was on a business visit and stayed for a week. The service is good, their breakfast was good , room was reasonably spacious. The hotel is very near to all the shopping areas with lots of restaurant choices and bars. It's near the main station and bus transport. Overall a wonderful hotel in Leipzig.

I Will be on another business visit for a week and will be definitely staying there.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here during a business trip in January. The rooms are extremely large, with luxurious bathrooms. Wifi coverage is great throughout the whole hotel and the lobby/bar offers a perfect atmosphere to work or enjoy an after-work drink. Would go back anytime!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We enjoyed a very comfortable and welcoming 2 night stay at the Hotel Fürstenhof last month. Situated in a beautiful 19th C building, complete with all sorts of wonderful architectural details (ask to see the Serpentine Hall, crafted from beautiful serpentine marble and if the room is free that staff are more than happy to accommodate you) on the edge of Leipzig's historic Zentrum and just over 1km from the city's bustling Hauptbahnhof (along with Frankfurt it is Europe's biggest and busiest train terminus), it is incredibly well-located for either tourists and business travellers alike.
The hotel itself is elegant and well appointed and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. We foudn the standard of service to be some of the best we've had in Germany, in Western Europe in fact, for some time, and for this alone we recommend it.
Our room was extremely comfortable and well appointed, with an exceptionally comfortable bed and a wonderful bathroom, but did lack two things: coffee and tea making facilities and free Wi-fi (which is available only in the lobby). In a hotel of this calibre and receiving the guests it does, an elegant Nespresso machine would not go amiss in the room and free Wi-fi is pretty much de rigeur.
If you're a business traveller on a b&b rate then breakfast is worthwhile, but if you are going to be paying separately for it - well, we would suggest spending the €50 (for 2 people for a buffet breakfast) elsewhere as there is no shortage of excellent and characterful cafés just a short walk from the hotel.
We enjoyed an aperitif in the small, but elegant "Prost 1770" bar and learnt about some excellent regional wines from the Saale-Unstrut region - by far the best we've sampled in Germany - as well as a simple, but delicious supper in the Wintergarten and found the service and food to be very good.
The small, but well-appointed gym and grotto-esque swimming pool are definitely worth using and, again, well appointed and clean.
The only reason we can't stretch to a full 5 stars/Excellent rating is the lack of in-room coffee and tea-making facilities and lack of free, or at least extremely reasonably priced for the duration of your stay, Wi-fi (both of which I'm sure that many a business traveller would appreciate). We also felt the breakfast was over-priced for what is essentially standard breakfast buffet fare.
I've rated the Spa as average only because I didn't use it so cannot comment, but the facility itself looks wonderful so could be worth visiting.
2014 is the 125th year of the hotel's existence, so I believe that they are offering Jubilee deals that may be worth looking at.
That said, we loved our stay and would definitely return and would be happy to do so with our child as the hotel is very well located for visiting all of Leipzig's sights.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the Trödlingring would be quieter - it's a very busy main thoroughfare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed there for a night to visit a friend. The hotel has kept it's level compared to a couple of years ago when I was a regular guest. Perfect location close to the city center and the hotel is rather small so providing a personal environment. Effective reception and check-in. Friendly personnel throughout . Very cozy and charming atmosphere. Due to it being an old building, every room has a different layout. Nothing is missing in this luxury hotel, rooms are quiet with efficient AC and all the amenities you would expect . Breakfast is probably one of the best if you are seeking the international fare and local specialities. Worth to mention that on Sundays the breakfast buffet is open until 12.00 hrs.
I will definitely return to this hotel when in Leipzig.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig

Address: Troendlinring 8, 04105 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Leipzig
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
#4 Family Hotel in Leipzig
#6 Business Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Venere, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerstenhof Hotel Leipzig

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.