We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Leipzig

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel One Leipzig to your Saves list
Motel One Leipzig
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Nikolaistrasse 23, 04109 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NSW
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Returned to Motel One on my latest trip to Leipzig and found it as good as ever. Ideally located 5 mins from Central station and in the middle of the old city. The room was small but comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. It was right at the end of a corridor and I seemed to have intermittent problems with the wifi in the room but no problems when I used it in the lobby. Wifi is included free. Breakfast buffet is the usual spread and very nice. Keep in mind that Motel One is very popular as the most central, affordable hotel and books out quickly so book ahead!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Leipzig. We hope to see you soon a´t Motel One and wish you all the best. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    146
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
105
42
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Wish we had this chain in North America
Location was great by St. Nicolas church walking distance to the train station & sites we wanted to visit. Very pedestrian friendly area as is the whole old city. Tons of restaurants.
Staff were great helped connect to wifi which worked but was slower than other hotels we stayed.
Breakfast good & reasonable price.
I love this chain

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you are already a "Motel One Fan". We hope to see you soon. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Walking distance from main train station. Perfect location across Nikolai Church which is one of the most important sites of German history.

Staff is professional and friendly. Rooms are great value. Mattresses are perfect and I slept well. Showers are excellent although water spills on the floor due to the construction.

Bathrooms need a lock from my German perspective - very American style.

Lobby and lounge reasonably priced for drinks during evenings while there are so many options around the hotel, there is no real need to stay inside.

Power socket right next to the bed, free Wifi without me asking for it. Small work desk.

All in all, it is just what you need and more than you expect for the money you pay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay in Leipzig. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

it's just near the historic nikolaikirche, about 10 minutes walk from the main station, and is a very nice location to get into the old, beautiful Leipzig.
the room is as comfortable as a Motel One should be, and the delicious breakfast just as you expected. it's a very nice place to stay in the beautiful and nostalgic city. many interesting stores and nice restaurants around.
i stayed here one night in March-2012, had a wonderful night here.

Room Tip: a room with windows to the church is recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank your for your review.

We are glad to hear that you liked Leipzig and your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards.

Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hotel is very centrally located, directly in front of Nikolai-Church in the heart of Leipzig. Rooms are typically Motel One, so not very spacious, but functional and very clean with a decent shower. Despite the central location it is very quiet and you will easily find a good night sleep. Service is very nice and friendly all round the Hotel (front-desk, bar, cleaning crew).
The Hotel also offers breakfast which you can purchase for 7,50€ if not already included in the room rate. Definitely go for it, it's a very good selection and quality for the price. On a weekend it may be a bit more crowded to get breakfast, but there are frequent refills, so no problem to get everything you need.
Only disappointment was at the bar at night, when going for a night-cap we found out they don't have any beer on tap, but only bottled Beck's. Changing that would make it a perfect location for a weekend break! We still liked it very much and would come back any time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your detailed review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Leipzig. I forwarded your suggestion regarding the draught beer to our head departement. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Location, location, location! You get that plus hip design, comfortable beds, and an excellent breakfast. Typically small rooms for European hotels and it was missing a safe big enough for a laptop for my purposes. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There's a grocery store and pharmacy on the same street, as well as, access to super shopping. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank your for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Leipzig and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. In the heart of the city center. the rooms are perfectly decorated, and for me (single room) big enough.
Try to cchoose a high fllor because the view is fantastic!!
the breakfast is rich and the staff are very friendly!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Nena,

thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Leipzig. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel One Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Leipzig

Address: Nikolaistrasse 23, 04109 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#8 Family Hotel in Leipzig
#11 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Leipzig 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Motel One Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel One Leipzig

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Leipzig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.