We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for city break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stephanstrasse 6, 04103 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Dorint)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for city break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Overall I was satisfied with this well located hotel but I do have some criticisms. The WIFI is poor around 5-7 pm. The rooms need better air conditioning in the summer so ask for a cool room. The food is expensive but there are alternatives - breakfast next door in Steinecke and dinner 5 minutes away in Trattoria Amici. These alternatives will reduce your food bill by about 50%.
Things to do include visits to the Panometer, the super zoo and lunch in the Panorama Tower. My biggest surprise was the people - they are the most pleasant and genuine that you will meet anywhere and for this reason I will be back.

Room Tip: I found the room too hot and it affected sleep quality - go for a cool room looking out to inner cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    141
    31
    14
    2
See reviews for
25
92
40
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orimattila, Fin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Good location, walking distance to the shopping area, quiet rooms on inner yard side. Large and nice rooms, maybe a little bit old fashioned. Everything you need exept the AC, good beddings. Nice bar and restaurant, good service, trainers at the reception. Garage 11,50 euros, free on the street.
Standard business quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I didn't pick this hotel. It was a good hotel in a great location for my business needs. Reception staff were very helpful. Breakfast and dinner were very good. Just for me, the fitness room was extremely limited.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chapelle-en-Serval, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This Mercure hotel is located in a quiet area, but from which you can still reach the centre but foot.
I booked some kind of business suite, which was relatively big and provided with everything needed.
The personnel is professional, although they could be more friendly and try to smile from time to time, for some of them.
The breakfast offer is varied and of good quality.
The Spa is big and well equipped. It is really worth a visit.
All in all, I had a pleasant stay of 4 nights in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Worcs
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Sorry for the delay in submitting this review. We only stayed one night en route home from Poland, we didn't bother with either the evening meal or the breakfast, wanting to see some of the sights. (this is why I've only given four stars). Staff were very polite and helpful. The room (235) was lovely and airy and also very comfortable. The en suite was well appointed and very clean. The carpark was an additional charge, but secure and beneath the hotel.
We walked into the retail centre of Leipzig on the evening and on the following morning which is about 10 minutes away with plenty of good and reasonable eateries. Apparently there is a further great market area about 15 minutes in the direction of the rail station; which we didn't investigate this time.

Room Tip: We never tried either the restaurant or other facilities hence only four stars
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I was at this hotel as a group of business friends needed a standard class hotel. We booked the rooms and even though I have a Platinum LeAccor cards I was not given an upgraded room, even though a room was available if you're booking on the Internet. Accor hotels group really need to look at this. It happens too often. Anyway a friend of mine was upgraded to quiet area of the hotel room I was told. Staff are pleasant and helpful, but I think the management need to have more helpers at breakfast time. Good choice of food at breakfast, nice restaurant with well priced wines. The bar area is fine, but be sure to sign the tab immediately as it at time is difficult to find someone. The sauna ''landschaft'' is very nice, even with an area where you can lay and enjoy the warmth of artificial sun, excellent that was, I must say. No extra cost. As far as the walk into town is concerned it takes about 15 minutes, a taxi will take you there for anything between 6 and 10 Euro depending where you need to go. For the price a good 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Nice hotel, very clean and helpful staff. Public parking a little difficult.
Location: a little far from the city center but perfect for business meetings and a stay if you have to meet in the Leipzig area. City Center 15 to 20 min. by foot. Nice breakfast, a lot of choices !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz

Address: Stephanstrasse 6, 04103 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Dorint)
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#10 Family Hotel in Leipzig
#11 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
#12 Business Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short stroll from the city centre, the 4 star hotel Mercure Leipzig Am Johannisplatz is in a quiet area and features 174 rooms and 9 conference rooms. All the major sights are nearby, such as the famous Auerbachs Cellar, the old town hall as wellas theopera and Gewandhaus concert hall. Our friendly service will ensure your stay in Leipzig is a pleasant one. After a busy day, relax in our wellness area or enjoy Saxon specialties in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.