We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time at motel one still impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Leipzig

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel One Leipzig to your Saves list
Motel One Leipzig
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Nikolaistrasse 23, 04109 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Second time at motel one still impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Wish we had this chain in North America
Location was great by St. Nicolas church walking distance to the train station & sites we wanted to visit. Very pedestrian friendly area as is the whole old city. Tons of restaurants.
Staff were great helped connect to wifi which worked but was slower than other hotels we stayed.
Breakfast good & reasonable price.
I love this chain

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you are already a "Motel One Fan". We hope to see you soon. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    159
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
119
44
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Walking distance from main train station. Perfect location across Nikolai Church which is one of the most important sites of German history.

Staff is professional and friendly. Rooms are great value. Mattresses are perfect and I slept well. Showers are excellent although water spills on the floor due to the construction.

Bathrooms need a lock from my German perspective - very American style.

Lobby and lounge reasonably priced for drinks during evenings while there are so many options around the hotel, there is no real need to stay inside.

Power socket right next to the bed, free Wifi without me asking for it. Small work desk.

All in all, it is just what you need and more than you expect for the money you pay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay in Leipzig. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

it's just near the historic nikolaikirche, about 10 minutes walk from the main station, and is a very nice location to get into the old, beautiful Leipzig.
the room is as comfortable as a Motel One should be, and the delicious breakfast just as you expected. it's a very nice place to stay in the beautiful and nostalgic city. many interesting stores and nice restaurants around.
i stayed here one night in March-2012, had a wonderful night here.

Room Tip: a room with windows to the church is recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank your for your review.

We are glad to hear that you liked Leipzig and your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards.

Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hotel is very centrally located, directly in front of Nikolai-Church in the heart of Leipzig. Rooms are typically Motel One, so not very spacious, but functional and very clean with a decent shower. Despite the central location it is very quiet and you will easily find a good night sleep. Service is very nice and friendly all round the Hotel (front-desk, bar, cleaning crew).
The Hotel also offers breakfast which you can purchase for 7,50€ if not already included in the room rate. Definitely go for it, it's a very good selection and quality for the price. On a weekend it may be a bit more crowded to get breakfast, but there are frequent refills, so no problem to get everything you need.
Only disappointment was at the bar at night, when going for a night-cap we found out they don't have any beer on tap, but only bottled Beck's. Changing that would make it a perfect location for a weekend break! We still liked it very much and would come back any time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your detailed review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Leipzig. I forwarded your suggestion regarding the draught beer to our head departement. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Location, location, location! You get that plus hip design, comfortable beds, and an excellent breakfast. Typically small rooms for European hotels and it was missing a safe big enough for a laptop for my purposes. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There's a grocery store and pharmacy on the same street, as well as, access to super shopping. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank your for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Leipzig and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. In the heart of the city center. the rooms are perfectly decorated, and for me (single room) big enough.
Try to cchoose a high fllor because the view is fantastic!!
the breakfast is rich and the staff are very friendly!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Nena,

thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Leipzig. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed at Motel One for a week. The rooms are quite small, so it's tricky to fit 2 people plus a week's luggage.
Rooms are nicely decorated, the blue and brown theme can be seen all over the hotel and it looks really good. Breakfast is served at the lobby bar, which is not very comfortable. There could be a wider selection. Location is great. It's just a short walk from the train station and there are many restaurants and shops on the same street. For this price it's difficult to find a better hotel in Leipzig.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Eva,
thank your for choosing our Motel One for your stay in Leipzig. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team of Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Leipzig
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 104 in Leipzig
4.5 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz
0.2 mi away
Marriott Hotel Leipzig
Marriott Hotel Leipzig
#7 of 104 in Leipzig
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Leipzig City
Novotel Leipzig City
#20 of 104 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Leipzig

Address: Nikolaistrasse 23, 04109 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#7 Family Hotel in Leipzig
#12 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Leipzig 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Motel One Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel One Leipzig

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Leipzig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.